We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone should experience Chestnut Hill !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, Florida
1 review
“Everyone should experience Chestnut Hill !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

If you are looking for an AWESOME getway of excellent service, food, atmosphere and hospitality THIS is the place to go. When arriving at Chestnut Hill you are overtaken with the gorgeous grounds. The flower gardens, statues, koi pond and the amazing views are just breath taking. The beautiful patio was the perfect place for afternoon drinks or just relaxation. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Kathleen and Troy, the most personable and gracious Innkeepers you will ever meet. The minute you walk into their Inn they make you feel right at home. Chestnut Hill is elegantly decorated, very spacious, comfortable and relaxing. Kathleen made sure we had just the right drinks for the evening. Troy made the most appetizing hordevures you will ever eat. YUM! We stayed in the luxurious Bridal Suite that evening. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and very spacious. The bed had amazing linens and was very comfy! The next morning we woke up to freshly brewed coffee and a delicious breakfast fit for a king.
I also might add this would be the most georgous sitting for an outdoor wedding. When our daughter and son get married this will definitely be the place we choose. The beautiful columns and fountains in the background would make the perfect setting for awesome wedding pictures.
This was our first visit, but not our last. Everyone should experience Chestnut Hill! .You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgsimms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
233
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

What a wonderful weekend! This historic home was simply amazing! The hospitality and kindness demonstrated by the owners was warm and genuine. Our experience here completely exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend the Chesnut Hill B & B. This was a first class weekend!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynSRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

What a truly awesome experience! We enjoyed the hospitality so much that we can’t wait to return. This was our first bed and breakfast stay and thanks to Troy and Kathleen, it will definitely not be our last.

Mike & Sharon

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 757vipcard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We found Chestnut Hill through our Barter group and it was the perfect answer to my prayers for what to do for our 20th anniversary. I spoke with Troy and Kathleen several times on the phone, planning special surprises for my husband, and answering their questions about our tastes. I felt like we were friends before we even arrived.
We stayed from Tuesday - Friday and three nights was just the right amount to be spoiled rotten by their cooking and hospitality.
Mornings start with coffee as early as you want, and breakfast was served around 8:30 but they are very flexible to your plans. Grand Marnier french toast, baked eggs, asparagus, fresh fruit, Virginia baked ham, grits and fresh squeezed oj were just some of the amazing breakfast treats prepared for us.
After breakfast, you can hang out on the backporch and enjoy the butterfly garden and fountain, walk in historic Orange or hit the road for Montpelier or Monticello. Afternoons are best suited for the wine tastings in the area. We highly recommend Barboursville which we did with a picnic lunch as part of our package.
When you return, head to the basement where you can curl up on a leather couch with a book and a glass of wine & jazz music playing in the background from their entertainment center. Around 5-5:30 Troy will bring down a delectable appetizer selection - cheese, meats, fruit, crackers. Heavy hors d'oeuvres were included in our package so we also had crab dip, london broil and perfectly steamed shrimp. So much food we didn't need to go out to dinner afterwards. Although for our actual anniversary, we chose to go to Foti's as per Troy's recommendation and we were treated wonderfully on our special day.
I've saved the rooms for last - wow! There are 8 to choose from, only two on each floor. We stayed in Alexander Daley's Master Suite - can I say "Wow!" again! Fabulously decorated, extremely spacious and the bed is amazing! Phenomenal shower, huge bathroom and more than enough closet space. Each room also has a tv but who needs a tv???
Kathleen was very attentive to adding special touches - champagne, rose petals, candles, chocolates, & remembered that I'm a tea drinker. We felt right at home...but in a much nicer home!
If you can't bear to make a total break from reality, wireless internet is available in all the rooms and there is a public computer you can use in Troy's office.
Obviously, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thanks to Kathleen and Troy & our Barter group, our 20th anniversary celebration was more than I imagined it could be!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

What a memorable night! We truly enjoyed ourselves with your hospitality and "the story." I could not have picked a more perfect gift to share with my wife on our wedding anniversary. This place is truly amazing and, now, due to Troy and Kathleen making us feel so special, it will be part of our yearly anniversary tradition!!! We are counting down the days until we can return and continue to add memories to our new tradition. We will tell everyone we know about their wonderful place and the gracious hospitality that they provide. We feel very special and are thankful that our paths have crossed

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsakhnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falls church
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Chestnut Hill is a place where you can go to relax and enjoy yourself. Everyone is so nice and there is no "I don't know you - awkward feeling." I love good food and the food here was some of the best I've ever had. We stayed here because my mom was having her wedding here and the wedding and reception were beautiful and went off without a hitch! Also, it was the best night's sleep I've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjiFallsChurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

The hospitality was incredible, the inn is so charming and exceeded our expectations. We fell in love with Troy’s meatballs and ate entirely too much! Everything from the rooms to the landscaping has been done with so much thoughtfulness and it really shows. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirlatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
22.2 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 236 Caroline Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1860, Chestnut Hill has been skillfully renovated to preserve the master craftsmanship of this renowned historic home and professionally decorated to provide our guests with an opportunity to appreciate the past while enjoying the comforts of the present. There are only two guest rooms per floor and each room offers a private bath with hairdryers, quality personal amenities, pillow-top beds dressed in triple-sheeted superior quality cotton linens, lush cozy spa robes, HD flat screen televisions and WiFi Internet access. Extra special touches may include fresh cut flowers, bottled flat or sparkling water and home-made confections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing