We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We visited the Holladay House as a sspecial birthday celebration for my wife. Sharon and Sam were wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. Breakfasts were delicious and memorable and Sharon made reservations for us at a great restaurant for my wife's birthday dinner.
We will definitely stay here again and recommend it highly..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
243
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We felt so comfortable with the Innkeepers Sam and Sharon, that it felt like we spent the weekend with old friends. All of the food was delicious, we enjoyed the First Annual Hops and Chops 4th of July dinner and Fireworks. The winery, restaurant and historic sightseeing advice was right on target for us. We meet other fantastic travelers at the B&B, it seemed like everyone was having a great time. The newly renovated James Madison Suite was spacious, beautiful and comfortable. I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone wanting to visit the many historical sites and wineries in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rav4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elbridge, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Our stay at Holladay house could not have been more wonderful. Our host and hostess were charming and knowledgeable. Sam's breakfasts were great and Sharon's cookies wonderful! It really became a home away from home for us during our 3 night stay. We plan on returning again next year.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thatslife1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudoun County, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

My wife and I just celebrated our 5 yr anniversary with a 2 night stay at the Holladay House. We used this B&B as our launching point for visiting various attractions in the area, such as Montpelier, Charlottesville, UVA, Barboursville Winery, etc. The hosts were great and made us feel "at home". Breakfast on both days was awesome and really hit the spot. The first day's breakfast had us eating a small ramekin of blueberries, topped with oats and brown sugar, followed by a mixed veggie/sausage egg frittata with home fries and local coffee. The second day's breakfast included a plate of thinly sliced granny smith apple's topped dried cherries and a drizzle of honey lemon vinaigrette, followed by french toast (with your choice of toppings, including banana, strawberries, pecans and chocolate chips!) and crispy bacon. Hungry yet? The room was adequate, bathroom included albeit a tad tiny, but hey...it's a 200 year old house...what do you expect!? Overall a great B&B..highly recommended. Free wifi included, too!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thepsulion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The Holladay House epitomizes what a bed & breakfast should be. The house itself is charming and historic, well decorated, and yet contains the modern comforts and conveniences that you expect. We stayed in Room 2, which is listed on the website as the "Victorian Suite," but which will shortly be renamed the "John Madison" suite. The room is no longer pink, but very tastefully decorated in more subdued colors. The suite consists of 2 rooms: a very large bedroom; and a cozy sitting room with chair, sofa, and dvd/television. The attached bathroom contains a modern toilet, pedestal sink, and shower/tub.

The house is located in the historic area of Orange, a half-block from a nice restaurant, Elmwood at Sparks where we enjoyed dinner one night. It is located about 4-5 miles from Montpelier, James Madison's newly restored house--an extraordinary restoration and a must-see if you have any interest in history or architecture. We also toured several nearby wineries. Our hosts provided free passes for Keswick and Barboursville. Horton is free for anyone, so we enjoyed 3 free tastings! The second night, we ate at Foti's in Culpeper. We were fortunate that they were having a 5-course wine dinner that night--it was incredible.

What really makes Holladay House special, though, are its hosts Sharon & Sam. Sharon is an amazing chef, and they are both extremely helpful and gracious. It was a perfect place for my wife & me to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We were recently in VA for vacation and was unable to leave on Friday morning and needed a place for that night. The Holiday Inn was booked and boy am I glad they were. We were referred to the Holladay House! We felt like we spent a night in a museum - if those walls could talk! Sharon & Sam were the perfect hosts. While leaving the following morning, returning the key to Sharon I told her that we hadn't even locked the door for the night! That's how much at home we were. Thanks again for making our last night in VA a wonderful way to end the week!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnhen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Holladay House was the perfect choice for our wedding. We wanted something simple and private. We could not have chosen a more perfect location. The innkeepers, Sam and Sharon were wonderful hosts. They took care of everything. The flowers were beautiful, the cake was delicious and the dinner was indescribable.
We are already thinking about coming back for our one year anniversary. Thank you for making "our day" so special. It was everything we hoped for.

Mickey and Kirt Chappelle

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nurs1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
22.5 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing