We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Willow Grove
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I just spent a weekend at the inn. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable with heated bathroom floors and many other comfort features. The staff is extremely hospitable and friendly. Service all around was great. This is a great place to stay and central to a few Virginia wineries which make for excellent day trips. The staff at the inn made accommodations for us at some local wineries during our stay as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. However for something more private we would recommend the overlook flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for sharing! We’re delighted you enjoyed your experience, in particular the local vineyard tours. Inn guests enjoy complimentary tasting passes and special discounts at some of the area’s top vineyards and even for half- and full-day chauffeured vineyard tours. You Butler can help you make all the arrangements you need so you can enjoy a special experience without lifting a finger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Friends recommended the Inn at Willow Grove. The School House which is the oldest schoolhouse in VA, was on the exterior, authentic to its history yet the inside was exquisitly renovated, romantic and perfect in all aspects. We stayed on our way to a family vacation at Lake Lure and were pleasantly surprised at the beauty of the property and the attention to detail. From our entrance, greeted by our Butler, Michelle, to our exit, the attention paid throughout our two night stay made us feel very special! The staff was professional, efficient and warm and their desire to ensure our satisfaction was evident at every turn. Our dinners were excellent especially the crab cakes and the filet (which melted in your mouth!). We met the owners and their son, Matt, the GM during our last evening. They were very personable and attentive. Everyone made our stay a most enjoyable time. We even made reservations to return in August!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mwcspitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

At The Inn at Willow Grove, it's our goal to make every guest feel comfortable, at home and completely spoiled with attentive - but not intrusive - service so guests can “escape, unwind and indulge” in the ultimate luxury! We’re so happy you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Was excited for a girls getaway weekend....and it was a disaster. The entire staff is about 18 years old.....the food was awfu (we had lunch and dinner here), and the room was mediocre at best. I cannont understand how they can call themselves a luxury hotel. Breakfast was 4 beignets served in a brown lunch bag. When we complainied...all we got was "so sorry you stay was not a good one:"........When I asked to speak to the general manager or owner I was told he would not be available for three weeks or more. And they have yet to reimburse my credit card for the incidental deposit they held. Stay away....or stay at Keswick.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelleNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Our staff is comprised of experienced professionals who have extensive training in luxury Five Star service. They are not 18 years old, although many of them would be flattered by the comment. True Five Star service is service is service that anticipates a guest's needs, and our entire Guest Services team went out of their way to please you throughout your stay - specific examples include calling you twice to make sure you were ok when your afternoon activities kept you from checking in on time, comping your lunch when you complained about a Resort Credit that didn't apply to your stay, and seeking you out in the gardens to direct you to our walking path for more satisfying exercise. When you asked to speak with the General Manager, you were not only given his name, email address and direct extension, but you were also given the exact day of his return from his vacation (a three-day period of time, not three weeks!) Incidentally, our GM Matt has not yet received a call from you.

As for your room, the Schoolhouse cottage is a deluxe, private cottage that has been thoroughly renovated in our signature "urban meets plantation" style. The cottage is listed on the National and Virginia Historic Register and features charming historic details such as the original brick fireplace that dates back to 1778 and gorgeous original floorboards. Luxurious modern amenities such as an expansive spa-style bathroom complete with heated travertine tile floors and heated towel racks, two separate vanities, a walk-in shower with a rainfall shower head, and a top-of-the-line "bubbler" soaking tub with a spray wand, a sumptuous King-sized bed, a sitting room with wet bar and flat-screen television, and a private porch and separate private patio in the gardens make this cottage far from "mediocre."

Our hot, freshly made beignets are served in the style made famous by New Orleans' world-renowned Café du Monde - that is, in a brown paper bag - and when paired with our signature blend of locally-roasted French Press coffee and delivered to your door first thing in the morning, they are out of this world. We have never once received a negative review of our beignet service. This is a first!

Lastly, the deposit you mentioned was your non-refundable room deposit, which was taken at the time of your reservation. As a courtesy to you, our Guest Services Manager offered to split the room deposit with your friend if that was your preference; however, you have yet to contact us regarding your decision to split it.

As you can probably tell from this response, we're floored by your review. We wish you happy travels elsewhere in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've been frequent critic of Willow Grove. As the food has been good to excellent, the wine is been shall we say a little on the stingily side. Someone has gotten to them and we can now say that they do a very good job of pouring a glass of vino.

If you need anything, ask for Carlos the manager--he's always ready to help. AND if you want great service ask for "Wednesday" our fav. server.

Willow Grove has a new Chef--so far very good, but I might comment that the Crab Cake I had was a tad small for $16, but I did like the sauce.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Owner at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

You have indeed been a frequent critic of ours, Donald, and it’s nice to hear that you have a few pleasantries to share after all this time! Our Restaurant Manager Carlos is always happy to help, as is our General Manager Matt, who personally greets you and your wife by name every time you walk in the door. While we are mystified as to why you continue to return despite your repeated criticism of everything from our service to our beer selection (and now the size of our crab cake), we are of course always happy to welcome guests who just can’t seem to stay away despite their best efforts.

Slight technical note: As you and your wife have never stayed with us, your review technically should have been filed under the restaurant. Just saying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Seriously- if you are looking for a romantic getaway in VA wine country THIS IS THE PLACE! We just had a glorious 2-night stay; we had a wonderful butler of our very own(!), who brought hot beignets and French Press Coffee to our "Weaver's Cottage" at 5am before our hot air balloon ride! The down pillows and comforters were glorious! Our patio was SO delightful! The strawberry shortcakes at night... Tea Forte & Voss water & local, handmade soaps & plush robes & slippers & L'Occitane toiletries... A delicious dinner at their Vintage Restaurant and chairs to sit in around the pretty fire pits outside... But the BEST thing was the lovely, lovely service, which made it all marvelous! We are in the hospitality business and professional "road warriors" who have stayed in lodging at ALL levels across the USA, from Super 8s to the Waldorf=Astoria and everything in between, and The Inn at Willow Grove had the best service we have EVER experienced in the USA! Can't wait to be able to return!

Room Tip: We had the "Weaver's Cottage", and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elissejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Such kind words from “Road Warriors” like yourself are truly wonderful to hear. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your whirlwind two-day stay. With such a jam-packed itinerary, we’re happy that you were able take it all in! Thank you for sharing and please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had driven by the Inn at Willow Grove for years and never stopped in. Ended up staying here for a birthday retreat and loved it. Beautiful setting and wonderfully restful. There are guest rooms in the main building as well as out buildings. They can accommodate almost any space you would want. The beignets and coffee that arrive at your prescribed time are an outstanding treat (and the best you will have this side of New Orleans). We enjoyed ours on our porch in rocking chairs listening to the birds. The best part is you feel as though the Inn is undiscovered. Other than a wedding weekend, this is a jewel tucked into a beautiful wooded site in Orange County.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bemvindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Happy Birthday! We’re so happy you enjoyed a special getaway to celebrate the occasion. Even during a wedding on our property, guests can enjoy a peaceful, romantic escape in our Overlook Cottage, which enjoys a quiet spot up the hill from the manor house away from the hubbub of a wedding party. Thank you for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Granted this is the only B&B I've stayed in in Virginia, but this place is such a slice of heaven, I will never go anywhere else. We've enjoyed in the dead of winter and the height of summer, and both trips have been amazing. We sought the Inn trying to find a little spot for a stay-cation, and just fell in love. The restaurant is delicious, there are wineries near by to enjoy, we've also just sat on our patio and enjoyed wine we brought from home. It is cozy, the staff is incredible, and every time I go I never want to come home. It's the perfect romantic weekend away from DC!

Room Tip: There is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mrsanniehoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn at Willow Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for posting your kind words. We’re delighted you enjoyed a relaxing, romantic “staycation” close to home. As a small luxury boutique hotel, we offer all of the amenities of a larger hotel but with the intimacy and personal service that you would typically find in a B&B. It’s the best of both worlds, as you discovered during your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
21.9 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
475 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#4 of 8 in Orange
320 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 8 in Orange
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Willow Grove

Address: 14079 Plantation Way, Orange, VA 22960-2261
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: £223 - £1,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Willow Grove 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn at Willow Grove, an elegant boutique hotel in the heart of Virginia wine country. Nestled on a private 40-acre estate in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, our historic 18th century plantation house and surrounding cottages feature a unique blend of chic and elegant “urban meets plantation” style, exceptional world-class amenities and gracious southern charm. Relax and unwind in any of our 14 luxurious rooms and suites, or join us at Vintage Restaurant for a mouthwatering farm-to-table meal. We are the perfect destination for romantic weekenders, countryside tourists, wine-enthusiasts, history buffs… anyone at all looking for a luxurious, relaxing and truly unforgettable escape.Our critically acclaimed property has enjoyed outstanding reviews from The Washington Post, Southern Living, Wine Enthusiast, Departures Magazine, DC Magazine, and Washingtonian Magazine, among others. Escape. Unwind. Indulge with us at The Inn at Willow Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Willow Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Willow Grove Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing