We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn, The Host and the Location = GREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Not the best at writing a review, but for the Holiday House I will give it my best shot. I know that my wife and I have been there three times, but it could be four. We have stayed in different rooms, but they have all been Very Nice. Some offer more than others, hot tub, fireplace and so on.
Sharon can tell you all the good places to eat and what to do for fun during the day. Don't want to write too much, so I will stop. Just know this is a GREAT B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street. It will help with noise when it is time to go to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank littlebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Just a few more visits and you'll have stayed in all the rooms! Then you can pick your favorite one :) All the rooms ARE different - which we love as our guests are not always traveling for the same reason. All of them are relaxing, some of them with a few added luxury amenities like whirlpool tubs. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I don't take reviews lightly. Accolades should be reserved for those who deserve the praise. Sharon and her family at Holladay are top notch hosts and the breakfasts are second top none. I look forward to my next stay there in Orange, Va, i just hope that the reviews won't mean that I can't get a room the next time I'm in Orange!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Well, we're blushing :) Thank you for your review! Upon your return we promise to woo you with new tasty breakfasts! Or if you have a favorite breakfast you want repeated, just let us know in advance - it's yours :) See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a quick overnight getaway close to our DC home last weekend. Holladay House was perfect! It is close to several great vineyards (go to Horton, if you can -- not the fanciest, but the best wines!) and a beautiful cider place, as well as the lovely Blue Ridge Mountains. We stayed in the Garden Room, which is ideal for couples: big, comfy bed; a whirlpool tub; and a little patio. Everything was perfect from start to finish: the room was clean and well-decorated, the hosts were so kind and welcoming, and the breakfast was delicious (and held us well through lunch!)It is also nice that you can walk into town to grab dinner at a few spots, which is helpful when you've got a trunk full of new wine. It was a much-needed escape from the city and I hope we can return to see the beautiful fall foilage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thanks for staying with us! I'm so glad your getaway was perfect from start to finish! This region is wonderful for total relaxation: great food, great wine, great scenery. And we're happy our inn could be an integral part in your relaxation getaway :) Come back anytime - we'll have more creative get-you-past-lunch breakfasts waiting :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I stayed this past weekend at Holladay House. This house is exactly the kind of place we like. Small town, old, historic house, friendly Inn Keepers and a delicious breakfast to start the day. Yes, the house is on the main street. Yes, the house is old and you can hear creaking as people walk around. However, you have to put this in perspective. Orange is a small town, so the main street is not like a "city" main street. Old houses have character. So much better than staying in a square box. Traffic was not bad while we were there, so we didn't have much bother from that. The train track is not too far away and trains go through quite often, so that may be disturbing if you are not used to that sound. Personally, I don't mind it. It did wake my husband up a few times. There are places to eat in town. In fact, we ate at two very nice places and both within walking distance. I liked the Orange area and plan to go back at some point. If I do, I'll stay at Holladay House again. Thanks for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

You really hit on all the reasons why we love living here and sharing it with our guests! We are charmed with our cute historic town of Orange and this historic home - and we've lived here for 8 years! Both the town and our inn combine historic and modern seamlessly (you could eat your way through your entire weekend with the amazing restaurants in the area...) As for the train - most of our guests, like you, are not bothered by the "toot" in the distance. However we are aware, like your husband, we do have sensitive sleepers and offer a white noise machine upon request. In fact, so many of our guests are train enthusiasts, we are putting together a Historic Train Walking Tour together with a well-known historian in the area (keep an eye out for it on our website!) We look forward to your return :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just complete a week long stay at this fantastic 1830 Bed & Breakfast in the historic district of Orange, Virginia. Only four miles from Montpelier, the home of James & Dolley Madison, it was the perfect location to tour the many vineyards and historic sites in this picturesque region. Sharon and Sam, the owners, made me feel like family. They contacted me several times before I arrived to ask if I had any special dietary needs or other requests. Sharon's breakfasts were amazing. Each one different all six days and made from scratch! I highly recommend the Holladay House to all travellers. I know I'll return.

Room Tip: I stayed on the upper floor in the Oak Room. Well appointed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z350tom-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We had a fantastic time hosting you for your week-long getaway - you WERE like family :D It's a treat for me to serve up a different, made-from-scratch breakfast each morning - so thank you :) When you return, I'd be happy to help you plan to visit more of the historic sites and wineries in the area. Till then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband & I were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary & wanted to go somewhere unique & quiet. The Holladay House was the PERFECT getaway! We stayed in the lovely Garden Room, which offers a private porch area, a spa jetted-soaking tub, & a beautiful walk-in shower for two. We booked a special package which included in-room massages, delicious chocolate cake & wine, & a bath indulgence (lotion, soaps, & champagne)! It was fabulous & provided that perfect touch for a relaxing weekend!
Sharon was the perfect hostess! She corresponded with my husband via email offering great recommendations for dinner/tours in the area & purchased our Montpelier wine festival tickets & booked our dinner reservations before we even arrived! She made everything so convenient & easy with the utmost hospitality! And her breakfast is a must! My husband has diet restrictions so she offered to make him a special breakfast to accommodate--what amazing service! Her french toast & buttermilk biscuits were to die for!
This was our first bed & breakfast experience & we were blown away! My husband & I will definitely be returning in the future for the charm, pure quaintness, & all that the Holladay House has to offer! Thanks again for everything, Sharon! --Missy & Stephen Anderson

Room Tip: The Garden Room is in the basement so it's very quiet & you have your own porch area! Very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

We are just as excited about your stay with us :) We know when parents with young kids get a chance to get away, they need a quiet, easily planned vacation - and we do everything we can to create that experience. We look forward to having you both return when you need that quiet romantic getaway for two :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The house is very inviting and beautifully decorated. We couldn't have asked for a better venue for our wedding! Sharon was very accommodating when we had to move the date. Her attention to detail is unsurpassed, from the flowers to setting up the parlor for the ceremony to background music, not to mention her wonderful photography! We stayed in the John Madison Suite which was beautiful and comfortable. Every detail for the wedding was thoughtfully covered and all we had to do was show up with our license. It was a nice surprise to come back that evening from dinner to find an email with our wedding pictures! Breakfast was delicious as well! We felt like we were staying with old friends. We've already recommended Holladay House and Sharon to friends that are looking for an intimate wedding venue. We're going to try to return in the winter, if not then, definitely for our first anniversary! Thank you again Sharon for all you did to make our day so very special!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhbb_innkeeper, Owner at Holladay House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

I am so excited you had such a wonderful experience with us for your wedding! We take the details seriously - but with a smile :) Welcome to the unofficial "Holladay Wed Club" :) We look forward to seeing you for your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#4 of 8 in Orange
321 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
2.7 mi away
Inn at Westwood Farm
Inn at Westwood Farm
#3 of 8 in Orange
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: £126 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing