We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple Comfort Food”
Review of Country Cookin

Country Cookin
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in Orange
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great value Great food. Great Service. The locals know about this place. Travelers need to know also.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Simple Comfort Food”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stopped here on our way to Smith Mountain Lake. The dining room is casual and basic. The Service was reasonable. The food was interesting. I had something called Grilled Meatloaf, tasted like ....grilled meat loaf! It was OK. You get one side with it and access to an extensive side and salad/dessert bar. Food food everywhere.... The sides were good and the brownies were to die for, says my wife. So, hey for a pretty low bank account withdraw, you can stop in to this establishment and if so inclined,eat yourself silly on comfort food. Enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank WE273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An average place to grab a quick breakfast in Orange, VA”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

There was nothing special about Country Cookin. Unfortunately there are not a lot of options in Orange to get a good breakfast. We traveled about 10-15 miles to get to Country Cookin. They advertise create your own pancakes, however when you set down to order they simply tell you the plates are at the buffet and to help yourself. Unless you inquire about the CYO pancakes you won't get them. I did inquire and actually ordered the Banana Chocolate Chip, they were good but very small.

The food on the Buffet wasn't great but it was okay. Overall this is an okay place to eat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelers_CAST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food at a great price”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The country-fried steak is amazing. Entrees come with potato (baked, sweet, or fries) or onion rings (for 29 cents extra!) plus a bountiful salad bar, vegetable bar, dessert bar, breads and soup. Our server was so sweet and helpful. And we left stuffed for under $20, including tax. I wish we lived closer to this place. It would be a regular.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good country cooking at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

The name says it all. This place offers good country cooking at reasonable prices. I ordered the country-fried steak. Like all entries, it came with a potato (I got mine baked with butter and sour cream) and a decently stocked all-you-can-eat salad and dessert bar. I paid less than $15 for all that, plus iced tea, tax and tip. The food was good and filling. I bet this would be a great place for breakfast, too. My only gripe: The entries come on small plates, and I (naturally clumsy, it’s true) ended up spilling some on the table. One other note: My GPS took me out to an empty field. If that happens to you, just remember that Country-Cookin is about mile south of “downtown’’ Orange on Route 15; it’s in a strip shopping center behind a Pizza Hut.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boweiwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, great price”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

It is not a five star restaurant but you can get good country food and fresh salads and vegatables at this family restaurant. Kids 6 and under eat free and they have an excellent kids menu as well, discounts 10 and under. I love their chicken strips, country fried steak, and the big chop steak(ground beef), they also have a decent ribeye and sirloin. I eat here at least twice a month and it is one of the kids favorite places to go.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouisaCattleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Country Cookin also viewed

 

Been to Country Cookin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing