We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service parallel to scenery”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service parallel to scenery”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I decided to try a B & B for our 5 year anniversary. We did quite a bit of research before deciding on the Mayhurst Inn. It is located within miles of Montpelier, Monticello, Ash Lawn-Highland and Michie Tavern for history buffs as well as Charlottesville for any shoppers. The Mayhurst Inn itself is on semi-secluded grounds on a peaceful setting. Upon arrival the owners treat you as though you are lifetime friends and are more than willing meet your wants/needs. We took advantage of the package they offered for touring the Presidential homes and were offered vouchers for free wine tastings as some local vineyards. Without a doubt we would recommend the Mayhurst Inn to couples or families. We hope to make a trip back in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room. Even though it was right beside the kitchen area noise was not an iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dove_Family_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
236
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our stay at The Mayhurst Inn was excellent. Pat and Jack were very gracious hosts and offered helpful suggestions for restaurants and local places of interest along with wine and cheese every afternoon and delicious breakfasts to start off our day's adventures. They shared interesting historical details and current information about the local area. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful Inn which is located in a very attractive area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Mayhurst is very unique filled with civil war history and historic architecture throughout this beautiful Inn and the grounds and gardens are just as lovely. The rooms are so charming with their large victorian windows and the most beautiful staircase we have ever seen. One can really get a sense of the grand feeling of what life may have been like in this lovely and charming southern home so many many years ago with its rich history. The owners Jack and Pat are just as friendly and charming as can be. They really went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. They were always willing to make reservations or suggest places to eat, prepare us wonderful breakfasts each morning and much more. In the evening they would host a lovely wine tasting with great wines and fun conversations together with any of the guest who wished to come and enjoy. This small town is amazing with some of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at. The Mayhurst Inn is definitely a must stop if you are ever in this area. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After reading some of the other reviews, I am going to sound like a broken record......The Mayhurst is a great B&B. The property is beautiful and the intial presentation of the main house after driving up the secluded access road is stunning. The hosts are very helpful with local information and a pleasure to deal with. Since we had a small dog with us, we stayed in the School House and found it charming and very secluded. Dogs are not allowed inside the main house, so we enjoyed the wine & cheese offering as well as breakfast on the front and rear porch respectively. Jack and Pat went out of their way to carve out time for us so we did not feel isolated (they join the guests for wine and cheese). They are also a treasure trove of information on the plantation history.

Breakfast was very good....eggs benedict, potatoes, muffins, etc. All made from scratch. Many B&Bs pay lipservice to the breakfast portion of the stay, but not this Inn.

Lots of antique shops and wineries in the area as well as other historical sites.....we will return.

Room Tip: If you are particular about the type of pillow you like, bring your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Mayhurst was a marvellous surprise Our First time in a ''Guest House' turned out to be one of the best things we have done in recent years Acquaint and absolutely beguiling building that grows on you by the day. Pat and Jack are there but not there always giving good advice and having menus from 50 miles about, they were really helpful Being US Civil Warbuffs it was another surprise and delight to discover the importance of the building to the Confederate Army staff. The accommodation caws in excellent order and really comfortable to stay in Breakfasts were fresh and hot and as much as you could eat. If we were not 3300 miles away I would use it often Pat and Jack thank you!... from the 4 Brits.

Room Tip: Stonewall Jackson Room WoW...!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnardini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford VA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Enjoyed a weekend getaway at the Mayhurst Inn. The owners were very knowledgeable about the area and helpful in setting up reservations, offering advice and directions. The house was originally built in 1859, but has updated plumbing and A/C. It is very close to a lot of history (Montpelier, Monticello) as well numerous wineries and excellent restaurants. Their breakfast was delightful with Eggs Benedict one morning and Pancakes and Sausages the other morning and fresh fruit. They will also cater to your food allergies. 5:30 pm was Wine and Cheese time in the library and you can learn all history of the house. Very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the directions the Mayhurst will provide, do not turn on Mayhurst Lane!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeKStaffordVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If I had to come up with something to make Mayhurst Inn sound not-perfect, maybe I could say the grass was too green and the sky was too blue.

You probably see what I'm getting at. Our stay was "perfect". We were out back in the "School house" and not in the manor house itself. This little cottage is pet-friendly and is equipped with a small kitchen which includes a small range/over, microwave, refrigerator (a small, full-size), and of course, private bath. You have practically a private little mini-mountain retreat right there!

I am unable to comment on the rooms in the big house, but the one I peeped into off the breakfast room downstairs was lovely. The public rooms are beautiful. The staircase is interesting for those who love stair-case design.

Our breakfasts (2 mornings) were delicious and well-served and in just the right portions for me personally.

Jack and Pat are surely are among the best hosts around. Helpful always. Gracious. Interesting themselves and interested in others. They are neither intrusive nor difficult in any way.

Mayhurst is just at the edge of Orange, Virginia, and easily found, although I don't think it is visible at all from the highway, unless it becomes so in the winter with no leaves on the trees.

Orange doesn't seem to be an upscale dining destination, but choices are available that are good, and serviceable and reasonably priced. Gordonsville has the upscale Pomme; Culpeper has dining options.

Mayhurst Inn gets my solid recommendation.

Room Tip: School House room (a separate cottage) is where we stayed and should be ideal for those wanting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
241 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Property: Mayhurst Inn
Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing