We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mayhurst Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Orange(Orange)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Willow Grove(Orange)
US$290
US$284
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shenandoah Crossing(Gordonsville)(Great Value!)
US$118
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$72
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Culpeper)
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Culpeper Inn(Culpeper)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
309
15
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
309
15
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseeggs benedictsouthern charmother guestsbaked appleb bwonderful hostsmy husband and ieach eveninglocal restaurantsdiscount ticketsparfaitcould not have been moreantique storescivil war sitesget togetherdelicious breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We had a great weekend and Mr. and Mrs. North made it all possible. They are very kind folks who are easy to talk with. They went the extra step to make our weekend wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBweekenders09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

A last minute business trip took me to Orange, Virginia (near Charlottesville) on historic Rt. 15. I was able to make a reservation at the Mayhurst Inn on a few hours notice. Though I arrived late (10:30 pm), the Norths were there to welcome me and right away I felt at home. Elegant but comfortable charm. Old world with all the newest amenities. I would recommend the Mayhurst Inn to anyone who wants to slip back into time, see a lovely Italiante Colonial from the inside, and be treated to the warm hospitality of Pat and Jack North. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DSL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

We had been to the Mayhurst in the summer and couldn't wait for a chance to return. We were not disappointed. The room was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the fireplace. Pat and Jack continue to be the best of hosts; welcoming, helpful and knowledgable. The Inn itself is beautiful and gracious. We arrived stressed and worn. We left two days later relaxed and refreshed. The breakfasts are wonderful and the wine and cheese offered in the evenings are a delight. Once again our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Phonehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We first visited The Mayhurst a few months ago when we were looking for a site for our wedding. After a long and difficult search, it only took a brief conversation with Jack North and a tour of the Mayhurst to convince us both that we had found our site.

A few days ago we went back to the Mayhurst for one day so that we could meet some wedding vendors. We were even more impressed the second time. Jack and Pat were incredibly gracious hosts and gave us invaluable advice about our wedding planning. the room that we stayed in (The Southern Charm Room) and everything from the fireplace to the whirlpool tub to the music (cd's) and chocolates that were waiting for us made it the perfect place to relax after an exhausting day.

Breakfast the next morning was outstanding (and the coffee is the best that I've had in a long time) and completely unhurried.

I can't recommend the Mayhurst highly enough, whether it's for a weekend getaway or for the your big day.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jhenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

On short notice we picked The Mayhurst from the Internet. The reviews were rated Excellent, which grabbed my attention. From our experience it is no accident that Jack and and his wife Pat , the owners, get uniformly Excellent ratings. We stayed in the Southern Charm room, which was nice and very interesting. We had a super time, Jack and Pat were wonderful hosts, the mansion itself perfectly kept, even the breakfast was outstanding. You will enjoy The Mayhurst.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank novajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews