We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and romantic!”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gainesville, VA
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant and romantic!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Mayhurst is a wonderful B&B that has excellent and consistent service and value. Jack and Pat are extremely attentive and go out of their way to make your stay the best it can possibly be and help you plan your activities, if you choose. Every touch, from the wonderful food on beautiful china and crystal to the soft towels, bathrobes and chocolates makes you feel spoiled,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
235
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford. NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My first time using Living Social and I was pleasantly surprised. It was a most enjoyable stay. It was everything I hoped for and more! I purchased the package as a surprise 65th birthday present for my husband. He likes history and this B&B is in the mist of so much history.

We loved everything about the 150 year inn. The outside was charming and the grounds were beautiful. It was way off the road so it was private. The inside as stunning. They thought of everything, We loved the wine and cheese social time to get to know the guests staying there and to ask questions about the area, placed to eat and the history of the inn. Our hosts were GREAT. They were there if you needed them but didn't make a pest of themself or talk your leg off. The breakfasts were incredible!!!!! And, if that wasn't sweet enough, there was chocolate sitting out too. Oh, and I forgot to mention the fantastic 5-course dinner and cooking demo at a nearby B&B. As I mentioned we CAN'T STOP TALKING ABOUT OUR WONDERFUL STAY. We hope to come back soon, and bring friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conniemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Mayhurst is absolutely the loveliest b&b we have ever visited. Our room was beautifully appointed, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Our room had a lot of Civil War pictures which we (history buffs) loved.
The wine and cheese gathering was such a nice way to mingle with the other guests. Breakfast was so delicious--the goblet of fresh fruit was wonderful and the scones the best I have ever had. There was lots more to the wonderful meal as well.
Our hosts were so gentile and thought of our every need. I have absolutely no complaints, just praise!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atiger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This was our first trip to a bed and breakfast and it was simply wonderful! Pat and Jack know just how to design the perfect getaway. We got engaged there this weekend and I couldn't have asked for a more charming and perfect setting! The grounds are beautiful, cooking and wine is superb, and Jack and Pat are gracious and welcoming hosts. Coffee is the best I've ever had, they were kind enough to let us bring some home! We can't wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We just returned from a 2 day stay at this property booked through a LiveSocial deal. Pat and Jack North make you feel very welcome and at home. The cheese and wine get together in the evenings is a very nice touch and helps break the ice with other people staying. The two breakfasts we had were amazing - best eggs benedict I have tasted anywhere! The Inn is well situated for day trips out to Montpelier, civil war sites, wine tasting, etc. so plenty to entertain everyone. We would definitely recommend the Mayhurst Inn for anyone wanting a central location to explore that part of Virginia and to have a welcoming place to come back to in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goochland, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The minute Mayhurst Inn came into view on my first visit, I knew it would be the perfect place for our daughter's wedding. After meeting Pat and Jack, we were sold. The Inn is beautiful and the hosts are terrific. Pat and Jack's efforts to make our event successful and relaxed was most appreciated. The grounds are immaculate. There was plenty of convenient parking for our guests and the layout accommodates people who have difficulty walking great distances. If you are looking for the perfect wedding venue, your search is over.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyF57775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We had a wonderful time again. Jack and Pat are wonderful Inn Keepers. They are very accomidating and we always enjoy our stay. We look forward to our stay each year and start out discussing months before we arrive to plan our trip. Thanks for making our stay an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Come often and try them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enovosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Property: Mayhurst Inn
Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing