We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure Pefection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pure Pefection!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My fiance and I first discovered Chestnut Hill in April 2011 when he was looking for a place to stay in Virginia wine country. He found Chestnut Hill on the Select Registry website, however, this B&B takes even those already high standards to a whole new level. Troy and Kathleen, the innkeepers, create a perfect experience and atmosphere. Not only is the house amazing in every possible way but they make it pure perfection! We loved our first stay so much we decided to have our wedding at Chestnut Hill even though we live 30 minutes north of Baltimore. Our wedding was October 6th and it was amazing! Troy and Kathleen not only made our event special but assisted our guests in enjoying their weekend as well! I can't say enough good things!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing and there is a price point for everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
233
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Our return visit to Chestnut Hill was a seamless continuation of the incredible experience we had on our first stay.Troy and Kathleen remembered our most minute preferences (how do they do that?) and ofered us a choice of any available room. Clearly, our first-rate adventure was to continue. And it only got better: This time, we made the acquantance of King Oliver and Queen Nicki. These loving canine "hosts" warmed our hearts and made us feel right at home. If I 'go on," it's only because, as an experienced Bed and Breakfast owner/operator, I am deeply-inspired by our chestnut Hill experience. Blessings to you, Troy and Kathleen: you two set the standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegildedpeacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This little gem, tucked away in Orange,Virginia, was all or even more than expected! From the warm greeting upon arrival, to the decor, friendly service, exquisite breakfasts and keen interest in all your needs, this definitely deserves all the plaudits heaped upon it by other guests.
A big thank you to Kathleen and Troy for all the hard work which was seamless in execution.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70Derek70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful weekend excursion to Chestnut Hill. The historic house is beautiful, the food was amazing, and the town was charming. We absolutely loved our hosts, Troy and Kathleen, whose hospitality and warmth made us feel right at home. Their recommendation for BBQ and insight on the local vineyards were very helpful. Not realizing that I had left a favorite necklace behind, I was beyond thrilled to discover that they had carefully mailed me the necklace within a week after our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is one of the finest places we've stayed anywhere in the world. The facility is impeccable, the service is absolutely perfect, the food scrumptious AND the price is very fair. We've traveled to 38 countries and stayed in great hotels, eaten in fine restaurants everywhere, owned restaurants and a very high end luxury mega yacht charter service and know what it takes to present this type of venue. We compare this experience to the caliber of the best of all of them. This far exceeded our expectation and we would recommend Chestnut Hill and Troy & Kathleen Adkins for your special visit. Dr. and Mrs. Michael Fryer

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was by far the BEST experience we have had with a B&B. Kathleen and Troy single-handedly raised the bar for all B&B's. I was spoiled! From planning our days sight-seeing to preparing a breakfast - extraordinaire, it was hard to leave!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Congratulations to Troy and Kathleen on creating this quintessential B&B! EVERYTHING was universally superb, from the hospitality to the magnificent happy hours to the wonderfully creative and sumptuous breakfasts. We felt so very fortunate to have discovered their beautiful inn and we are already making plans to return -- and bring several neighbors with us. Troy and Kathleen made us feel more like family than guests.

Room Tip: Pink Simplicity was our room and we loved it. Also, the basement rooms looked fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
22.2 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 236 Caroline Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Chestnut Hill has been skillfully renovated to preserve the master craftsmanship of this renowned historic home and professionally decorated to provide our guests with an opportunity to appreciate the past while enjoying the comforts of the present. There are only two guest rooms per floor and each room offers a private bath with hairdryers, quality personal amenities, pillow-top beds dressed in triple-sheeted superior quality cotton linens, lush cozy spa robes, HD flat screen televisions and WiFi Internet access. Extra special touches may include fresh cut flowers, bottled flat or sparkling water and home-made confections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing