We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight in a peaceful pleasant place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Orange
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

HIExpress is on a hill overlooking hills and treees in Orange...nice lounge and breakfast area with an automatic pancake maker...lots of folks were talking about that...food better than average, room was clean and comfortable (pillows???). Thanks for making out trip to Montpelier a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I've stayed at many HI Express properties and this one in Orange is probably the best that I've experienced. It's set atop a hill just outside of town with a great view of the farmland and mountains. It's ideally located for anyone with an interest in American history. Inside the place is immaculate - looks and feels like brand new in the lobby area and the room that we had. It's reasonably priced, with free internet and a good standard HI Express breakfast. We were only there for one night as it was a stopover on our way back home, but will now make it a destination when we do have the time to explore the surrounding area.

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity request a room with a view toward the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeofMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Holiday Inn Express in Orange has a great view on top of a hill.
The room was clean and spacious. The hotel is near James Madison museum and a short drive to Monticello. Orange has a small downtown area with charm.

Room Tip: Ask for the end room - has good view of the Virginia mountains from two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaBobS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We attended a wedding a the Inn at Willow Grove. The holiday inn express was just a mile away. Great views, nice clean rooms with a friendly staff. We skipped breakfast so I couldn't comment on that. We visited Monticello the morning we arrived and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jnsbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We were invited to attend a family wedding in Orange and although it was being held at a lovely place with lodging, it wasn't quite appropriate for the kiddos in our party. We chose the Holiday Inn Express as it was close to town and very close to the wedding venue. I'd like to say we were pleasantly surprised but all of the reviews I read said the Holiday Inn Express would be great. It was. Very clean and modern, a friendly staff and a great complimentary breakfast. If you are in the Orange area and need lodging, I would highly recommend this place!

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank mlm1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

While we weren't initially expecting much when we book the room here, every aspect of our stay was excellent -- very helpful staff, clean and well decorated rooms and a wonderful view of Blue Ridge Mountains too boot. Will definitely stay here next time in the area

Room Tip: ask for a room facing west towards the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after visiting Shanandoah national park. The stay was fine, nothing above average, rooms were nice and big, bed was comfy and it was quiet and the setting/view in the morning was very beautiful. Unfortunately there is nothing in the area really so we just had fast food for dinner. Breakfast was free and pretty good, some hot options and there is always coffee to help yourself to at any time. Staff were fine. No problems would recommend it if you have to stay in that area but wouldn't re-visit it ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Emma W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the area surrounding the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottesville - Ruckersville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Best Western Culpeper Inn
14.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Culpeper
12.5 mi away
Shenandoah Crossing
Shenandoah Crossing
#1 of 1 in Gordonsville
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Orange

Address: 750 Roundhill Rd, Orange, VA 22960-2240
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: £49 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Orange 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel, winner of eight consecutive awards. Visit our hotel and enjoy a serene view of the Blue Ridge Mountains, located on the north side of the Town of Orange, VA.We are minutes away from Woodberry Forest School, American Woodmark, American Press, Klockner Pentaplast, PBM Corporation, Plow & Hearth, Waugh Harley Davidson, Zamma Corporation and Meadows Golf course, and just 40 minutes from Charlottesville, home of the University of Virginia , Monticello and John Paul Jones Arena. History buffs will enjoy visiting Montpelier and Monticello, The Wilderness and Chancellorsville Battlefields and Barboursville Ruins. Skydive Orange is nearby, as are several vineyards & wineries. Wind down in our cozy sitting area with fireplace or enjoy a picturesque view from our breakfast bar area. Our outside pool and veranda allows you to relax and watch wildlife behind the hotel. Enjoy artwork created by local artists featured in our guest rooms and lobby.Our 2-room suites with Jacuzzi tub offer spacious relaxation and many rooms offer a view of the Blue Ridge Mountains.Our goal is to make each guest as comfortable as possible during their stay. We want our hotel to be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Orange Hotel Orange
Holiday Inn Orange
Orange Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing