We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect wedding at the Holladay House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding at the Holladay House”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My wife and I were looking for an affordable and fun elopement package when we found the Holladay House in Orange, VA. The inn-keeper, Sharon, was very professional and extremely helpful from the moment we arrived. She made sure we had everything we needed for the ceremony and made us feel right at home. The entire affair was stress-free thanks to her (and her family's) attention to detail. We stayed in the Madison suite for the night, which was exactly what we were looking for. The parlor was perfect for our ceremony and was beautifully decorated. Breakfast was super-delicious! We even had poorly-fitting rings, which were resized overnight by Sharon's father, who coincidentally was a retired jeweler. We are definitely going to revisit the Holladay House for our future anniversaries.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
243
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My husband picked the Holladay House for our wedding night. I was very impressed by the room, we stayed in the Ivy Suite. It was very clean and comfortable, not to mention romantic! Breakfast was excellent and the service was fantastic! We would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AGIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My husband and I have stayed here numerous times, including our honeymoon, and it is always an unbelievably wonderful experience. Our visits here are incomparable to experiences at other Bed and Breakfasts. It truly feels like a home away from home, due in no small part to the gracious hospitality of Sharon and Sam. They are the perfect innkeepers, always ready to help with planning and arrangements! The rooms and the building are gorgeous and extraordinarily comfortable. Breakfast is always delicious. It is also a wonderfully central location for wine-tasting, sightseeing and dining in the beautiful Virginia countryside. If you go once, you are sure to make a return trip!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We wanted to get away for Thanksgiving and let someone else do the cooking and cleaning. We received an email about Holiday Vacations in VA and there was the Holladay House with a Thanksgiving dinner for guests. Sounded perfect to me....and it was. We booked the last room, not the largest but comfortable and clean. All one needs to have the comforts. But most importantly, the hospitality was the best. We really felt like we were sharing in a special family occasion. Sharon, the owner and hostess, was very helpful with suggestions for day trips and she's perfected the B&B breakfast. It's a wonderful place...didn't have time to do all we wanted. A great place to go for any occasion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gen219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

One of the most intimate and romantic places to get married. Sharon, the innkeeper, made us feel as if we were her only guest. Could not have asked for a better location. The rooms are gorgeous and the prices are reasonable. The breakfast, french toast crème brûlée, is something we will never forget. Definitely heaven sent. Thank you Sharon and your mom-in-law ;o)

Room Tip: Floors are squeeky on the upper level but it felt like home ;o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We were looking for somewhere with character, had a pleasant lounge (parlour), was within walking distance of town amenities - especially restaurants, plus had parking. Orange and Holladay House hit the spot. Very helpful with discussing and providing a savoury breakfast for those of us without a sweet tooth. Genuinely friendly and helpful hosts who clearly love their vocation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, V A
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Stayed at Holladay House 4 or 5 times now and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The Innkeepers are like family and go out of their way to do anything they can. It's like staying with family or friends. While the Inn has been modernized, it still has the feel of an old house on Main Street in a small town. Several great restaurants nearby including a great lunch spot called Real Food. Nice little wine shop also nearby and Orange is exactly what you think of when you think of a small but friendly VA town. Great for a weekend getaway or for longer if you want to explore the area. Can’t go wrong at Holladay House.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms will have a bit more street nosie but that dies down early. In room window units can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
22.5 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 West Main Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing