We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusion??”

James Madison Museum
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Orange
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1976, the first museum to honor 4th President James Madison. The Museum houses a wealth of artifacts in its nearly 13,000 square feet of exhibit space that bring to life the rich history of Orange, Virginia. A nice assortment of Madison's belongings along with a large and diverse collection ranging from art and textiles to farm tools and a 1923 Model T. We even have a 1732 Patent House. Only 4 miles from our friends at James Madison's Montpelier, located in the historic town of Orange. Handicap friendly and plenty of parking around the building.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Confusion??”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The James Madison Museum is located in downtown Orange, Virginia. (Closed on Monday!)

Montpelier--the James & Dolley Madison Estate--is located a short drive outside Orange.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Madison M M, General Manager at James Madison Museum, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for trying to clear things up.

"JAMES MADISON'S MONTPELIER" is the life-long home of James Madison.

"The James Madison Museum" has been dedicated to sharing the story of the Father of the Constitution, the Presidentiss, and Orange, Virginia history since 1976.

Close to 13,000 square feet of exhibits that include belongings of James and Dolley Madison (we share with other museums), a Hall of Agriculture and Transportation, and a treasure trove of artifacts from the 1700's onward.

Merely $5.00 per person (age 6 and over), we are open Tuesday - Saturday, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Attached to the Montpelier plantation, the museum is small but very well done. You will be delighted with the exhibits that take you back to a time in history that many have forgotten and pays tribute to the father of our Constitution.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Madison M M, Manager at James Madison Museum, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We try to make each guest feel welcome and encourage questions. Once the quick overview of the museum is finished, we are pleased to give our guests the chance to explore at their own pace, enjoying what interests them most. We hope you will come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very informative”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Has great background on people themselves besides history of area. Wonderful area to walk around. Close to other attractions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Newby7723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Madison M M, Manager at James Madison Museum, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
While unsure if you meant "James Madison's Montpelier" or "The James Madison Museum", on behalf of The James Madison Museum, thank you for sharing your experience.

Established in 1976, The James Madison Museum has been proud to share the rich and diverse history of Orange and rural Virginia; and of course, the story of James and Dolley Madison.

Merely $5.00 per person (age 6 and over), we are open Tuesday - Saturday, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO VISIT”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I live very near the James Madison place and have visited several times, It is well worth the time and cost. Very informative and historical. Every time I go I learn something new and the Volunteer speakers are excellent. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Madison M M, Manager at James Madison Museum, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I am sure Montpelier's staff would appreciate your kind praise. The site you wanted was "James Madison's Montpelier".

This is The James Madison Museum, established in 1976 and proud to have been sharing the story of Orange and rural Virginia history along with the story of James and Dolley for over 38 years.

With nearly 13,000 square feet of artifacts, this museum is a treasure trove for history enthusiasts.

Only $5.00 per person (age 6 and over), the museum is open Tuesday - Saturday, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Little museum in Virginia”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was an unexpected side thought as I was walking through Orange Historical District. We had previously visited Montpellier and the political history whilst interesting did not captivate me. So I was unsure if I wanted to spend more time with even more political history, however I was well and truly surprised. The Curator was a wonderful woman who was deeply passionate about her museum and all the collections -not just the political history of James Madison. There were displays of life in Orange county including some wonderful Victorian era fashions, the history of the African Americans who settled here and a vast display of farm equipment and vehicles. Thoroughly fascinating. This museum is a treat for anyone interested in social history and full marks to the wonderful curator who bring the whole story to life.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bimme_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James Madison M M, Manager at James Madison Museum, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you indeed for your praise and for sharing your experience; we sincerely appreciate it very much. We do our best to ensure that each of our guests feels welcome and free to ask questions.

Please come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed James Madison Museum also viewed

 

Been to James Madison Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing