We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW - Does it get any better?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mayhurst Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayhurst Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW - Does it get any better?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

My husband and I have stayed in many bed and breakfast type inns and The Mayhurst Inn is in a completly different category to itself. Jack and Pat are so friendly and knowledgeable! They not only provided a wonderful experience at their inn but also guided us through sightseeing, winery touring and fine dining. The inn itself is wonderfully done with historic charm but modern amenties (the bathrooms are amazing!). Breakfast was superb and Pat packed a gourmet picnic lunch for our day of signtseeing. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed our experience and will come back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afwlpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
232
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastern US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

The Mayhurst Inn is a very nice Inn on a beautiful piece of property. The rooms are quite nice, but can be matched by other Inns. What sets this place apart is the friendliness and service provided by the owners, Jack & Pat North. They are always willing to assist with whatever you may need. Being there to have a glass of wine and chat with their guests in the evening makes a comfortable experience for all. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank member310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

We are regular visitors to the Charlottesville area and the Mayhurst Inn is where we stay assuming I've booked far enough in advance. It's a spectacular plantation house with wonderful light, high ceilings, beautifully restored and set on 35 acres.

Innkeepers Jack and Pat North are delightful and are a mine of information on places to visit and dine at, be it the historic homes of the founding fathers or local restaurants and wineries.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmvj100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

We had a great weekend and Mr. and Mrs. North made it all possible. They are very kind folks who are easy to talk with. They went the extra step to make our weekend wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBweekenders09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2009

A last minute business trip took me to Orange, Virginia (near Charlottesville) on historic Rt. 15. I was able to make a reservation at the Mayhurst Inn on a few hours notice. Though I arrived late (10:30 pm), the Norths were there to welcome me and right away I felt at home. Elegant but comfortable charm. Old world with all the newest amenities. I would recommend the Mayhurst Inn to anyone who wants to slip back into time, see a lovely Italiante Colonial from the inside, and be treated to the warm hospitality of Pat and Jack North. Very highly recommended.

  • Liked — The warmth of the Norths, and the historical atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Liked everything!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DSL49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2009

We had been to the Mayhurst in the summer and couldn't wait for a chance to return. We were not disappointed. The room was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the fireplace. Pat and Jack continue to be the best of hosts; welcoming, helpful and knowledgable. The Inn itself is beautiful and gracious. We arrived stressed and worn. We left two days later relaxed and refreshed. The breakfasts are wonderful and the wine and cheese offered in the evenings are a delight. Once again our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Liked — The large beautiful room, adjoining sitting room with fireplace and large jacuzzi.
  • Disliked — There was nothing wrong to dislike.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Phonehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

We first visited The Mayhurst a few months ago when we were looking for a site for our wedding. After a long and difficult search, it only took a brief conversation with Jack North and a tour of the Mayhurst to convince us both that we had found our site.

A few days ago we went back to the Mayhurst for one day so that we could meet some wedding vendors. We were even more impressed the second time. Jack and Pat were incredibly gracious hosts and gave us invaluable advice about our wedding planning. the room that we stayed in (The Southern Charm Room) and everything from the fireplace to the whirlpool tub to the music (cd's) and chocolates that were waiting for us made it the perfect place to relax after an exhausting day.

Breakfast the next morning was outstanding (and the coffee is the best that I've had in a long time) and completely unhurried.

I can't recommend the Mayhurst highly enough, whether it's for a weekend getaway or for the your big day.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jhenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
21.8 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayhurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayhurst Inn

Property: Mayhurst Inn
Address: 12460 Mayhurst Lane, Orange, VA 22960
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayhurst Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayhurst Inn is a luxurious Virginia Bed and Breakfast located in Orange, VA and near Charlottesville. The stunning 156 year old 9200 sq. ft. Plantation Manor House and our eight unique guest rooms and suites will enchant you and provide the ideal back drop for a perfect getaway or vacation. Situated on 37 acres of the rolling Virginia Piedmont, surrounded by manicured lawns, multiple gardens, old growth trees and fields, you will be transported away from today's day-to-day stress to a time and place where relaxation was a way of life. You will be pampered with luxury, fine Virginia Wines, exceptional service and sumptuous breakfasts while surrounded with romance and history. Your stay at Mayhurst can be as relaxed as you want or filled with adventure and the many exciting things to do and places to visit that surround us. Come take pleasure in the "Plantation Experience" and enjoy some true Southern Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayhurst Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayhurst Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing