We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Mercure Penrith

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Penrith
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Swansea, Australia
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The room was comfortable,the rooms were serviced nicely,we were the first room in corridor & surprisingly very quiet. So much to do & look at,close to everything, loved are stay,definitely recommend. Panthers is one of the nicest clubs as well

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we aim to deliver a memorable experience for every hotel guest.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the time you spent at the hotel as well as next door at Panthers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    266
    214
    83
    39
See reviews for
169
212
36
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent Hotel. Room was very clean. Good layout and comfortable. Hotel is in a great location, especially if you want to go to Panthers. Have stayed before and will stay again. Recommend to anyone..


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pasmac1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we aim to deliver a memorable experience for each and every hotel guest.

It is wonderful to hear that we have been able to achieve this a number of times for you now, and love that you will be spreading the word to your friends.

We look forward to seeing you back here again for another enjoyable state.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Room clean, bed bad - mattress was sunken in the middle needed replacing. Had the worse nights sleep. Could not access club from hotel which was a problem given it was pouring with rain. Buffet breakfast was supposed to be provided the next day for a cost of $35 (per couple) however, when we got there no buffet and order from menu. Waited over 90 min and the order was overcooked and dry. On complaint we did not pay for breakfast however, it was not eatable anyway. Great night out however, at the club but the hotel could do with a bit of an upgrade and more communication with the breakfast provider.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable experience for each and every guest.

I am terribly sorry to hear for the issues you had to deal with during your stay. We are hopeful of soon having a number of rooms undergo a refurbishment which will give them a more modern look and feel. With regards to breakfast, I will follow this matter up with the restaurant management as this should have been a buffet rather than a la carte.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This package was fantastic. It included a bottle of wine, a discount vouchers for a meal and a continental breakfast. The motel is right next to Panthers Leagues Club. We have enjoyed this deal twice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Red297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our goal to provide a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time here and the features available in our Winter Warmer package. It is definitely a popular offer here at the hotel, and we would advise you to keep an eye out year round for our various seasonal specials.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel perhaps 20 times for 2-3 nights per stay over the last 12 months, so much so, that the staff know me and have the paperwork out before I get to the counter. From those stays, I have stayed in perhaps 15 different rooms. The décor in the rooms is just tired and dated. The chairs are uncomfortable to sit in (and I use these for several hours for afterhours work). The bathrooms are showing their age with chipped tiles, swelling wood and peeling paint. The rooms require renovation in a big way. The image quality on the TVs is again poor, with limited TV channels to choose from. You don’t even get all the free to air channels. The mini bar is also quite poor. In fact, the hotel take a $50.00 deposit, for a small can of pringles and a chocolate bar. Ok, there is a beer in the fridge as well.
Would I stay there again, yes as it is perhaps the best that Penrith has to offer. It also has another feature going for it, it is right next to a number of restaurants and attractions. The hotel in my opinion is average quality, but the location makes up for this.
Lastly, RM 349, get the heating fixed. That room was warmer when I tuned the heating off.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tysinbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we pride ourselves on delivering a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

I am sorry we have not been able to achieve this on every stay for you. We are hopeful of soon having a refurbishment at the hotel which will see our rooms refreshed with a more modern look and feel. This will also see an upgrade to a number of the offerings in the room as well.

On a positive note it is great to hear that the team openly recognise you as one of our valued return guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Mines, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Convenient for the Wedding we were attending at Panthers. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean,comfortable and quiet but slightly on the cold side and could not adjust the air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 412Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where we strive to deliver a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations.

It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, although I am sorry to hear about the issues that you faced with the air conditioning in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel because we were seeing a show at Panthers Leagues Club.
The rooms were fine, Although the air conditioner didn't work well. Forgot to tell the staff when we left. The linen was a bit tired but clean. Breakfast was in a restaurant attached to the club but only a few minutes walk. The cooked Breakfast was made to order (not in a buffet) The continental buffet (cereal, toast, tea etc was average, not a good standard. A discount was given as a guest of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin C, General Manager at Mercure Penrith, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at Chifley Penrith, where it is our aim to deliver a memorable experience for each and every guest.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room here at the hotel, although I am sorry to hear about the issues you faced with your air conditioning. With regards to breakfast I will take this matter up the the restaurant management, as this should have been a buffet option for you rather than a la carte.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kristin Carville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Penrith
Quality Inn Penrith
#2 of 3 in Penrith
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrith Valley Inn
Penrith Valley Inn
#3 of 3 in Penrith
124 reviews
9.0 mi away
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
Novotel Sydney Rooty Hill
#1 of 1 in Rooty Hill
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
Alpha Hotel Eastern Creek
#1 of 1 in Eastern Creek
328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Value Suites
Value Suites
#2 of 2 in Emu Plains
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Nepean River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Penrith

Property: Mercure Penrith
Address: Jamison Roads | Cnr Mulgoa, Penrith, New South Wales 2750, Australia (Formerly Chifley Penrith Panthers)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Penrith 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MERCURE PENRITH IS AT THE GATEWAY TO WESTERN SYDNEY Penrith is one of Sydney's best inland aquatic playgrounds. Have fun riding the rapids at Penrith Whitewater Stadium, visit the Sydney International Regatta Centre, paddle on the Nepean Gorge in a canoe or relax with a picnic by the Nepean River. Penrith Valley, with its beautiful rivers, national parks and lakes, is just a 55-minute drive from the centre of Sydney. It's a great escape for the whole family with plenty of things to see and do. LOCATED IN PENRITH VALLEY AT THE FOOTHILLS OF THE BLUE MOUNTAINS Explore pockets of unspoiled bush land, national parks, as well as the many treasured historic landmarks scattered throughout the region. Experience the area's lively arts scene on display at local museums and art galleries. Enjoy the beauty of the Nepean Gorge from the deck of the Nepean Belle Paddlewheeler or explore on foot. Whether you're staying for business or pleasure, for a night or a week, Penrith will exceed your expectations. A MAJESTIC PLAYGROUND FOR THE YOUNG AT HEART Next door is Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment with 9 dining options, 6 bars, Aqua Golf, Cables Wake Park, ifly and a travel shop. Panthers also offers a state of art Convention Centre, with seven architecturally designed formal and informal functions rooms, boasting an 800 delegate purpose build seminar and entertainment theatre with state of the art audio visual. Also at Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment is The Evan Theatre a first-class, purpose built entertainment venue. The Evan has been host to an array of leading entertainers including John Farnham, Boys II Men, The Wiggles and David Strassman. Adjacent to Penrith Panthers Your World of Entertainment and the Mercure Penrith is a 1500 seat Exhibition Marquee, one of Sydney's largest marquees. Sportingbet Stadium, home of the Penrith Panthers, is opposite the Mercure Penrith. The Mercure Penrith boasts 223 rooms featuring flat-screen TV s, cable TV , air-conditioning and WIFI Internet access. Additional facilities include a gymnasium, guest lounge, outdoor swimming pool, BBQ area and ample parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Penrith reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Penrith Panthers Hotel Penrith
Panther Penrith
Chifley Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing