We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Penrith
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Sydney Mines, Nova Scotia
1 review
“Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Convenient for the Wedding we were attending at Panthers. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean,comfortable and quiet but slightly on the cold side and could not adjust the air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 412Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we strive to deliver a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, although I am sorry to hear about the issues that you faced with the air conditioning in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    250
    212
    80
    36
See reviews for
166
200
36
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel because we were seeing a show at Panthers Leagues Club.
The rooms were fine, Although the air conditioner didn't work well. Forgot to tell the staff when we left. The linen was a bit tired but clean. Breakfast was in a restaurant attached to the club but only a few minutes walk. The cooked Breakfast was made to order (not in a buffet) The continental buffet (cereal, toast, tea etc was average, not a good standard. A discount was given as a guest of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our aim to deliver a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room here at the hotel, although I am sorry to hear about the issues you faced with your air conditioning. With regards to breakfast I will take this matter up the the restaurant management, as this should have been a buffet option for you rather than a la carte.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night ! We did not realise it is attached to the Panthers club and very loud music was played till 2.am ! Not the place for a restful night sleep ! Never again will we stay here maybe more suitable for wedding parties that wish to use the club !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our goal to provide a memorable experience for every hotel guest.

I am sorry to hear that we were not able to achieve this during your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the disruptions to your stay from the club noise. We do work with the club to try and minimise the impact this has on our guests. We would recommend a room on the southern end of the hotel which is much further away from the club and is significantly less affected by the club noise.

We do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

mold in shower recess and fridge was not very clean.
unable to swipe my diners card at reception had to put in manually
Good location to panthers.Beds not that comfortable.
Unable to regulate heating very well control old and not functional
No room service except breakfast
Thought services would be better for the cost

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kat191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we pride ourselves on delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are hopeful of soon umbergoing a refurbishment that will see our rooms given a more modern look and feel, with a number of services in the room also upgraded.

Whilst we do not have in house room service for dinner, there are a number of local restaurants that are happy to deliver to the hotel for you and allow you to charge the meal to your room. A selection of their menus are available in each room.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is easy to find and conveniently located next the Penrith Panthers Leagues Club. Check in staff make Checking in and out an efficient and quick experience.
The rooms are nothing special but are spacious and clean providing for all needs, the shower was excellent but the TV was probably best described as out-dated.
If attending the Leagues club for any occasion the hotel would be an excellent choice as the hotel is a 3 minute walk away.
Value, probably over priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we strive to deliver an experience that exceeds our guests expectations.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the service offered by our Reception team, as well as the vast range of facilities located next door at Panthers. We are hopeful of soon giving our rooms a new, modern look.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

When checking in, I was asked for extra money for a fold-out bed, after I had told them prior to arrival that I wouldn't require one.
The room was in need of a re-furb. Very '80's.
Something sticky had been left all over the electrical switches in the room. Missed by house services when cleaning.
When watching the TV in the room, noticed the speakers were very "tinny". Needed repair.
Had in-room breakfast. Didn't appear the staff had read my order as I got delivered completely the wrong breakfast foods. Poor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DSM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we pirde ourselves on delivering a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is disappointing for me to hear that we were not able to achieve during your stay with us. It is particularly disappointing for me to hear that a number of the issues that you faced were ones that could easily have been avoided. Please rest assured that I will be following these issues up with the relevant departments to ensure incidents such as these do not happen again.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

returned to this hotel after a few years staying at other hotels, I was impressed by the quality of the rooms, it seems that they have had a refab since my last stay, the noise from the bar at reception is a little loud at times but quietens down to enable a good sleep. the rooms are basic but comfy with all the amenities you need. the only downside to this hotel is having to walk over to the club for breakfast which itself is a maze and leaves you wondering around different floors

Room Tip: book breakfast on check in saves a few dollars the next morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our aim to deliver a memorable experience for every hotel guest.

It is fantastic to hear that you have anjoyed your time with us at the hotel again, and we look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 3 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrith Valley Inn
Penrith Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Penrith
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Value Suites
Value Suites
#2 of 2 in Emu Plains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Nepean River
1.6 mi away
Astina Serviced Apartments - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Penrith

Property: Mercure Penrith
Address: Jamison Roads | Cnr Mulgoa, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Penrith 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERCURE PENRITH IS AT THE GATEWAY TO WESTERN SYDNEY Penrith is one of Sydney's best inland aquatic playgrounds. Have fun riding the rapids at Penrith Whitewater Stadium, visit the Sydney International Regatta Centre, paddle on the Nepean Gorge in a canoe or relax with a picnic by the Nepean River. Penrith Valley, with its beautiful rivers, national parks and lakes, is just a 55-minute drive from the centre of Sydney. It's a great escape for the whole family with plenty of things to see and do. LOCATED IN PENRITH VALLEY AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE BLUE MOUNTAINS Explore pockets of unspoiled bush land, national parks, as well as the many treasured historic landmarks scattered throughout the region. Experience the area's lively arts scene on display at local museums and art galleries. Enjoy the beauty of the Nepean Gorge from the deck of the Nepean Belle Paddlewheeler or explore on foot. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure, for a night or a week, Penrith will exceed your expectations. A MAJESTIC PLAYGROUND FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART Next door is Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment with 9 dining options, 6 bars, Aqua Golf, Cables Wake Park, ifly and a travel shop. Panthers also offers a state of art Convention Centre, with seven architecturally designed formal and informal functions rooms, boasting an 800 delegate purpose build seminar and entertainment theatre with state of the art audio visual. Also at Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment is The Evan Theatre a first-class, purpose built entertainment venue. The Evan has been host to an array of leading entertainers including John Farnham, Boys II Men, The Wiggles and David Strassman. Adjacent to Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment and the Mercure Penrith is a 1500 seat Exhibition Marquee, one of Sydney's largest marquees. Sportingbet Stadium, home of the Penrith Panthers, is opposite the Mercure Penrith. The Mercure Penrith boasts 223 rooms featuring flat-screen TV s, cable TV , air-conditioning and WIFI Internet access. Additional facilities include a gymnasium, guest lounge, outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Penrith Panthers Hotel Penrith
Panther Penrith
Chifley Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing