We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 December 2012

My wedding experience at the Holladay House this past weekend was everything I had hoped for. Sharon did a flawless job coordinating beautiful flowers, a delicious cake, and arranging for a very kind officiant for the ceremony. She graciously took as many pictures of the whole thing and provided a lovely ambiance for our big day. We stayed in the Garden Room and loved the hot tub, soaps, and comfy bed. The breakfast the next day was absolutely excellent. We strongly recommend the Holladay house if you are looking for a very nice venue for a small wedding. We look forward to coming back next year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinjess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

We had a very nice stay at this B and B. It is a neat old house. Our room was immaculate and had a separate sitting area. Complimentary bottles of water are in the room, and tea and cookies are available 24/7. Sharon is a doll, as are her in-laws who were helping out that weekend. The creme brulee french toast was awesome. We got a pass from the inn for a free meat and cheese platter at the Early Mountain winery with our wine tasting, and great directions to everywhere we wanted to go. I definately recommend a stay at Holladay House!

Room Tip: second floor suite with the separate sitting room recommended, although if street noise bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyfeetmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This was our second stay at the Holladay House after hearing the rave reviews that our son and his wife gave the inn after their stay there. The inn is nothing short of outstanding! Orange, Virginia is a wonderful town nestled right in the middle of numerous wineries and historic sites and the Holladay House is a fantastic place to stay after a day of wine tasting and tours.

We stayed in the Garden Room on both our trips and staying at the historic inn is like taking a step back in time. My wife especially loved the huge whirlpool tub and the comfortable robes that were provided.

On our first visit to the inn last December we noticed signs in the storefronts along Main Street advertising the candlelight tours of Montpelier which is just four miles from the Holladay House. This year we decided to book our room so we could take advantage of the Montpelier Christmas tour and it was fantastic. We were greeted by James and Dolley Madison and given a tour of the entire mansion as well as being entertained by period dancers and refreshments. The tour and our stay and the Holladay House made for a truly memorable weekend!

Sharon is a most gracious hostess and does a wonderful job of making you feel special and accommodating your ever needs. Her breakfasts are always beyond compare! We definitely plan on returning again soon and making the Holladay House our annual Christmas getaway!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JakeDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We traveled into Orange, Virginia to attend the Candlelight Tour at Montpelier and a book signing at The James Madison Museum. We have been to Orange before and have stayed in several of their wonderful Bed and Breakfasts. This time we selected Holladay House Bed and Breakfast. What a wonderful stay we had! We were greeted at the door by the innkeeper and shown around the home with a bit of history being shared. We are history buffs so we really enjoyed it. The innkeeper checked with us on our dinner plans to which we told him that we were hoping to go to Elmwood at Sparks. He was quickly on the phone making our last second reservation. Just a quick walk a block away we were at our restaurant. After a wonderful nights rest in the Oak Room, we were greeted with a wonderful breakfast. Two courses with fruit and Crustless Quiche and thick sliced toast, we were filled for most of the day. As we prepared to leave, the innkeepers took a few moments to sit and chat with us. By the time we were ready to leave, we felt as if we had known them for years. If you are looking for a warm and home style bed and breakfast you can't miss with this Inn! We highly recommend it! We plan to return when we make our trips to Montpelier!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oak Room, which has its own private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Our second visit to the Halladay House was a two-night stay over Thanksgiving. What a sumptuous Thanksgiving feast Sharon prepared for the guests--served in a gracious, homelike setting. As we expected, our room was comfortable and immaculate. Breakfasts were a treat as well--a feast for the eyes and equally delicious. My husband and I agree that for genuine hospitality, it would be hard to top the Halladay House!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We were in desperate need of a restful weekend and staying at the Holladay House was the perfect way to fulifll that need. Sharon was really warm and friendly and fixed amazing breakfasts. We felt at home right from the begining, and I would highly reccomend staying at this great B&B especially if you are looking for a quiet, confortable, and close to DC place. I will go back as soon as I can plan another trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoloszyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We live in central Virginia, so scheduled a short 'staycation' for our anniversary. Our night at the Holladay House was nothing short of perfection. Sharon is a delightful and caring hostess, and the home oozes history and elegance. The breakfast is superb, and the location is great for history buffs, wine enthusiasts, foodies, horse folk or simply a relaxing getaway. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jward928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#4 of 8 in Orange
321 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: £126 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing