We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Intimate Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This was a second marriage for both of us and we didn't want anything big. But we also wanted something that would give us nice memories. I scanned the internet for a pet-friendly B&B or Inn somewhere in Virginia. I found Holladay House on Trip Advisor and checked out their web site. It was a really nice site with lots of pictures and they offered several packages including one called the 'Traditional Elopement' package. We weren't eloping, but it was a nice overnight stay and included the wedding officiate, a bridal bouquet and groom's boutonniere, sparkling wine from a local Virginia winery and the Inn Keeper, Sharon offered to be our unofficial photographer. Everything was lovely. Sharon set up the antique sitting room with white flowers and a place for the wine bucket and toasting glasses.

Holladay House is an old building. But they have kept it nicely and have updated the bathrooms and some rooms even include a jet tub. They have a beautiful formal dining room where breakfast is served. Because we brought the dog, our breakfast was delivered to our room. It was delicious. I'd really love to get the recipe for the crustless quiche she served. And the little puff pastry-like rolls with all the buttery layers were to die for.

Sharon and her family have thought of everything to make your stay perfect and has given us wonderful memories of our wedding day. Thanks Sharon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
We had a wonderful time planning and organizing your wedding! And thank you for letting us get a little fur-time in with your pet - we appreciate the pet-fix! I am emailing you the recipe for the crustless quiche as we speak... The puff pastry rolls were the Holladay Family Buttermilk Biscuits - I always make an extra for myself no matter what diet I'm on ;D We're glad you enjoyed your wedding - it was our pleasure to host all of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
243
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crownsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

The Holladay House was a great escape. Our stay in the blue room was super comfortable and every detail was considered like the fluffy robes for my husband and after we were drenched in a thunderstorm. We were so happy we were able to bring our little parrotlet Joey. He was safe and comfortable too. Sharon made delicious gluten free breakfasts and her in laws Darnell and Kathy made us feel right at home. Joey got plenty of attention from Kathy which he enjoyed. You just don't get thus level of service and comfort in a chain hotel. Visiting Monticello and Montpelier were dreams come true for me. Having Holladay House to come back to was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
We are honored to be the "icing on your cake" for your getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and learning about your parrotlet - our first feathered guest! Though torrential rains did punctuate your visit, I'm glad you braved the weather for the short drives to Montpelier and Monticello - as you mentioned, sites not to be missed when visiting this area. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a very charming house within easy driving distance of Charlottesville and Shenandoah National Park. Sharon was more than accommodating of my vegetarian and my husband's grain-free dietary requirements. Our "special" food was specially delicious. This really is a lovely home, and Sharon is incredibly welcoming and accessible. We strongly recommend it for anyone visiting the Orange area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
We had a wonderful time hosting you both! We are SO glad you enjoyed breakfast - we love coming up with tasty breakfasts for "special diets". Many of my favorite breakfasts were found by creating a menu for folks with dietary concerns (like your grain-free apple cinnamon pancakes - we LOVE those!!) We hope to see you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

This B&B was wonderful.
My now husband and I eloped at the Holladay House. The flowers were fresh and beautiful and the breakfast was delicious and veg friendly, I think Sharon even went to buy a specific type of juice for us.
We stayed a night in the Ivy Suite. The room was awesome, we were worried because of our dog, but, there was a basket waiting for him with cookies and a tennis ball. Our bathroom was huge with a double whirlpool tub and double shower, there cute little bath tea bags in a box for the tub and giant fluffy robes to snuggle in. Clearly, Sharon pays very close attention to detail, and it pays off!
There were a lot of wonderful things that I'm sure to forget to mention, but the point is, it was an amazing stay and we WILL be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmargules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
We had a wonderful time hosting all three of you for your wedding here! We wish you all the happiness in the world and cannot wait for your return! And thanks for letting us get our "doggie fix" in by bringing by your pooch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We escaped to Virginia for a long weekend and this was the perfect spot. The innkeepers were super nice, very helpful, and very personable - really willing to do whatever they could to make our stay perfect. We had a great time and would recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzstargazer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earlysville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight for our 6th anniversary and returned 2 years later to celebrate our 8th! We again, had a wonderful experience and the close proximity to a great restaurant (just a block) meant even more convenience. Everything is impeccably clean and tastefully decorated. Sharon is welcoming and helpful. We will definitely return- maybe for our 10th!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinpkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
We loved seeing you both again -- we'll be here for your bi-annual anniversary visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

My experience here with my fiancee was phenomenal! The experience & customer service was really taken to a higher level than any place I have ever stayed with. I was really impressed & cannot wait to go back. I would recommend the B & B experience at the Holladay house to any of my friends, family members, or co-workers!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
22.5 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 West Main Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing