We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great facility”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Staff was excellent, food was great, and location is desirable. Only issue was the passage of trains throughout the night, whose horns woke me up more than once. The room was clean and spacious, and had excellent wi-fi service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 697JW898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
We enjoyed hosting you, and are glad you enjoyed your visit to Orange, VA and James Madison's Montpelier. Thank you for the nice compliments regarding our breakfasts and our Wi-Fi; although we live in a small town, we are able to get excellent hi-speed internet service!

We are sorry that the train disturbed you during your stay. Orange has been a quintessential Virginia railroad town since the 1850s, and the historic train station is now the location of the Orange County visitor's center. On your way to visit Montpelier, you passed the site of the wreck at the "Fat Nancy," where, in 1888, a 44-foot high train trestle collapsed and caused a disastrous train wreck(the famous Confederate Civil War General James Longstreet was a passenger--he survived). Train enthusiasts love to take a stroll downtown to watch the trains go by and visit the Civil War Museum at the Exchange Hotel in Gordonsville to immerse themselves in the area's railroad heritage. Many of our guests comment that the sound of the train whistle in the distance is a charming feature of the historic rural landscape. Although most of the time the sound is not a distraction (we're far enough away from it that the sound is in the background), occasionally the engineer can be a little over-zealous when blowing the whistle! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
244
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Holladay House is right on the main street (conveniently called Main Street!) in Orange, an historic Virginia town about two hours from Washington, D.C. Orange's primary attraction is Montpelier, James Madison's ancestral home. Since my father claimed we were related to "Cousin Jim," a visit to Orange was in order. We made an excellent choice in Holladay House. The bed was very comfortable and I really loved the pillows. We had a room with a sitting room attached, each with a little fireplace, not wood-burning and that's good for safety reasons. Our hostess, Sharon, was extremely accommodating, making dinner reservations for us both nights. She is familiar with all the local restaurants as well as those a drive away in Culpepper and Charlottesville. Her breakfasts were imaginative and delicious, particularly a crepe with a wonderful creamy filling. And she made the accompanying jam from trees in her backyard. We hope to come again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoupagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We're so glad you had such a comfortable and cozy stay with us! Thank you for the compliments about breakfast :) We are building an "edible garden" and have really enjoyed the fruits of our labor - pun intended. We plan to expand on it every year, learning as we go and as things grow :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I spent a very nice weekend here in December. We were greeted warmly by Sharon and stayed in the James Madison suite which was so cozy and quaint. Loved the living room and separate fireplace in there (especially as the weather was rainy and cold). Borrowed a movie from their collection after a dinner at a local restaurant. Had great recommendations from Sharon to visit Honah Lee Winery (well worth the stop) and Barboursville and then on to Montpelier. Breakfast was so good - Sharon is an amazing cook! However, I can't stop thinking about her shortbread cookies which are to die for! We will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellabella_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review! The John Madison Suite is a perfect "cold weather" cozy room with it's fireplace :) Remind me to make the shortbreads the next time you come - lots of our repeat guests put in their cookie requests while making their next reservation :) Have a great winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous night away on a trip from Washington, D.C. to the Wintergreen resort outside Charlottesvile, VA. We stayed in the Ivy Suite, which was luxuriously adorned with a large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and a 50" flat screen TV. The DVD collection was substantial. The breakfast was also outstanding, consistent of yogurt parfait and bacon and egg dish. We also ordered an awesome chocolate lava cake for dessert, and got a the wine tasting package, including free tastings at Barboursville Vineyards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review! I'm so glad you were able to relax in the Ivy Suite - it's a great room to watch one of the many DVDs we have available for our guests to borrow. And that homemade dark chocolate lava cake is a guest favorite! In fact, we plan to add a few more "late night desserts" to our menu in Spring 2014 due to the popularity of the lava cakes :) You'll have to try one on your next visit and tell us which is your favorite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I finally used a gift certificate that our son gave us last Christmas! We arrived on a cold, rainy day to find a cozy fire in the living room fireplace, a home twinkling with holiday decorations, delicious home-baked cookies, and the lovely Oak Room where we stayed the night. Holladay House is a gem! The location was great, the accommodations were excellent and the breakfast simply delicious. Sharon made us dinner reservations that evening at Elmwood at Sparks across the street. Perfect for a rainy evening. And we enjoyed the coffee package - a beautiful mug, a pound of delicious house blend coffee, and a terrific tour of Orange County County Roasters with owner Al Welker. We learned about the coffee roasting process and sampled many varieties. Caffeine heaven! We will definitely be back to do more Orange County exploring.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanefb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time out of holiday shopping to write this review :) We might be a bit biased, but we think the inn lends itself to sparkly holiday decorations :) This inn is so cozy in the wintertime. And you have discovered another gem in the area: Orange County Coffee Roaster's Al Welker. We love the folks where we buy our coffee! Looking forward to helping you plan your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Holladay House. The location is perfect for seeing the mountains of Virginia and Charlottesville. The breakfast is amazing. The home is beautiful and Sharon is an outstanding hostess! We will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DerekHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review! We enjoyed having you both here as well! And you're right - when we say our location is in Central VA, we mean CENTRAL Virginia! Looking forward to your return stay -- and let us know if we might help you plan out an itinerary :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Holladay House has easy access parking behind the B&B. Our room the Ivy Suite was one of two rooms located at the rear of the building. The room did not have a view but the amenities more than made up for that. The B&B is within walking distance to the visitor’s center located in the train station, and several restaurants. We picked up a self-guided walking tour of the historical area. In addition, James Madison’s home, Montpelier is just a short drive as well as Jefferson’s Monticello. Our stay included a hot air balloon ride, our first that was very exciting. Of the four B&B’s we have stayed so far in Virginia, the breakfast and seating arrangement were our favorite. Overall, we had a very enjoyable 42nd wedding anniversary experience. Thank you Sharon!

Room Tip: The free WiFi had an excellent signal in the Ivy Suite and a 50 inch TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear 42nd-ers:
You're welcome! We loved having you here for such a special occasion!

The fall foliage hot air balloon ride must have been stunning! Did you know the hot air balloon rides run all year long - including the winter? It's actually not that cold up there during that time frame and is a fantastic time to really see the rolling landscape without barriers :)

As for our breakfast seating - we're happy to have both a large table and two-person tables so folks may choose how conversational they want to be in the morning - especially before their first cup of coffee!

Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
316 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing