We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We checked in around 11 pm so did not know at all where we were. What a surprise to wake up the next morning and look out our window to see a lovely view - a beautiful field with corn rows off in the distance. The pool also was part of this setting and would be lovely to be able to use it during the warmer weather - so pictureresque! The hotel was very clean, very friendly staff, a good breakfast. Couldn't have asked for more. With so much to see in this part of VA would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Hotel only has 2 floors - ground floor we found to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jam620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel sits on the top of a hill and has a commanding view of the area. It is well laid out, is comfortable, clean, and the staff is extremely helpful. Every room has a view! The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The breakfast area also has a commanding view of the area. We are fairly hard to please but we are here to say that we loved this hotel! We will return to spend more time there and to tour things in the area.
While there if you are looking for an upscale dining experience, we would recommend the Inn at Willow Grove - just a mile from the HIE.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2008floridatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was such a nice and clean hotel. The view from the back of the property is the pool, then the fields with corn and cows. We would stay there again. Breakfast was nice. And it's a good location when visiting that area of VA. It was a short drive to Monticello and Montpelier. My only complaint was that the beds were a little harder than I like.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank family1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very, very nice facility, with great mountain/meadow views on one side. It was so comfortable we stayed 2 nights to visit Pres. James Madison's house and other area features. The restaurant in town, the Silk Mill Grill that was a former knitting mill is neither good nor charming. There is a very expensive restaurant in a charming hotel about a mile from the HIE, but we did not try it.
John

Room Tip: Choode the side of the hotel with meadow/mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabio22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is located on the outside of town toward Culpeper with a CVS right next door. Plenty of space to run around for kids. Nice mountain and farm views in the back. Standard breakfast fare (not continental). Rooms have the nice larger screen TVs and microwave and refrig. Shower head is adjustable for stream.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be fine as it is so far away from the highway. I was in 109 for 2 nights and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whalehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here the night before a trip to Montpelier on our way to the Smokey Mountains. Clean. Comfortable. Good air conditioning. Friendly staff. Nice free continental breakfast. No bugs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobWDW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We like this place. We have stayed there before and we may stay again. The facilities, including outdoor pool are clean, fresh attractive. The setting is beautiful, miles of vista of central Virginia.
There is one potential large problem. Just outside the front entrance, there is a covered sitting area that nearly always has cigarette smokers. For some reason of geometry, the smoke does not blow away quickly. inevitably, some of the smoke intrudes into the front lobby area. This does not bother me and I would never presume to tell anyone else whether they should smoke, but if you would be distressed at 20-30 seconds exposure to tobacco smoke, every time you go through the front door, then you should avoid this hotel. it would be very easy to fix the problem: (1) remove the benches - that would discourage many of the smokers; (2) put up a sign...no smoking within 30 feet of the entrance; (3) provide alternate smoking areas a little further away.

Room Tip: They seem all the same to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roadgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear roadgard,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that our facilities were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange - Montpelier
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
14.5 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Culpeper
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Crossroads Inn & Suites
1 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange

Address: 750 Roundhill Rd, Orange, VA 22960-2240
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: £76 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel, winner of eight consecutive awards. Visit our hotel and enjoy a serene view of the Blue Ridge Mountains, located on the north side of the Town of Orange, VA.We are minutes away from Woodberry Forest School, American Woodmark, American Press, Klockner Pentaplast, PBM Corporation, Plow & Hearth, Waugh Harley Davidson, Zamma Corporation and Meadows Golf course, and just 40 minutes from Charlottesville, home of the University of Virginia , Monticello and John Paul Jones Arena. History buffs will enjoy visiting Montpelier and Monticello, The Wilderness and Chancellorsville Battlefields and Barboursville Ruins. Skydive Orange is nearby, as are several vineyards & wineries. Wind down in our cozy sitting area with fireplace or enjoy a picturesque view from our breakfast bar area. Our outside pool and veranda allows you to relax and watch wildlife behind the hotel. Enjoy artwork created by local artists featured in our guest rooms and lobby.Our 2-room suites with Jacuzzi tub offer spacious relaxation and many rooms offer a view of the Blue Ridge Mountains.Our goal is to make each guest as comfortable as possible during their stay. We want our hotel to be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Hotel Orange
Holiday Inn Orange
Orange Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing