We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Got All the Details Spot On”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Westwood Farm
Ranked #3 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“They Got All the Details Spot On”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This will be a positive review, let me dispense with the one criticism I have right away.

The room had a bed with a huge–as in double width or more–mattress and only one chair. So, when relaxing in our room the person in the chair has to look way up at the person on the bed. It's height is intrusive and made the room feel odd and not comfortable. They should lose the bed.

Once they do, all the rest will be superb. The house (from 1910) is renovated, clean and bright. There are comfortable chairs on both the front porch and back patio. No TV in the room (that was fine with us) but there is a comfortable TV common area on the same floor.

Breakfast was excellent, creative, and served in a most friendly atmosphere.

They have all the accoutrements of a quality you would expect from a high end hotel–toiletries, morning coffee outside your door, ice and soft drinks available in late afternoon, a snappy cork screw set in the room, good reading lights, iPod-friendly clock radio, water jets in the tub, common use umbrellas at the door, Washington Post, and the list goes on.

We particularly liked the serenity of the place, just a few hundred yards off of route 20. Great for people visiting James Madison's Montpelier or just passing through

Room Tip: Only one of their four rooms is without ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyager075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
184
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I went and had a wonderful trip. Jay and Elizabeth were fantastic, gracious hosts and very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas. Brunch was heavenly, matched only by the environment that led to great conversations with the other guests. We'll certainly keep it in mind for future visits!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nolacoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, MD
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We came to Orange for Montpelier and Monticello and got much more.

The Inn at Westwood Farm was the cleanest B&B we've ever encountered. And that's saying something given we've stayed in nearly one hundred B&B's in the last thirty years.

Cleanliness was just the beginning. Everything from the Terry Robes, to the Rainforest Shower Heads to the napkins with logo (subtle) was perfect. It's what you expect from two owners with successful marketing backgrounds. What you wouldn't expect is the warmth and courtesy that owners Jay and Elizabeth delivered far beyond the professionalism. They were great! Example #1:Wine and delicious hors d'oeuvres coupled with enjoyable conversation at 5:00. #2 and best example: My wife and I were the only guests on that Wednesday evening. On our way out to dinner we heard Elizabeth talking quietly on the phone in the kitchen. We tried not to disturb her conversation by "sneaking out." Still she heard us leaving and instead of us letting us just slip away she excused herself from the call and met us at the front door. Instead of rushing back to complete her call, she talked with us for about ten minutes. Professionally run? Definitely. Friendly and comfortable? DEFINITELY.

PS We're healthy eaters. We had a delicious breakfast that was part organic and natural, filling but also light. When we return to Orange we'll definitely stay with Elizabeth and Jay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The Inn at Westwood Farm is idyllic. The house has been restored with the latest amenities and in exquisite taste. I have never seen such a spotless and beautiful home. Fresh flowers abound, the linens are gorgeous---everything says quality and quiet sophistication.
The breakfasts were excellent, with farm fresh eggs, beautiful and perfectly ripe fruit, local country sausage and bacon, served in a bright and sunny dining room on a beautiful table where the serving pieces, the dishes, the napkin rings,--- everything---is special without being precious or off-putting.
Our hosts Jay and Elizabeth were as helpful and friendly as they could possibly be: They knew the best places to eat, wineries to visit, historic places to see, and are obviously well thought of and well connected in the community because wherever we went and were asked where we were staying, our response was always met with an enthusiastic, “Ah yes, wonderful”. We hated to leave and are eager to return.

Flora Millstein and Richard desJardins

Room Tip: Ask Jay to show you the gorgeous chickens and the specimen rooster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tworetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

For Christmas, our children treated us to a 2-night stay at the Inn at Westwood Farm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Elizabeth and Jay were wonderful hosts and knew quite a lot about the area, and offered suggestions on what to do and see, where to eat dinner, etc.

The morning breakfast was fit for a king and each morning was different. This was enough to hold us over until the early afternoon. They have chickens in the back and their rooster "Ziggy Stardust" was a trip.

Besides the bedroom, there are a lot of nooks and crannies where one can escape to, lots of books on hand to read, a small room with a TV in it.

Along with Elizabeth and Jay, as well as the other guests staying at the inn, you feel like a family, with interesting conversations at breakfast. I would recommend this inn to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crineha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytonsville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Elizabeth and Jay make you feel like one of the family the moment you enter their home. The inn is beautifully decorated, the beds are luxurious, and breakfast is delicious. They are extremely knowledgable about the area and can give great suggestions on what to do, where to go, and what to eat. This is our second time staying there, and it was even more special than the last time. We will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Room 204 has an east facing window and a second window with a great view of the back yard. I love wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Westwood Farm is a wonderful bed and breakfast. The decor in each of the rooms is charming, comfortable, modern and clean. Jay and Elizabeth are very friendly and make wonderful recommendations about the local area. Breakfast is homemade every morning and is delicious, especially the eggs benedict. The farm is idyllic, with chickens and horses on the property. The Inn is wonderful, and we will be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
317 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Westwood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Westwood Farm

Property: Inn at Westwood Farm
Address: 12256 Montford Rd, Orange, VA 22960-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Westwood Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-filled, elegantly appointed 1910 farmhouse on 15 lovely acres with barn, paddocks, gardens and woods, makes staying at this inn a unique experience. This bed and breakfast features four guest rooms with amenities such as whirlpool tubs, flowers, exquisite linens, antique oriental rugs, early morning coffee in the library, and a gourmet breakfast in the dining room or on the porch. The inn offers perfect respite from urban stress. Conveniently located one mile from James Madison's Montpelier, and easily accessible to Charlottesville, Monticello, and wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Westwood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing