We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service and poor food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panarottis Penrith

Panarottis Penrith
Ranked #185 of 301 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Slow service and poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A large group of us (about 20) visited this restaurant inside the Penrith Panthers Club last Saturday night. While we had a reservation for 7.30, it took almost 15 minutes for the staff to organise our table. We had another considerable wait until menus were provided and someone arrived to take drink orders. Another unreasonable wait later and the drinks arrived but the server did not which drink belonged to whom so had to call out across the table to match the drink with the person.

When we had booked the restaurant we were assured that gluten-free and lactose-free food could be provided but when we arrived we saw a notice on the menu that allergies could not be catered for. The person taking the orders was extremely unhelpful when asked about gluten-free options.

Our food took a long time to arrive and did not arrive at the same time. The first people served at the table had finished eating by the time the last meals were served. Again the server did not know which meal was for which person and had to call out to match the dish with the diner.

I ordered the Veal Saltimbocca. This dish was very poor with the veal excessively dry and tough,tasting like it had been kept for too long under a heat lamp, and the fettuccine was massively overcooked. My wife had the grilled chicken with salad. Her meat was also dry and tough and the salad was insipid.

The restaurant refused to do separate bills which added a great inconvenience as people had to find automatic tellers to get cash as they had come expecting to be able to use EFTPOS or credit cards to pay for the meal.

We will not be visiting this restaurant again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brumbiesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    20
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I rather have my pasta at home”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I ordered pasta and the sauce was plain. The flavour is no extra ordinary. I could say no value for money but the total experience was beyond comprehensive for someone who wanted to dine out, relax and enjoy the night.

From the outside it looks popular. Many people were dining in. So it's either there is no choice to go or the people taste for Italian cuisine is just as plain as their menu!

The entree was served with the main. They did not give spoon for the pasta.

Overall, very plain and I rather cook than pay that amount of money just to have worse than my own cook.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelS_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Service was good, but I found the spaghetti bolognaise to be a bit bland. Would go again to give it another try, but there are better eateries in Penrith.

Helpful?
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for a quick meal but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Look, the food was quite ok. Our family of 4 had only 3 dishes and a garlic pizza + one soft drink and 2 beers . Quick $101 in an hour. Food was mixed prices - pizza prices ok but $26 for three bits of cannelloni was a bit much. I am whinging about price. $7.50 for a tooheys new on tap - really!?Noisy restaurant and bit hard to hear. Service was ok with the usual 17 year old casuals. Good points? Food good quality. Part of Panthers so we went next door for dessert at Kelly's Bistro. Easy parking. Casual. Friendly enough. Probably wouldn't go back though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best pizza ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

i have never had better pizza in my life. everytime i've been there, i walk away saying that it was the best pizza i've ever eaten. lots of different choices & their pasta's are to die for. Only one thing i don't like about Panarotti's is it's really noisy, don't go there if you're after a quiet meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panarottis Penrith also viewed

 
Penrith, Greater Sydney
Penrith, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Panarottis Penrith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing