We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2006

what a fantastic place the food was great the lodges were 10 out of 10 they were great the staff could not do enufe to help u nothing was a problem the views r great u realy need to go and see for ur self its a lovely drive up the mountain it is all secured so no one can get into the resort u can just relax and feel so at home it was a great experience u see evry thing in it s natural enviroment what a place thanks eaglreach we will be back for sure and we will bring friends thats how good it was :)

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missymooau2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 280 of 280 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Manly, NSW
15
Reviewed 10 March 2006

I stayed at Eaglereach in Sept 2005 and LOVED IT !!! My partner and I stayed in a two bedroom spa lodge called THE GALLERY - OH MY !!! The views, the roos, the space, the outdoor spa !! the list goes on.... I nearly cried just because of the view it was amazing. I have lived in Sydney all my life and had always heard about this property but never had the chance to go. Finally I went and I tell you that I intend to go back again and again and again....

I have read the other reviews that say "In the middle of Nowhere" - Isnt that the entire reason you would go? No phones to ring, no traffic, no hustle bustle and your on top of a mountain listening to the cows in the valley below. To me thats a holiday, a break away or a romantic weekend for two.

We BBQ'd and had a spa on the verandah, put the stereo on and had an absolute ball. I would recommend this place for a girls weekend away and I intend to the do that for my belated 30th.

Eaglereach is the most phenomenal place I have ever been to. Looking out over the Barrington tops with 180 degree views having breakfast with the wild kangaroos on your own porch was a dream come true. Thanks Eaglereach and see you very soon :-)

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2006

We went here to celebrate our first anniversary, based on the belief that it would be a relaxing, romantic retreat. What we found was anything but romantic.
Upon entering our cabin for the first time we found a large Huntsman spider in the shower and numerous spiderwebs around the cabin. There were large amounts of ants swarming around, as well as moths and other unidentifiable spiders in the cabin. Our room looked as though it hadn't been cleaned, and there was a coating of dust over everything.
After our first night we discovered that one of our exterior doors had no working lock so that anyone could enter at any time. There was no water pressure whatsoever, and the food was extremely high priced for the amount you received.
The only positive aspect of the weekend were the kangaroos and wallabies everywhere. We would not recommend this to our family or our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonbung, Chief Executive at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2008

We are very sorry these guests were disappointed with their accommodation yes we do make mistakes occasionally and will respond immediately at the time by providing alternative accommodation or fixing the problem . Regarding their comment about dining the cabins and lodges are self catering however there is a range of food options on site from a la carte in the award winning restaurant to BBQ packs picnic hampers and pizzas.
Sincerely
Paul Miley
Chief Executive
pmiley@eaglereach.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2005

We stayed in the Jindalee complex of the Eaglereach resort for 3 nights with the intention of doing a wine tour in the Hunter Valley as well some sightseeing around the region. First thing to know about this resort is that it is a good 20+ minutes drive up a large mountain away from the nearest small village of Vacy and a good hour’s drive away from the main wine area.

When we tried to book a wine tour the best we could get was a pickup in Vacy, despite Eaglereach telling us that wine tours could be organized from the resort. Not true. This left us with the problem of getting up and down the mountain and when we asked reception for help, they said they would sort it. A few hours later we discovered they had cancelled our tour and asked one of the staff to drive us to a local winery instead!

The resort restaurant was expensive and choice limited. Breakfast food is mediocre. On the positive side, the area is beautiful and has amazing wildlife – roos galore

Horse riding was a farce with the horses bolting and breaking a bridle, but the guided bush walk was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Louise32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunterCooee, Founder/ Chief Executive at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2008

Daily our guests take advantage of all day wine tours to the lower Hunter which costs $50 pp for the whole day. These leave the Resort at 9 am and return at 5 pm. In addition the nearest vineyards are at East Gresford a 20- 30 minute drive away where wine growing started in the Hunter in 1820 before the famous Dr Linderman arrived in 1840.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
831
Reviewed 22 April 2005

We spent 4 days here. There is not much to do here especially during winter when we were there. The Hunter Valley is a fair distance and the nearest small village is about 15 min drive. We had to pay the entire stay upfront as well. There is a fireplace in the cottage, but you have to buy the wood from reception. Maybe that has changed. I just generally felt ripped off because the world class rates they charged didn't match what we got.

  • Stayed: July 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merea, DIrector at Eaglereach Wilderness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2008

We are most dissappointent that there seems to have been a misunderstanding with these guests. Since the opening of the Resort there has never been a charge for firewood. We stack dry choped fire wood at each lodge before the guests arrive and also leave beside the fire place a brown paper bag full of kindling, fire starters, matches and news papers, we even leave attached full instructions of lighting the fire. This bag is for the duration of the stay, however if the guests want more fire starting bags there is a small charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: jedes Cottage ist schön
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vacy
18.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
17.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
21.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pindari House
Pindari House
#1 of 1 in Lochinvar
20 reviews
17.2 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaglereach Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglereach Wilderness Resort

Address: Summer hill Rd, Vacy, New South Wales 2421, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Vacy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vacy
Price Range: £80 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eaglereach Wilderness Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning mountaintop paradise alive with native animals in their natural habitat. Accommodation in s/c lodges 1-6 bedrooms and resort rooms 4 to 4.5 star. Bistro and bar offering casual to a la carte dining, day spa and eco systems from mountaintop to rain forest, all non-motorized activities and equipment free including mountain bikes, self-guided nature walks, kayaks, internet kiosk, DVD library.New Corroboree Meeting Place for conferences functions and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eaglereach Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eaglereach Wilderness Hotel Vacy
Hotel Eaglereach Wilderness
Eaglereach Wilderness Resort Australia/Vacy - Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing