We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I would absolutely stay here again. This is a beautiful inn in a lovely area. The staff go the extra mile, as evident in every aspect of the impeccable service, food, and amenities. Also, the staff have intimate knowledge of the region, and answer any questions you may have to ensure you get the most out of the local attractions. This was a very relaxing, enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_T2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
234
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kommetjie, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Everything about our experience at Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast went above and beyond what we expected of our overnight getaway. We knew we were staying at a nice B & B arranged by my in-laws for our anniversary, but we had no idea how wonderful it would be. Kathleen and Troy are such lovely people, so hospitable and warm, they made us feel at home right away. They were very helpful in helping us find the right places to eat dinner and taste wine- from making reservations for us to printing out maps, they went the extra mile. Their historic home is beautifully restored- the rooms are phenomenal. Everything is so tastefully decorated. The food is absolutely delicious. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Township, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our stay at Chestnut Hill was our first Bed & Breakfast experience. We were overwhelmed from the first moment we stepped into this lovely home. Kathleen welcomed us as if we were beloved friends. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast each day was beyond our expectations. We shared enjoyable conversations and sharing with the other guests during Happy Hour each evening. My husband and I left there feeling like we had made many new friends. We look forward to many return visits in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower level near the lounge which I feel was perfect and cool in the June heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was my first experience with a bed and breakfast and I have to say Troy, Kathleen, and Lea exceeded my expectations. From the service throughout our stay and the coordination and planning of my wedding. Everyone was so welcoming to not only us but our families. Also, the grounds and the rooms are absolutely beautiful. Let me not forget to also mention the breakfast each morning was first class. We have decided to spend every anniversary where we said "I do".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tawndra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I just returned home from an amazing anniversary getaway at Chestnut Hill Bed and Breakfast. Kathleen was wonderful! She was so accommodating and really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and special on our visit. We stayed in the Emily Macon Bridal Suite which is a beautiful large room on the top floor. All of the rooms are gorgeous, but this suite was really special.

The breakfasts each morning were so delicious and served on beautiful china. The appetizers served each evening were yummy too! Troy made a scalloped potato appetizer the first night and a lobster bisque the second evening. Delicious!! Kathleen recommended two restaurants for dinner during our stay. Her advice was spot on! We ate at Elmwood at Sparks and Vintage and I highly recommend these restaurants as well. We visited several local wineries during the day and were given complimentary tasting passes to take with us.

My husband and I really felt as though we were treated like royalty! Kathleen and Troy offer a top-notch experience. You will not be disappointed! We will be returning some day soon! Thank you Kathleen and Troy for an unforgettable five year anniversary getaway!

Room Tip: The Emily Macon Bridal Suite is on the top floor which provides more privacy. However, you really c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

First of all the house and property is amazing! My sister's wedding was here.. Just this past weekend. We cannot stop talking about this bed and breakfast! Everyone had a great time. Kathleen and Troy.. The whole family was so welcoming and friendly. Great service, great food. Hard workers!

Room Tip: Downstairs! Coolest area.. Bar and nice rooms with an amazing tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Chestnut Hill hosted my sister's wedding over the weekend, and we had a magnificent time. Troy and Kathleen were very attentive from the time we arrived. They run a professional operation which provided an outstanding breakfast each morning... it was phenomenal. I would definitely stay there again, and will be referring my friends and family. The rooms were well kept and the ambiance was incredible. We walked the yard, visited the pond and fountain. Every space was well manicured and set the scene for a beautiful wedding. My family and I enjoyed our stay. I'm so happy my sister and brother-in-law chose this B&B as there local. Thumbs up T and K!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanesha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
316 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
11.0 mi away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 236 Caroline St, Orange, VA 22960-1541
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Chestnut Hill has been skillfully renovated to preserve the master craftsmanship of this renowned historic home and professionally decorated to provide our guests with an opportunity to appreciate the past while enjoying the comforts of the present. There are only two guest rooms per floor and each room offers a private bath with hairdryers, quality personal amenities, pillow-top beds dressed in triple-sheeted superior quality cotton linens, lush cozy spa robes, HD flat screen televisions and WiFi Internet access. Extra special touches may include fresh cut flowers, bottled flat or sparkling water and home-made confections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing