We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed at the Holladay House for a much needed getaway. Everything from the rooms, food and owners was great. Being centrally located allowed us to visit many attractions then come home to the comfort and peacefulness of the Inn. The owners were wonderful, friendly and helpful too. The breakfast was delicious too, we felt very pampered and enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winterescapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2009

We've been to a number of B & B's and the minute we walked into the Holladay House, we knew that we were now in a true B & B. Sam, Sharon and even Sam's father were truly wonderful hosts. We left having had a wonderful weekend and felt that we had made some new friends too. We'll be planning our next trip there soon. Our room, the Ivy Suite, was exactly like the pictures - very cozy. The service was exceptional. We were able to walk to dinner at a nice restaurant and visit the historic sites within 5 minutes of the Holladay House. We would highly recommend trying the Holladay House B & B !!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDC23832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at Holladay House to celebrate our first Valentines Day together. Needless to say, I was hoping for a special experience for us and what we got blew away our expectations. Sharon and Sam made sure that we had a memorable experience from the beautiful room, to the amazing breakfasts, to the dinner reservations, right down to helping us with an itinerary to keep us busy during the days. This will not be my last stay at Holladay House and I will recommend it to any and all of my friends who are looking for a romantic getaway in the vicinity of DC.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kchenery679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We had a fantastic time at the Holladay House. We stayed in the Ivy Suite, which was much bigger than we expected. The accommodations were very clean and cozy. The service we received was stellar. The staff was very attentive without being overwhelming. They made our dinner reservation for us and put a bottle of champagne on ice for us without even asking. The breakfast was delicious! We only stayed for one night, but I would happily go back and stay for a longer period of time. We chose Holladay House because it had everything we were looking for in a B&B and had fantastic reviews. We were not disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TravelGal0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Very friendly staff, comfortable rooms with quality matresses and linens, and a delicious breakfast enhanced our foursome's getaway. One of our party has a very strongly developed sense of smell and was very happy to detect no potpourri or dryer sheet odors. Another of our (admittedly, very fussy!) group doesn't like sweets at breakfast, and talked all morning about how wonderful it was to not have to be polite about gooey honey buns!
The inn arranged a private tour of a local winery at the very last minute-definitey above and beyond the call of duty. We will happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Humanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

My wife and I had never been to Orange, VA before, but living in the DC Metro area, we thought the close location would be perfect for our babymoon. Holladay House was one of the only places in the region that had a babymoon package, and given that we were also allowed to bring our dog, it seemed like a win-win, so we booked two nights and crossed our fingers. We could not have been happier with our choice. Sharon and Sam are such kind people and they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and give us everything we asked for - including delivering our babymoon cheese and cider platter to our room at 10:00pm. To top it off, Sharon's homemade breakfasts were so good we think they should be featured on the Food Network - we liked her pumpkin pancakes so much we asked for the recipe! In all, this was a delightful place to stay, and we now know we have a keeper the next time we want to take a short weekend getaway at a B and B.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NOVAtraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We've stayed at a number of B and B's and must say that the week we stayed at the Holladay House was the most fun we've had in years. The inn is delightful, Victorian in decor, large bedrooms and absolutely charming. It is located within thirty minutes of the four civil war battlefields, five minutes from Montpelier and about thirty-five minutes to Monticello, Charlottesville, etc

We so enjoyed our evenings on the side screened porch and the breakfast each morning was just incredible-I had to dash my husband's expectations for similar breakfasts at home!

But the very best part was spending the week with Sharon and Sam and Sam's parents. As the owners, they not only provided a wonderful and warm environment, but made us feel as though we were close friends who happened to be guests in their home. They went out of their way to not just meet our needs but to anticipate them. And Sam's parents who occasionally visit and help, are two of the funniest and warm people we've ever met.

The Holladay House is an experience not to be missed for all of the above reasons and we will certainly visit there again and recommend it to close family and friends...and to you also. Jacqueline and Marc

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LynnMcKinneyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#4 of 8 in Orange
321 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: £126 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing