We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Orange(Orange)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Willow Grove(Orange)
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shenandoah Crossing(Gordonsville)(Great Value!)
US$129
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$72
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Culpeper)
US$88
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Culpeper Inn(Culpeper)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
323
21
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
323
21
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcreme brulee french toastmy husband and icookiesbed and breakfastquick tourdvd playerquicheget awaya separate sitting roomwonderful experienceintimate weddingcakesmall weddingperfect choicelook forwardnext morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

From the moment we walked into Holladay House, we fell in love with the place, and the Innkeeper, Sharon! The house is tastefully filled with antiques, the room was perfection, including our own private covered patio. We were pleasantly surprised with the 2 course breakfast (the best Blueberry Crumble - all homemade - we've ever had, and the quiche truly superb). Sharon made our stay so much more enjoyable just by the friendly energy she possesses and the interest she showed in us! If you ever get to Orange, VA, this is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Wow! What compliments! We're so excited you enjoyed your breakfast - we have to give lots of credit to the local berries and eggs - they sure do make stuff taste better :) We hope to see you again soon - we had a wonderful time hosting you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Unfortunately, we only spent one night here whilst on a bicycle trip. This is an historic, traditional and well appointed house. Sharon, one of the innkeepers, is a delight. She is charming, helpful and effervescent. She immediately makes you feel at home. After getting us settled in our room she asked about our breakfast preferences and said she would make a different hot breakfast for each of us since my husband likes sweet stuff and I like savory things in the morning. The breakfast was delicious as was the coffee which is roasted specially for them.
Our room was clean and comfortable with nice bath supplies and a comfy bed.
This is THE place to stay in Orange. Worth a detour if you are visiting the Virginia Piedmont.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank max'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

We love having bicyclists stay with us - you all have such a great perspective of the gorgeous countryside in this region - what a great way to experience this area! Maybe during your next visit we can get you going horseback riding :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Holladay House twice, and loved it both times! This charming 19th century house is cozy and inviting, with warm decorating and atmosphere. The character of the place is delightful, thanks to the positive energy of the host, Sharon, and her father in law, Darnell, and mother in law,
Cathy. (sp)
Breakfast is a masterful treat created by Sharon's gourmet hand. Fresh locally sourced ingredients are presented beautifully for a wholesome and satisfying meal, punctuated by lively conversation with the hosts and other guests. We love this place, the people who run it, and recommend it most highly to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidericgellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

The best part of owning an inn is hosting guests like you both! Thanks so much for returning and the great conversations :) We hope to see you both back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our first time here. We really enjoyed it. What a great find. The accommodations were delightful and comfortable. Also very clean. Sharon's breakfasts were amazing. She was very gracious. She gave us recommendations for dinner and also a suggestion of where we might go to get something we could bring to our friends' gathering. We will definitely be back. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ewa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Now that you have a fabulous reputation with your friends about finding great treats for their party, I'll make sure to have more suggestions of where you may purchase reputation-worthy locally-made treats! Thanks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I just got back from a fabulous romantic weekend spent at the Holladay House in Orange, Virginia. We stayed in the Garden Room, which has a king sized bed, and a chromatherapy whirlpool tub big enough for two.

This room is on the lower level and feels very private and secluded. It is underneath the kitchen, so you won't have anyone directly overhead at night. And in the mornings, we only heard the least little teensy weensy bit of creaky floor above our heads as they prepared breakfast.

The room and the entire B&B was immaculate. Every single detail has been attended to and everything is sparklingly clean. The bathroom in the Garden Room has been recently renovated and it has a pleasing cottage style. Overall, the Garden Room is decorated in soft olives and rich plums, and was very relaxing.

The shower has a rainshower shower head that is mounted as close to the ceiling as they could and it was fine for my hubby who is 5' 10". There is room in the shower for two and there is a bench seat at one end.

The mirror over the sink is somewhat small but big enough to work in and the lighting is excellent for shaving or applying or removing makeup. There is another full-length mirror just to the left of the chromatherapy whirlpool tub that was also welcome.

The lighting over the tub can be adjusted. It can go full strength bright - bright enough to clean by, or to use the nearby full length mirror. Or you can adjust it low for mood lighting.

The Holladay House arranged a couples massage for us, in our room. Robyn and Alice were wonderful and the massages were very relaxing.

For breakfast, we were treated to honey carmelized peaches with handmade whipped cream as the first course, followed by creme brulee french toast as the main course. I cannot even describe in words how scandalously yummy it was! So delicious!

Sharon was also very gracious in accommodating our specific food issues and needs.

The Garden Room has a private porch and a small sitting area. The wicker chairs in the sitting area are very comfortable. There is a TV and DVD player - and plenty of movies to choose from in one of the common rooms - but we didn't even turn it on.

There were soft, thick terry robes, a tea bath if you'd like one, a gorgeous matelasse coverlet, battenburg lace style shower curtain, cherry scented shampoo, cucumber olive oil body bar, lavender olive oil hand soap, complimentary makeup remover, and more.

We mainly interacted with Sharon and Darnell, and both of them were delightful. Very warm and personable. Great sense of humor. You can tell that they truly take pride in what they do and that they pay attention to everything. Thank you for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prospurring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Here's a secret: we LOVE the little details. Glad you did too!! We had hours of fun sniff-testing soaps :) We look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews