We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Westwood Farm
Ranked #3 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2008

My wife and I had planned to stay in Charlottesville, VA. Luckily for us, everything in the city was booked due to the return of students and the USC vs. UVA football game. I did a search of lodging in nearby towns and found the Inn at Westwood Farm. The Inn was very charming, with a tasteful mix of things new and old. The inn keepers Elizabeth and Jay were friendly, helpful, and directed us to a great little restaurant in the nearby town of Orange, VA. It was a beautiful 40 min. drive through back roads from the Inn to Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zigrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Westwood Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2008

We found a serene and peaceful setting in the lovely rolling horse country surrounding Orange, Virginia. The Inn at Westwood Farm, with fiteen acres of white-fenced pastures, horse barn and expansive rolling lawns, sits on a knoll with views of the mountains from the front of the house. The house is a traditional farmhouse with large outside porches and lawn chairs sprinkled around the property for relaxing, reading or just enjoying the country air. You are less than a mile from Montpelier (a must tour - thoroughly enjoyed it), near other historic Constitution Highway sites such as Monticello (will get there next time), and just a few miles from several charming small villages like Orange with antiquing, art and fine dining. There are also dozens of wineries in the area for touring. This part of Virginia is a favorite retreat from the bustle of DC and Charlottesville and convenient to both. We drove to Orange from the west and the scenery east from Charlottesville to the Inn was gorgeous.

The house maintains the original charm of heart pine floors, high ceilings and large windows, but has been modernized with a beautiful gourmet kitchen and large, comfortable white tile baths for every guest room. The four well appointed rooms feature antique oriental rugs, luxurious French linens, plush robes and slippers and comfortable chairs. I really wanted that bathrobe to come home with me! The bathroom toiletries were the finest, with soaps hand made and hand wrapped by the inn keepers family. There were multiple common areas and smaller spaces for relaxing outside our room including a spacious living room and porches downstairs and both a library with mountain views and sunny media room upstairs near the guest rooms. We especially liked sitting in the cozy library in two leather chairs facing the window view. We chose a lovely icy blue/grey room on the back of the house overlooking the flower and organic vegetable beds - but would have been happy in any of the four rooms. Our bath was very comfortable with a large walk-in shower tile/glass shower. The colors throughout the house are soothing and the furniture is simple and elegant. .

The innkeepers, Jay and Elizabeth, are retired corporate folks with varied interests and the ability to put everyone at ease. Delightful hosts who thought of everything to make us comfortable, they were endlessly cheerful and fun to talk to. Jay did much of the reconstruction on the house and he and my contractor husband had much to talk about. Elizabeth was an apparel designer in her former life and her great taste is obvious everywhere. They know the area well and recommended great restaurants, handled our tour tickets and advised on wineries, shopping and galleries. Every detail was covered to make our stay special. Extra reading glasses in the library and in the dresser drawer, fresh flowers in every room, water bedside in the evening and morning coffee with weather forecast in the upstairs foyer to start our day before we headed down to the dining room for a great country breakfast. They use fresh local produce, meat and eggs - much from organic farms in the area as well as the Inn gardens. We were served wonderful eggs Westwood (their special version of eggs Benedict - with strange green and blue shelled organic eggs), fresh fruit, fresh baked muffins, fresh squeezed juice. Delicious.

We enjoyed our time here enormously and will definitely visit again. We have recommended the Inn to all our friends and the first one to follow our advice and visit Westwood Farm fell in love with it. A lovely, serene home in the countryside that soothes the soul. Worth the price in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mabex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

I found it on the internet and booked a room for 2 nights. The website is lovely but the Inn is even better than you can imagine. The innkeepers are very kind and accomadating. If you are looking for a special place to go this is your place. You will not regret booking here.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank elemb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

I've never been moved to write a review before, but my experience was so extraordinary that I feel I'd be doing the Inn at Westwood Farm and perhaps the world, a disservice by not doing so.
I travel on business regularly but this was strictly vacation. Dad with his 8 year old daughter.
The beginning of the experience was when Elizabeth came out and greeted us at the door. She knew our names. if you don't think my 8 year old was impressed, you're wrong. She just looked at me and said, "Daddy...."
And, It just got better from there.
The house and it's surroundings were exquisite. From the rocking chairs on the porch, to the down comfortors in the evening.
The gardens and yard were labors of love.
And the food in a word, was "nice".
Jay and Elizabeth treated us more like family than family. Go figure. Maybe because we only stayed 3 nights.
Much of what i'd write about Westwood you can read in their web site. I can tell you that unlike some other sites, Jay and Elizabeth understated. You will not go there and feel a minute of disappoinment until you have to leave.
What you won't see on the web site is a picture that's on my desktop that Elizabeth took. It's of my daughter and myself. The smile on my face and the absolute joyous laughter on Zoe's show a contentment that I've never had at any other place that i've stayed at.
As wonderful as the Inn at Westwood Farm is, if one had enough money and impeccable taste, it's physical touches could be replicated. What makes the place untouchable is the Elizabeth and Jay touch. Nowhere can you get that.
Thanks Elizabeth and Jay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MELBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaverbruggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
216 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
318 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Westwood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Westwood Farm

Address: 12256 Montford Rd, Orange, VA 22960-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: £147 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Westwood Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-filled, elegantly appointed 1910 farmhouse on 15 lovely acres with barn, paddocks, gardens and woods, makes staying at this inn a unique experience. This bed and breakfast features four guest rooms with amenities such as whirlpool tubs, flowers, exquisite linens, antique oriental rugs, early morning coffee in the library, and a gourmet breakfast in the dining room or on the porch. The inn offers perfect respite from urban stress. Conveniently located one mile from James Madison's Montpelier, and easily accessible to Charlottesville, Monticello, and wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at Westwood Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing