We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 8 Orange B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2007

We cannot say enough great things about the Holladay House. Sam and Sharon are excellent hosts: friendly, diligent, and accommodating. We went there for my wife's birthday, and I ordered a bouquet for our room; the flowers were beautiful (and lasted for quite a while, too). The breakfasts they served were delicious; they also gave excellent recommendations for eating options in Orange, and suggested some great places to visit (including Montpellier, which they helped us get discount tickets for as well). If you want to visit the region, the Holladay House is an excellent option.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SamRayburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
242
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

Excellent stay provided by excellent innkeepers. We felt that we were special friends coming home to wonderful hospitality in a clean, accommodating environment. We highly recommend a stay and will definitely return!

  • Liked — Hospitality of the innkeepers and breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luv2travelVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2007

We were looking for an out of the way place to stay for Memorial Day that was not far from Charlottsville, Culpepper, and Skyline Drive. The Holladay House was a great alternative to staying at a typical hotel or lesser B&B. The House was built in 1830, but our suite and the entire place were still in great shape. The decor was authentic and very nicely done -a real step back in time. Our hosts were very friendly and accommodating - with plenty of good advice. The food and treats were great too. We discovered more to do than we could possibly accomplish in three days and plan to return many times to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of the Orange area and the Holladay House in particular.

  • Liked — Curb appeal and decor
  • Disliked — Back entrance
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank SkylineHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishersville, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2007

My husband and I wanted to get away for our 12 year wedding anniversary, but we wanted something affordable and also not too far away from our home in Fishersville, VA. My husband searched for a "romantic getaway" and the Holladay House Bed and Breakfast popped up. It is about an hour and a half from our home and wasn't too pricey. We stayed in the Garden room and it was very roomy, comfortable, and most importantly clean. Our hostess, Sharon made sure we had everything we needed and then gave us our privacy. We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and we were unsure what to expect, but it was a very enjoyable experience and also made for a memorable anniversary.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Had to travel 45 minutes for a variety of restuarants
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank CHMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2007

I had read about this place in the Washington Post and was interested in it because it was just a short drive from the city (approximately 1.5 hrs), affordable, and sounded beautiful. It was one of the most hospitable places we stayed in. We took the little green room, which was very cozy and charming. (The innkeeper told us that it is also one of the most comfortable beds in the place.) There were always delicious cookies, tea, books, games, and the inkeepers were always nearby to talk about the area, including making dinner reservations for us. Breakfast at Holladay House is also amazing. We definitely hope to go back sometime!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank mandapanda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2006

My boyfriend and I decided to take a last-minute weekend getaway over Labor Day weekend with the main purpose of going to Monticello and Virginia vineyards. We stumbled upon the Holladay House online, in searching for a place to stay.

What a fabulous find! To begin, Judy, the owner, is magnificent. She is very attentive yet is aware of giving you privacy. She is a gracious hostess and an amazing cook!

The room we stayed in was even more beautiful then how it looked online--very cozy and romantic. Judy leaves in the room each day, fresh home-made cookies which are some of the most delicious cookies I have ever tasted.

Each evening, Judy puts out local wine and cheeses for the guests to enjoy and it simply adds to the coziness and classiness of the place.

I can not say enough about the breakfast!!! It was DELICIOUS! The food was classic yet with a unique twist. As I said before, she is an amazing cook.

This was my first bed and breakfast experience and it surpassed my expectations of what a romantic weekend away should be. We have already told our friends to visit Judy and the Holladay House and we will certainly be returning.

  • Liked — The room and the owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit ASAP
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DCAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Orange
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange
22.5 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#19 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chestnut Hill Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.8 mi away
Mayhurst Inn
Mayhurst Inn
#5 of 8 in Orange
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holladay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holladay House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holladay House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 155 West Main Street, Orange, VA 22960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Orange
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holladay House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Orange, this stately Federal-style home (c.A. 1830) Is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Free guided walking tours of the town are available. Only 3 miles from James Madison's Montpelier, and 30 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello. Wineries and Civil War Battlefields are also nearby. 6 Guest rooms offer fireplaces, double-sized whirlpool tubs, private porches, and full suites. Enjoy made-from-scratch cookies, VA wine and craft beer on our side porch, or curl up in front of the original marble fireplace in our parlor. Free WIFI is accessible throughout the house. Full made-from-scratch gourmet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holladay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing