We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mayhurst Inn..A great place to stay”
Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairfax, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Mayhurst Inn..A great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2009

On short notice we picked The Mayhurst from the Internet. The reviews were rated Excellent, which grabbed my attention. From our experience it is no accident that Jack and and his wife Pat , the owners, get uniformly Excellent ratings. We stayed in the Southern Charm room, which was nice and very interesting. We had a super time, Jack and Pat were wonderful hosts, the mansion itself perfectly kept, even the breakfast was outstanding. You will enjoy The Mayhurst.

  • Liked — The hosts.
  • Disliked — I can't think of any negatives.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank novajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
236
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2008

Mayhurst Inn resides in historic Orange, VA where history from the Revolution on is minutes away. Jack and Pat North are the most dellightful hosts that you will ever meet. We used their "Southern Charm" room which lived up to its name. You can not go wrong staying at the Mayhurst Inn!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — What was not to like
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveGVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

This was my first experience with a B & B and I must say that Jack and Pat North exceeded all of our expectations. We stayed in the Italian Suite which was beautifully decorated and included a gas fireplace and large jetted tub. The service that Jack and Pat provide are without equal. We arranged for a hot air balloon ride via a package deal on their website. They made all the arrangements and all we had to do was show up at the right place. In the evenings Jack and Pat put out wine and cheese for their guests in the library, giving us a chance to socialize. They have menus from the local restaurants and are happy to recommend the perfect place. Jack is quick to pick up the phone and make reservations for you if the restaurant requires. Breakfast - oh my goodness! They serve breakfast in a beautiful dining room at the bottom level of the house. This is no waffle house breakfast. We're talking gourmet! They even have their own house blend of coffee which is excellent. Unfortunately we could not experience a walk on the expansive grounds because we were pressed for time and it was cold but it is supposed to be a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vtxpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Where to begin? I took my husband on a surprise weekend to the Mayhurst Inn for his birthday! We stayed in the Italian Suite and it was wonderful! We enjoyed strawberries and champagne on the first night (I had booked the VA Wine Country package) and the awesome whirlpool tub. We spent Saturday visiting Madison's home and some wineries. We had a picnic basket full of cheeses, fruit, chocolate and French bread loafs that Jack and Pat had put together for us. We brought a bottle of wine at one of the local wineries and enjoyed our picnic lunch (inside the winery though because it was about 30 degrees out).

I must say that Jack and Pat were such wonderful hosts! They would join us at “wine time” and we’d have local wines and cheese/crackers and just chat away. We really enjoyed their company. I must say breakfast was absolutely out of this world!!! One morning we had baked apples and eggs Benedict and the next morning we had fresh fruit with cream and French toast with warm apples and Vermont Maple syrup.

My husband said that this trip was probably the best surprise I could have given him. You must try Mayhurst Inn … it’s the perfect place for a weekend of fun and romance!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We stayed in the Generals' Room and enjoyed it very much. We chose it from the photos online, and because Lee, Jackson, and Hill had all slept there. The antique furniture and beautiful views were complemented by a modern bathroom and gas fireplace (which we started every time we were in the room!)

Pat and Jack were very friendly and the evening wine and cheese was yummy and social with several couples even on a weeknight in the fall. They enjoy good food and have great dining advice. There are many good restaurants within 20 minutes. Of course there are many restaurants right up the road in Orange as well. Jack is also a history buff for those interested.

Breakfast was great and they were accommodating to vegetarians. We hiked the entire property in the morning - down to the lake and up the mountain - and saw two deer.

  • Liked — nice hosue/rooms, history, friendliness
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2008

The Mayhurst Inn is a wonderful Bed and Breakfast! The decor is full of history and the service is excellent.
There is plenty to do and not enough time to get done in one weekend visit! Which leaves you wanting more and to definately come back and visit.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants to go away for a wonderful and relaxing weeekend!

  • Liked — The History of the Plantation
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaCityslickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
241 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Property: Mayhurst Inn
Address: 12460 Mayhurst Ln, Orange, VA 22960-2847
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing