We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobourg Coastal Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cobourg Coastal Camp
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Top End really sells itself, but this Venture North crew turns it into something quite amazing. Finding a balance between roughing it in a camp and making it too smooth and streamlined is an art, and they've done it. Sitting out on the cliff top, watching the sun go down; eating by candlelight in the open dining shelter, finding your way back to your tent by solar-lighted pathways - you're definitely in the bush!! But soaking up the expertise of the guide who knows EVERYTHING about the wildlife, the indigenous customs, the calendar cycles (thanks Dave!!) then having him serve up great meals back at the Coastal Camp - that is not roughing it. It is making it a total, valuable, and precious experience. Great work, Dave, Hugh and Heather. Noelle

Room Tip: Yes, there were normal single bed-sized beds in the tents, and comfortable and easy to use (day temp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

All the reviews for this trip are correct! Highly recommended! We all need to see this part of Australia.A 4WD tour with 6 passengers with a young guide who is passionate about the area and all it has to offer. The Aboriginal cultural experience was interesting and the local guide shared stories of his land and people, explaining the meanings of the rock art we saw. The Coburg camp is positioned on a cliff and has amazing views across Port Essington and amazing sunsets. The tents all face the sea and the outdoor showers and toilets are different. The meals were sensational, cooked by our chef, Dave - he even caught mud crabs for us. The launch trip to Victoria Settlement was wonderful and 4WD exploring was very interesting. Everything about the trip was interesting - going into Arnhem land is a special experience.

Room Tip: Tent accomodation well catered for everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This trip was fabulous - 7 days travelling through Litchfield, Kakadu and Arnhem Land to the Venture North camp set up on the Cobourg Penninsular. The tour catered for all, with swimming in beautiful swimming holes with waterfalls, hikes, and cultural tours with local guides - good mix of activities. The camp, set on the top of amazingly colourful cliffs overlooking the bay, was exceptionally comfortable with great facilities and ammenaties and food to die for! The varied activities organised from the camp included historical and bush tucker walks, great fishing or just time out watching the stunning sunsets in this unique beautiful setting.
The organisation was faultless, the guides great fun and caring and did I mention the food! Possibly an annual destress date for us!
SS Australia

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We set out on 7night charter tour as a group of 12 friends in 2 4WD's with our guides Hugh and John.These 2 fine young men are passionate and knowledgeable about the Top End their enthusiasm contagious. The trip was fun and entertaining, and the long drive was broken up with lots of stops.The camping on the way was lots of fun sleeping in a swag under a mosquito net, (a first for me)with a view of the star filled sky a treat. I was delighted when I opened my swag to find hot pink sheets!!
We swam in the most spectacular rock pools with views to die for. The food on our journey was incredible Hugh is such a gourmet cook and particularly impressive as it was prepared on the camp fire and the table set with table cloths and wine glasses. Arriving at the Cobourg CoastaL Camp was a lovely surprise. It is a luxury camp, the raked paths made us feel like we were the first people ever to stay there!!! the solar path lights gave the camp a luxury feel at night The tents with beds were very comfortable and the view, spectacular! I loved the sunset bar, very appropriately named !! The adventure kept going. We went looking for crabs and mud mussels in the mangroves with Cynthia an aboriginal guide. We went fishing with Hugh and I was screaming with delight when I caught a 7.5kg fish!! We collected oysters from the rocks and OMG were those oyster shooters delicious! Even though we were so remote, with the crocodile visiting the beach at night, and sharks visible in the water, I felt incredibly safe with our guides Hugh and John. This camping adventure will suit the most experienced or the novice camper.be reassured the rustic bathrooms were very stylish and comfortable, and there are NO smelly toilets!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mccpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

My family and I did the 4 day Cobourg Peninsula tour. I have to say that it was one of our most memorable holidays. Hugh and Denis looked after us extremely well. The camp is well situated to take advantage of the magnificent views across Port Essington. You just have to look along the shoreline to see an amazing amount of marine-life activity. Thanks to Hugh, I caught the biggest fish of my life. Even our 2 technology addicted teenage daughters enjoyed the unique experience so much that they want to come on a return visit. We will certainly be back, and will be bringing friends with us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOBrien1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I went out on tour with Venture North for 5 days of complete escape and relaxation. Their 5 day tour takes in Kakadu National Park, Arnhemland and the beautiful coast of the Cobourg Pennisula. This is an amazing mix of wildlife, nature, culture and coastline of the Top End of Australia, was a truely exclusive experience. The camp itself is a complete getaway from everything, completely hosted and is very comfortable. When we returned from our days touring we were met with one of the most amazing sunsets I have ever seen, gourmet nibbles and a glass of champagne followed by a dinner to match any expectation. Tented accommodation was very comfortable and waking to the sounds of the NT birds was just wonderful. I travelled on my own and there were 6 in our group. You can't beat small group touring! I made lots of great connections with the other guests and really enjoyed the experience. Thanks to Aaron, Hugh, Dave and the team - this was a life-time experience for me!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturelover64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This Venture North tour was Mag-bloody-nificent.
Took me to areas of Kakadu, and Arnhem Land, I had not previously visited. It was fun, educational and adventurous.
My tour had 6 people but we hooked up with another small personalised tour and travelled together. It worked well. People on the tour ranged from 2 to 66+ and there was something for everyone.
Guides were great – they came to their own on a couple of long days in cars when their knowledge made the time fly. Food was great. Activities from climbing escarpments to boat trips to abandoned settlements were excellent.
Great views from the cliff top tents and accommodation was well though out, clean and functional – but not silver service – the sort of site you dream about when you’re camping with the family. Outdoor loos and showers and the occasional croc slide on the beach at the bottom of the cliff reminded us we were in one of the most remote areas of Australia.Stars were so numerous and bright that they cast shadows. Debates around the campfire went too long into the night as our group bonded and just had fun.
Vince and Kelda were extremely knowledgeable, personable, and excellent raconteurs. They were willing to share their knowledge and always left you feeling good that you’d asked the question.
They took time to stop and discuss the wildlife, play with pythons, help with photography
Aaron in the office was a straight shooter from the word go. Hugh was excellent company in the middle of no where with a croc lurking not far away, the guide booked for the Corroboree Billabong tour on the Mary River was entertaining, informative and knowledgeable. He made what could have been an ordinary boat tour a delight.
Can’t speak highly enough about they quality of this tour and the quality of all the people I met associated with it.
From Whoa to Go and back again this tour and the people were well thought through and my sole regret is that it was over too soon.

Room Tip: It's tent accomodation and camping so keep luggage to the minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jjukes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cobourg Coastal Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobourg Coastal Camp

Property: Cobourg Coastal Camp
Address: Cobourg Road, Garig Gunak Barlu National Park, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venture North operates this exclusive safari-style camp on the red cliffs of the Cobourg Peninsula, overlooking the bay of Port Essington. This remote camp has most of the home comforts while still allowing guests to feel close to nature. Cobourg Coastal Camp is the perfect base to explore the Garig Gunak Barlu National Park as well as the NT’s only Marine Park. Wildlife, culture, history, fishing, pristine wilderness regions...it’s all here! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing