We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY bed and Breakfast to STAY. A must visit!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The ONLY bed and Breakfast to STAY. A must visit!!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We live just 30 minutes away but this is the best getaway place. When you first pull up, you are greeted with the smiles of your gracious hosts, Kathleen and Troy. This is only the beginning of one of the best experiences. The home (and this is truly a home) is perfection, warm & inviting, the food is fantastic, but the best part is the feeling of welcome you receive from Kathleen & Troy. Great people, great conversation, GREAT place. This is a MUST stay for all!!!

Love these people and this place!!!

Sharon and Joe

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seschmidt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
238
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington Park, MD
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Troy and Kathleen are exceptional hosts. When we arrived, we were treated to Kathleen's warm and gracious hospitality. She was more than happy to spend time answering questions about the property and history of the house. We shared an excellent bottle of wine, fun conversation together, and were further treated to one of Troy's gourmet snacks.

Although the house was built in the 1860s period, Troy and Kathleen have carefully renovated the home making most things new while preserving important architectural details. Therefore, our room was nicely appointed with quality linens, toiletries and furnishings equal to a luxury hotel.

The wine and snacks at night along with the gourmet breakfast each morning were exceptional treats. After getting to know us, restaurants and reservations were very helpful and spot on to our needs.

We will go back. ENJOY!

Room Tip: The gardens are lovely including large water fountains, gas lamps, and outdoor wedding tent. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLJCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Chestnut Hill Bed and Breakfast, and can't wait until we stay with them again in November for our Anniversary. Our room was grand, breakfast was a delicious event in the elegant dining room, and the innkeepers' hospitality was warm and inviting. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the downstairs meeting room. The house is grand and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. And, the amenities were everything we could want in a room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had a fabulous wedding weekend at Chestnut Hill. Kathleen and Troy went above and beyond to make our stay special. They satisfied all of our individual preferences and ensured we had a great stay. Our wedding was perfect and all of our guests were very satisfied with their rooms and the delicious food. We would definitely recommend Chestnut Hill for anyone looking for a great place to have an intimate wedding.

--C&K

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our wedding was one that was planned to be very small and intimate. Never in our wildest dreams did we realize with the help of Kathleen and Troy that it would be so elegant. Our day could not have been more perfect! Kathleen and Troy were more than InnKeepers they are truly wedding coordinators. Our cake was "the best cake I have ever tasted" that was my husbands quote. The breakfasts were out of this world prepared by Kathleen herself and her staff. The cookies! fresh baked daily and warm... so good we just had to take some home :) We will never,ever forget our PERFECT wedding. I don't think my husband and I have ever felt so relaxed and comfortable as we did during our stay at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast. I would also like to add the ENTIRE staff at Chestnut Hill are wonderful we did not meet one person who works there who didn't go above and beyond to make sure we always had everything we could want or need.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nycjdp
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This place was great...got very lucky and was able to make a one night stay at last minute. Troy and Kathleen were awesome hosts. The room we stayed in was gorgeous, tons of tv channels (not that you'll need it), great soaps and shampoos, all the amenities of a hotel. The bathroom was super clean, the linens were fresh and very clean. We felt bad with how generous they were with their wine, but that didn't stop us from drinking a bottle and helping ourselves to the fridge with water and soda.
The grounds were beautiful with a small waterfall and koi pond and terrific covered patio.
Kathleen gave me a ton of great restaurant tips, though i didn't pay quite enough attention. Ended up at a place called the Silk Mill. Was mediocre at best, but cool history within the building itself. Advice: pay attention to kathleen's recommendations on local restaurants!

Breakfast was amazing! French toast, bacon, asparagus, coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice!

Troy is an encyclopedia of antique shops in the area, make sure to get his tips!

Definitely look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: ask for the room with the double jacuzzi tub...it was sold out on our night, but looked amazing, pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycjdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Chestnut Hill.  The innkeepers, Kathleen & Troy, made our every moment a joy and the inn itself is exquisite.  We will certainly return!

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 12boutsideAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 236 Caroline St, Orange, VA 22960-1541
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Chestnut Hill has been skillfully renovated to preserve the master craftsmanship of this renowned historic home and professionally decorated to provide our guests with an opportunity to appreciate the past while enjoying the comforts of the present. There are only two guest rooms per floor and each room offers a private bath with hairdryers, quality personal amenities, pillow-top beds dressed in triple-sheeted superior quality cotton linens, lush cozy spa robes, HD flat screen televisions and WiFi Internet access. Extra special touches may include fresh cut flowers, bottled flat or sparkling water and home-made confections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing