We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the tapas on Wednesday!!”
Review of Vintage Restaurant

Vintage Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Featuring regional American farm-to-table cuisine "with a twist", The Inn at Willow Grove's Forbes Travel Guide Four Star-rated Vintage Restaurant is open both to Inn guests and the public. Our award-winning culinary team keeps things fresh by changing our gourmet menus regularly to highlight the freshest, most authentic flavors of the season, and our special Wednesday "Tapas Night" and weekly "Three on Thursday" special prix-fixe tasting menus feature our gourmet cuisine at incredible prices. Join us for lunch, dinner, cocktails or Sunday Brunch. Reservations recommended but not required.
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Every Wednesday the restaurant runs a special of tapas sized portions of the entrees and appetizers for $5; I was in town with a friend on business and managed to try just about everything on the menu. It was my first visit to this restaurant, which I found head and shoulders over the others in Orange. The only downside is the limited nights they serve dinner on (Wednesday - Saturday). That limitation seems endemic to the area, though, so plan your visit accordingly.

They have a new chef halting from Montana that has been there about 2 or 3 months. He is putting an emphasis on locally produced foods. I particularly enjoyed the house-cured salmon, the pain perdu, the pork belly and the braised rabbit. We split a bottle of Pinot noir from Oregon. The beauty of the tapas approach is that we were able to try a lot for the same price as a meal with a single app and entree. Eat here on a Wednesday; Sundays they just do a pub & lunch menu.

Thank FritzGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Gourmet Tapas Wednesday is a special night in Vintage Restaurant! It’s so much fun to taste, savor and share selections from the gourmet dinner and pub menus in bite-sized portions – it’s the perfect way to explore our innovative gourmet cuisine and find new favorites. For an exceptional value, we also recommend joining us on Thursday evenings, when we serve our three-course prix fixe weekly Chef’s Tasting menu for just $29.95. While we do not serve dinner on Mondays or Tuesdays, a delicious gourmet dinner is available to guests any other day of the week!

Our new culinary team is redefining our approach to farm-to-table cuisine, and we couldn’t be more excited to expand our local sourcing into what is truly “fresh” and of-the-moment in the fields. We’re so happy you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a delicious dinner at Vintage while we stayed at The Inn at Willow Grove. Very fine food and excellent service.

Thank elissejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

you can bring your own wine, although there is a corkage fee, it's minimal. everything we've had has been amazing. definitely a must go to if you are in orange.

2  Thank mrsanniehoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Being at the heart of Central Virginia’s wine country, wine is very much a part of the experience in Vintage Restaurant! We welcome guests to bring a favorite bottle, but even more fun is exploring our extensive wine list, which recently won Wine Spectator’s Award of Excellence for a second year in a row. And for good reason! With vintages from around the world and from the Monticello Wine Trail right in our backyard, we have a bottle for every occasion. Thank you for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We visited the Inn for the third time since July 2013.
While the Inn and the surrounding suites were impressive, we enjoy their Overlook Suites, East and West because it is above the Inn and each suite has a front and back porch with great views of the mountains.
The suites are spacious with many amenities, including a heated floor in the bath which is nice in the fall and winter. Mornings are started with coffee and pastries, and evenings are topped off with dessert and tea delivered to the suite.
The Restuarant was great, with a good wine list and friendly, capable staff. The menu was innovative with varied choices.
The location just outside of Orange was about an hour from Monticello
and about 20 minutes from Montpelier, home of James and Dolly Madison.
Trinity Methodist Church in downtown Orange is a beautiful small church with a great pastor and friendly people.
We certainly will return when the occasion presents itself.

Thank Wes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for sharing! The Overlook suites certainly are special, and we welcome you back to enjoy them any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Seriously, this restaurant is perfect. The old Inn is beautifully restored. The restaurant blends the old inn structure with modern elements and decor. The chairs are very comfortable and the tables are large, but set far apart. You don't feel crowded or rushed. Every staff person was genuinely friendly and engaged. They were all very aware of and concerned with our dietary requirements. Every dish we tried was outstanding. I can't wait to go back and to stay at the Inn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VADogLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatWillowGrove, Guest Relations Manager at Vintage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We’re delighted that you enjoyed your experience and welcome you back any time to enjoy a truly memorable luxury getaway! If you haven’t already, join our Preferred Guest list to stay in the know about seasonal specials and promotions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vintage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing