We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True stuff that memories are made of!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“True stuff that memories are made of!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in an amazing lodge that had spectacular views over the valley beyond. ...the kind that you have to pinch yourself to make sure you are still alive send not dreaming!!

Although we expected to go out and about we all found it so relaxing we only moved to have meals or go to the spa.

Our children befriended a kookaburra who spend his entire life on our balcony and we enjoyed watching the joeys who played at the side of the hot tub in the evenings.

The spa treatments on site were the best I have ever had as the location is perfect for a de stress.
If we did not live so far away I would be back every year!

This truly is a special place on earth.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you have mobility problems and like to Spa then you may be best asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Homeinthesun
You make us truly humble and we hope you can visit us again one day for this unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    80
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
59
150
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great location, good concept beautiful views. Lazy manager, lied about room availability before 2pm. Room was vacant. Cleaners did not clean. Dirt and pebbles in the living room. Mould in the shower, various light bulbs broken, dirty fridge and sticky spill in the kitchen broken kitchen rubbish bin. Rooms are not serviced each day. Restaurant was adequate. $350 a night. Hilton in the city was cheaper and better by far.

Room Tip: Do not pay in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear XY
To quote a sporting analogy "every win you have means the closer you are to a loss" this is the first negative review we have had in a long time, the team is disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and all I plead is if you find any problems anywhere even the Hilton let the staff know so the problem can be addressed. We hope you find a wilderness resort that meets your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our three day stay at Eaglereach exceeded all expectations we could have set.

We stayed in the "Silkwood" lodge and it was completely private, set aback from the whole world. Our only view was of wildlife, sunsets and gorgeous valleys of the Hunter region.

The accommodation, facilities and abundance of adorable kangaroos gave us everything we could have hoped for in a vacation, and more.

A must for any couple wanting a romantic getaway!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Candice E
On behalf of the Eaglereach team we are so proud you enjoyed your three day stay in our resort. Yes the wildlife and the sunsets are spectacular next time you are in this area we would be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My fiancé and I received a gift voucher for a two night spa getaway at Eaglereach as an engagement present. The resort has many privately located lodge/cabins spread out across the large property. We stayed in the Silkwood which featured views to the west, an outdoor spa, two bedrooms, bathroom and self-contained kitchen. On arrival we were treated to a glass of sparkling as well as an extra bottle and box of chocolates for later. The one hour massages were divine. We ate at the bistro both nights with the food being quite good and the chef very friendly. The hot buffet breakfast also hit the spot. There are plenty of bush tracks to be walked and an abundance of wildlife to be found.

Eaglereach was great for a romantic getaway but I imagine it would also be good for families wanting the bush holiday experience without the need to "rough it" camping in tents.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Hi Kate C
So delighted you and your fiance^ received a gift voucher to stay in our magic resort and it sounds like you took advantage of the many resort exclusives from the day spa to the bistro and starting with the sparkling white wine welcome yes Silkwood spa lodge is so private and that view across the valley is sensational especially from the spa under the stars. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the privately owned Bilyarra Lodge, set within the EagleReach Wilderness Resort. As a private lodge it wasn't booked through the resort, but we had use of all facilities.

The lodge was set in private grounds secluded from other cabins. It is 2 bedrooms (one Queen, one King), each en suite. Good hot water and pressure in the showers. The water is rain/spring, so a large dispenser of water is supplied.

The cabin does not have the views that the ones facing the Moonabung valley from Mount George have, but it is very peaceful and visited by wallabies and many native birds.

There is a Jacuzzi in a pagoda on the lawn and the whole cabin is well appointed, best suiting two couples. The owners leave a nice selection of sparkling wine, cheese, milk, bread, etc as a welcome pack. There is a fire with wood supplied and a small outdoor BBQ. We found the BBQ struggled to get to a high temperature and the draw on the fire wasn't great.

There are bathroom towels and beach towels for use in the Jacuzzi. There is also a washer and a dryer, with washing powder supplied.

We choose to bring our own supplies and eat in. We didn't find the welcome at the resort centre very welcoming (in fact the lady at reception was rude, dismissive and unhelpful) - it was not busy and seemed run down.

We were charged $3 for a map of the resort walking tracks - the walks are well worth doing - we did the Moonabung trail which is tricky in places but great views and superb grass tree forest. It took about 2 hours. We also did the rainforest walking trail which completely different and also good to do. Within the grounds there are other walking trails to various lakes/ponds, some very steep. There a 4WD tracks which we did in our Range Rover - it made it easily but we were rather terrified of getting stuck in places - not to be attempted in the wet or in anything other than a full 4WD with raised chasse. It was also worth driving to the look out for the views over the valley.

As well as the wallabies and wollaroos around our cabin we saw kangaroos, including one very very large and threatening male, and an echidna. We didn't see any possums. Lots of birds and soaring eagles. We were also very lucky to see a platypus in a creek near the resort (over a wooden bridge).

One afternoon we drove to the nearby Camyr Allyn winery and bought some nice wines and oils - about 30 mins each way from the resort.

These lodges are in the wild, so do arrive and leave in daylight.

Two days was a good break.

Room Tip: There about 30 cabins in Eagle Reach, some part of the resort, some private - some have large plots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Gerbilsontour I am glad you enjoyed the nature walks and native animals yes you chose to stay in a private unhosted holiday home located here in the resort we built . The benefits guests receive when they stay in Eaglereach Wilderness Resort includes country breakfast daily, on site management and staff offering 24/7 service , a sparkling white wine welcome at our newly renovated reception centre and licensed bistro with the superb Observatory Deck with views to the Pacific East Coast ,Visitor information and booking service, DVD and paperback library, internet kiosk, even a free newspaper plus All sporting equipment from mountain bikes to kayaks. All the above is free. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you here next time you are in the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Saw all the great reviews and was sold. Spent two nights in an idyllic cabin - Silkwood. Get there before nightfall because the resort is really in the middle of nowhere and crawling with kangaroos and wallabies that you can feed by hand - at least those that stick close to the main lodge. We would have liked our stay more had we not both been sick! Other than that, Eaglereach is a gem. Unfortunately, however, on the first evening, driving back to our cabin, we got lost because of the pea soup thick fog! Ended up on a log that ripped a piece of the chassis off our rental car! They really should put some lights along the road - it was hairy! Even reflectors would do! We were also dismayed there was no wifi! They really should give you the password. It's not expensive! Other than that, it's a great place to stay if you like wilderness resorts!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Ateach52
Thank you for making the effort to write a review and so glad you enjoyed Silkwood spa lodge it certainly is set in a unique location. We know you were both ill on arrival and that is such a shame when you are on holidays it has happened to us too its a downer. Hope you are feeling better now. Yes there was a wild storm later in the night sorry you got caught up in it and we will certainly see if we can add more reflectors but as you would see in the day light there is a lot of reflectors on both sides of the entrance road. I am glad the Reception team showed you the free internet kiosk. Enjoy the rest of your stay in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in a three bedroom house looking back towards the coast. You could see the lights of Newcastle and Maitland at night. In the mornings the valley was covered in mist and cloud with green hiils framing the gray mist - quite beautiful.

The three bedroom was spacious and had all that was required including a spa which was clean but probably not at 32 degrees as shown, and a sauna (not working). Plenty of outdoor space to enjoy the views. .

There was an abundance of wildlife around the resort including kangaroos, wallabies, birds and lizards.. Ideal place to take overseas visitors to experience Australian Bush in a comfortable style.

We arrived at sunset due to heavy traffic in Sydney. and the drive from Vacy to the resort was difficult with the Sun glare hiding some twists and bends, so try to arrive earlier if its your first time driving there. The drive from Maitland to Vacy was enjoyable with really lush hills and bush..

The Bistro served a decent dinner given some guests were quite late and breakfast was cold and hot buffet and sufficient. .Dining is not five star but for the location, the food was quite reasonable and you wont go hungry..

We had a good bush walk from the Lagoon to the Rock Pools. The Lagoon is a very pretty and peaceful area..

Generally, I love the ocean and being on the coast but this was a nice visit inland and would be a very peaceful retreat.
.

Room Tip: The larger three bedroom houses appear to be newer. Views are good on either side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalneighbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, General Manager at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Globalneighbour
"Far from it all" indeed yes it is another world yet so close and we do love to see how guests be they domestic or international get so much enjoyment from the location and all the natural attractions including the native wildlife. Guests can choose lodges from one to six bedrooms to suit their needs and as you said the views are spectacular either to the pacific coast or to the Barrington Tops. Yes there is a wide range of self guided nature walks from mountain top to rain forest and all are well signed with information boards to make the experience more enjoyable. Glad you enjoyed the bistro both dinner and breakfast which is included in the tariff the chef receives constant compliments for the quality of the food made mainly from fresh local produce. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vacy
17.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
861 reviews
21.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
17.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
19.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
20.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaglereach Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglereach Wilderness Resort

Property: Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Address: Summer hill Rd, Vacy, New South Wales 2421, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Vacy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eaglereach Wilderness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning mountaintop paradise alive with native animals in their natural habitat. Accommodation in s/c lodges 1-6 bedrooms and resort rooms 4 to 4.5 star. Bistro and bar offering casual to a la carte dining, day spa and eco systems from mountaintop to rain forest, all non-motorized activities and equipment free including mountain bikes, self-guided nature walks, kayaks, internet kiosk, DVD library.New Corroboree Meeting Place for conferences functions and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eaglereach Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaglereach Wilderness Hotel Vacy
Hotel Eaglereach Wilderness
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort Australia/Vacy - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing