We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mont Vernon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Of the four B&B's we stayed at during our trip, the breakfast at the Holladay House was by far the best. Hosts were friendly, helpful and room was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NHSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
244
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

My wife and I traveled to Holladay House for a late August weekend to celebrate her birthday. Our hosts Sharon and Sam were wonderful and helped make this weekend very special for us. They have an instinctive knack for knowing exactly how much interaction guests desire and are happy to sit for conversations or retire with bright smiles depending on a guest's mood.

Sharon greeted us on our arrival and gave us each cookies during our tour. She then showed us to our room, insisting on taking our luggage down for us. She then offered to help us make dinner reservations. Sharon gave a stunningly accurate description of the restaurant we chose, right down to the amount of time dinner would take.

We stayed in the Garden Suite, which was very pretty. It has a wonderful side patio, perfect for a book and morning coffee. The room comes equipped with a large whirpool spa tub and a pair of extremely comfortable robes. It was perfect for a romantic getaway.

The breakfasts are delightful. They can be leisurely or quick depending on the needs of a guest. My wife and I relaxed during our breakfast on Saturday, choosing to spend more than an hour eating and enjoying coffee before taking a walk to the farmer's market (which has very tasty fruit and vegetables, including incredible heirloom tomatoes). On Sunday, we were in a bit of a rush. Sam and Sharon were able to accommodate our schedule, getting us fed and out the door within 15 minutes. The food was excellent. We had a crustless quiche on Saturday and to-die-for french toast on Sunday. The coffee, which is roasted at a local store nearby, was delicious. I am usually a one-cup-a-day guy, but had three before I called it quits. They were also happy to accommodate my wife's food restrictions, serving veggie sausage instead of bacon on request.

All in all, we could not have been happier. Sharon and Sam were wonderful hosts and helped make our weekend amazing. We look forward to visiting them again!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jdldore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2009

My bf surprised me by taking me here for my birthday last weekend. We arrived and were greeted by Jim (Sharon's "helper" since Sam was out of town). Jim gave us the tour and then took us up to our room, the Blue Room. The room was really spacious and so pretty! I loved the decorating and how luxurious it all felt! The bed was nice and fluffy!

Breakfast the next morning was awesome! We had a fresh peach and yogurt cup to start. I got coffee. My bf doesn't drink coffee, so they offered him hot chocolate, which he enjoyed. Breakfast was a sweet cheese crepe with a homemade 3 berry compote, along with 2 sausage patties and some fresh kiwi. It was so delicious!

I truly enjoyed my short stay at the Holladay House and appreciated the level of attention and hospitality that we received! I felt that they went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel comfortable.

They also gave us passes to go to Barboursville, which was about 20 minutes away. Fantastic winery! Also nearby, Montpelier.

I would definitely recommend this B&B! thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimthien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TKbecker
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Best Weekend of my life. Called them at 11:37pm on Thursday night and they set up a wedding for Sunday. Nicest people I have ever meet. We stayed in the Garden Room it was beautiful, whirlpool tub for two was very romantic. They took care of everything. They even made reservations for us. I would love to move in and stay forever. Fresh cookies 24 hours a day, and wonderful breakfast. Must stay for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TKbecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We used the Holladay house as a meeting point for my family and in-laws to get together from various parts of Virginia. We started our stay with a ladies tea, which was wonderful. The scones were heavenly, and Sharon was ever a gracious hostess. The next morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast (in the words of my five-year-old son, "This is the best french toast EVER!"). Sharon was very accommodating to our vegetarianism, making soy sausage for the vegetarian half of our party and bacon for the other half. The house and the rooms were beautiful, very charming. Everyone had a wonderful time, and we will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jag7v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We visited the Holladay House as a sspecial birthday celebration for my wife. Sharon and Sam were wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. Breakfasts were delicious and memorable and Sharon made reservations for us at a great restaurant for my wife's birthday dinner.
We will definitely stay here again and recommend it highly..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BMA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We felt so comfortable with the Innkeepers Sam and Sharon, that it felt like we spent the weekend with old friends. All of the food was delicious, we enjoyed the First Annual Hops and Chops 4th of July dinner and Fireworks. The winery, restaurant and historic sightseeing advice was right on target for us. We meet other fantastic travelers at the B&B, it seemed like everyone was having a great time. The newly renovated James Madison Suite was spacious, beautiful and comfortable. I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone wanting to visit the many historical sites and wineries in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rav4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
316 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing