We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay”
Review of Mercure Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Penrith
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penrith
Reviewed 15 August 2014

mold in shower recess and fridge was not very clean.
unable to swipe my diners card at reception had to put in manually
Good location to panthers.Beds not that comfortable.
Unable to regulate heating very well control old and not functional
No room service except breakfast
Thought services would be better for the cost

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kat191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we pride ourselves on delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are hopeful of soon umbergoing a refurbishment that will see our rooms given a more modern look and feel, with a number of services in the room also upgraded.

Whilst we do not have in house room service for dinner, there are a number of local restaurants that are happy to deliver to the hotel for you and allow you to charge the meal to your room. A selection of their menus are available in each room.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is easy to find and conveniently located next the Penrith Panthers Leagues Club. Check in staff make Checking in and out an efficient and quick experience.
The rooms are nothing special but are spacious and clean providing for all needs, the shower was excellent but the TV was probably best described as out-dated.
If attending the Leagues club for any occasion the hotel would be an excellent choice as the hotel is a 3 minute walk away.
Value, probably over priced.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jimmyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we strive to deliver an experience that exceeds our guests expectations.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the service offered by our Reception team, as well as the vast range of facilities located next door at Panthers. We are hopeful of soon giving our rooms a new, modern look.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

When checking in, I was asked for extra money for a fold-out bed, after I had told them prior to arrival that I wouldn't require one.
The room was in need of a re-furb. Very '80's.
Something sticky had been left all over the electrical switches in the room. Missed by house services when cleaning.
When watching the TV in the room, noticed the speakers were very "tinny". Needed repair.
Had in-room breakfast. Didn't appear the staff had read my order as I got delivered completely the wrong breakfast foods. Poor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DSM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we pirde ourselves on delivering a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is disappointing for me to hear that we were not able to achieve during your stay with us. It is particularly disappointing for me to hear that a number of the issues that you faced were ones that could easily have been avoided. Please rest assured that I will be following these issues up with the relevant departments to ensure incidents such as these do not happen again.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

returned to this hotel after a few years staying at other hotels, I was impressed by the quality of the rooms, it seems that they have had a refab since my last stay, the noise from the bar at reception is a little loud at times but quietens down to enable a good sleep. the rooms are basic but comfy with all the amenities you need. the only downside to this hotel is having to walk over to the club for breakfast which itself is a maze and leaves you wondering around different floors

Room Tip: book breakfast on check in saves a few dollars the next morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our aim to deliver a memorable experience for every hotel guest.

It is fantastic to hear that you have anjoyed your time with us at the hotel again, and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night and received a room on the third floor. The rooms are extremely average and way overpriced. Our room looked nothing like the rooms in the picture and I was relieved that we only had one night there. Checkin is at 3pm and checkout is at 10am. I would not stay here again. This place is a prime example of how to skimp on value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonicP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable stay for every hotel guest.

It is disappointing to hear we were not able to achieve that on this occasion. We do regularly check our prices against our competitors to ensure we are delivering value for money.Our pictures are all accurate reflections of our rooms however I do apologise if the room you were in did not meet your expectations.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We always choose to stay with Chifley Penrith Panthers as the service is good, nice clean hotel and its so close to Penrith Panthers, Krispy kreme, Macas, KFC etc and we like the area and always choose to stay here

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmexTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith. Here at the hotel we aim to deliver a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your time spent at the hotel as well as the vast array of facilities available within the complex.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed one night in a spa suite, big comfortable room but needs updating. Everything was great, staff friendly.
Great being next door to Panthers and there was even some great markets across the road on the Wednesday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we pride ourselves on delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the space and size of your spa suite, and we are hopeful of giving these rooms a facelift in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 4 in Penrith
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrith Valley Inn
Penrith Valley Inn
#3 of 4 in Penrith
132 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Atura Blacktown
Atura Blacktown
#1 of 2 in Prospect
476 reviews
1.0 mi away
ValueSuites
ValueSuites
#2 of 2 in Emu Plains
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Nepean River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Penrith

Address: Jamison Roads | Cnr Mulgoa, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £85 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Penrith 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERCURE PENRITH IS AT THE GATEWAY TO WESTERN SYDNEY Penrith is one of Sydney's best inland aquatic playgrounds. Have fun riding the rapids at Penrith Whitewater Stadium, visit the Sydney International Regatta Centre, paddle on the Nepean Gorge in a canoe or relax with a picnic by the Nepean River. Penrith Valley, with its beautiful rivers, national parks and lakes, is just a 55-minute drive from the centre of Sydney. It's a great escape for the whole family with plenty of things to see and do. LOCATED IN PENRITH VALLEY AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE BLUE MOUNTAINS Explore pockets of unspoiled bush land, national parks, as well as the many treasured historic landmarks scattered throughout the region. Experience the area's lively arts scene on display at local museums and art galleries. Enjoy the beauty of the Nepean Gorge from the deck of the Nepean Belle Paddlewheeler or explore on foot. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure, for a night or a week, Penrith will exceed your expectations. A MAJESTIC PLAYGROUND FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART Next door is Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment with 9 dining options, 6 bars, Aqua Golf, Cables Wake Park, ifly and a travel shop. Panthers also offers a state of art Convention Centre, with seven architecturally designed formal and informal functions rooms, boasting an 800 delegate purpose build seminar and entertainment theatre with state of the art audio visual. Also at Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment is The Evan Theatre a first-class, purpose built entertainment venue. The Evan has been host to an array of leading entertainers including John Farnham, Boys II Men, The Wiggles and David Strassman. Adjacent to Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment and the Mercure Penrith is a 1500 seat Exhibition Marquee, one of Sydney's largest marquees. Sportingbet Stadium, home of the Penrith Panthers, is opposite the Mercure Penrith. The Mercure Penrith boasts 223 rooms featuring flat-screen TV s, cable TV , air-conditioning and WIFI Internet access. Additional facilities include a gymnasium, guest lounge, outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Penrith Panthers Hotel Penrith
Panther Penrith
Chifley Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing