We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, excellent food and top notch service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This is a comfortable, pleasant B & B with excellent food and fantastic service. The breakfasts were superb: excellent variety, thoughtful preparation, excellent inclusion of local produce and overall fantastic quality. Sharon (the innkeeper) is extraordinarily helpful and willing to provide individual service to all the guests. The inn has a great location, close to James Madison's Montpelier and at the heart of Virginia wine and horse country.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FryitzLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2010

A delightful experience. We were four people staying in the Ivy Suite - a cozy, spacious suite with slightly low ceilings which only add to the coziness. The breakfast was delicious, and most importantly, Sharon was an amazing host! Very friendly and warm environment.
There are a lot of good DVDs to choose from in the living room as well! We hope to return again soon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwislush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We just recently stayed at the Holladay House Bed and Breakfast in Orange, VA. My boyfriend, our dog, and I wanted to spend some time away from the city and visiting the local wineries. The Holladay House was more than we could have expected. They arranged for us to have in-room massages when we arrived which were very well needed at the end of the week. The room was very spacious for us three and on the ground level which was perfect to get in and out with the dog. They even had a welcome package for our dog which was so nice. The breakfast that was prepared both mornings was fabulous! We were extremely impressed with the Holladay House and hope to plan a trip back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank agreco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay in this historic home. The owners were so kind and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay wonderful. The breakfast was a delight, and the evening tray of Chocolate Chip Cookies was a favorite with the kids. The house had internet computer available for guest...which was most helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donettec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Well-located, excellent service, good value - what else can you ask for? The rooms were spacious and clean, and my girlfriend and I loved the historical setting of an 1820s Federal style house. Breakfast is delicious and Sam and Sharon are great hosts. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Blue Room over Memorial Weekend. We were in Virginia on family business and hoped to spend some time together before the arrival of our first child. We found the Holladay House to be a lovely place to return to after our busy days in the countryside. We enjoyed retiring to our immaculate and thoughtfully appointed room and waking up to a delicious breakfast that both mornings included locally grown/produced ingredients. The innkeeper's sunny demeanor and the reasonable room rate were icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

The Holladay House was a great romantic excursion for my wife and I. We traveled to central Virginia to visit the wineries, and rather than do it in one day, stayed overnight in the Ivy Suite. Sharon was wonderful and guided us to the perfect place for dinner. She's also an excellent cook - breakfast was divine and the chocolate chip cookies were to die for.

The suite is a nice mix of modern amenities (50" plasma TV) and old-fashioned decorations. The suite was very private and quiet. The bed was very comfortable for both of us, despite the fact we rarely agree on bed comfort. The sitting room is perfect for relaxing with a movie or TV. And the bathroom is incredible - the whirlpool has to be seen to be believed.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying at the Holladay House if you are visiting wineries or historical sites in central Virginia. We certainly would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigeyedfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn on Poplar Hill
Inn on Poplar Hill
#6 of 8 in Orange
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#4 of 8 in Orange
321 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 155 W Main St, Orange, VA 22960-1528
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range: £125 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Federal-style inn (1830) situated in the heart of historic downtown Orange. Within walking distance of restaurants, art galleries and shops. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 rooms/suites offer fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, private porches, and free WiFi. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Full made-from-scratch breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing