We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

" With all the Bed & Breakfasts to choose from we were thrilled to have made this choice! Troy & Kathleen are warm and friendly making us feel right at home. They are very accommodating taking time to give us information of places to visit on our trip. The food and accommodations are outstanding! A plus for us were the heavy horsd'eourves which served as our evening meal at the end of a busy day. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly to friends & family."

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginiasightseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
234
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

" Chestnut Hill is a beautiful home that should be experienced by all. Kathleen and Troy provided a warm hospitable place to celebrate our wonderful friend's birthday. Twelve women enjoyed a fabulous time and wanted for nothing. An absolutely Exquisite Experience."

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seschmidt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, USA
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast is the finest B & B we have ever stayed at. We knew we were coming somewhere special when, before our visit, we were asked if we had any special requests/needs that could be accommodated. Once we arrived, the back road directions and meal our hosts had ready for us for the concert we were to attend made us feel so pampered-just what we had been looking for in our weekend getaway. The incredible breakfast, fresh squeezed orange juice, evening wine, and desserts waiting in our room were all impeccable and more than we had hoped for. The candy corn left in the room each night was perfect too! We will most certainly be back, friends in tow.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjulia729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Beyond Expectations!

"Incredible! We cannot say enough! We have stayed in numerous b & b's and Chestnut Hill is by far the most hospitable and gracious! The accommodations are luxurious, the food is on par of a 5 star restaurant and the hosts are our new best friends. Troy and Kathleen are worth the stay alone! Troy gave wonderful advice on what to do in the area, and also included customized driving directions. (Kathleen even demanded I take her jacket to an outdoor concert when I forgot mine!)

Overall, we had a wonderful experience and will be talking about it for years to come! We will be back and we'll bring friends!"

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmg1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

The accommodations, food, and hospitality were way above our expectations. We had a great time relaxing and eating all the delicious food you prepared. The house is absolutely gorgeous with no place left undecorated. Thank you for your kind and generous hospitality. We had a great time and hope to come back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiSternlicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2010

A Wonderful Anniversary



" Thank you so very much for making our anniversary so special! Your genuine hospitality exceeded our expectations. The combination of Chestnut Hill Old World elegance married with a Modern Twist plus all of the conveniences have set the bar for all other B & B stays. We thoroughly enjoyed the fabulous appetizers, wine, Creme' Brulee and gourmet breakfast. This home's beauty and the serene grounds are outstanding. We are leaving feeling enriched by your friendship and kindness. Best of all, we are looking forward to a return stay!"
Lynn & David Poquoson, VA

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david23662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Kathleen and Troy are such gracious hosts! There was so much attention to detail and such great personal attention. The food, especially the carrot cake, was fantastic! Even though our trip was short, it was such a relaxing stay and friendly atmosphere. We will be sending our friends this way for unparalleled southern hospitality!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasso5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
22.2 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 236 Caroline St, Orange, VA 22960-1541
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Chestnut Hill has been skillfully renovated to preserve the master craftsmanship of this renowned historic home and professionally decorated to provide our guests with an opportunity to appreciate the past while enjoying the comforts of the present. There are only two guest rooms per floor and each room offers a private bath with hairdryers, quality personal amenities, pillow-top beds dressed in triple-sheeted superior quality cotton linens, lush cozy spa robes, HD flat screen televisions and WiFi Internet access. Extra special touches may include fresh cut flowers, bottled flat or sparkling water and home-made confections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing