We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but worth discovering”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth discovering”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We found this newly reopened and under new management remote Eco lodge after much searching and just chancing upon it, conflicting info on the web site and difficult to track down availability and how to book, but we navigated all of eventually to discover the most beautiful location with beautifully updated chalets which were up to Peppers standards previously but had not been operating for some years. They don't have it all quite right yet but there is a lot they do have right! The staff are young welcoming and waited on us hand and foot always looking to do more, Leith outstanding on hospitality, John and Shannon who greeted us off the small plane , kept up the unobtrusive but constant care in our happiness and wellbeing. The small plane via direct air was good, and is the only acess making it quiet and exclusive. Phil our fishing guide made our day out in the boat on Saturday one we will remember all of our lives, we all caught fish, ten different types of fish, and a dozen mud crabs, and a professional guide who timed the day out to perfection and then drove us back to the resort. phil happily rebaited our lines for hours while we caught fingermarks, mangrove jacks, blue salmon, all terrific eating, with the excitement of hooking the odd shark!!Facilities are perfect and in excellent order, two queen beds gave such
a spacious sleeping zone, quiet with only bird noises we had the most amazing close up view of the idyllic bay. things they haven't got rig, their marketing effort and content doesn't do the place justice, althouggh the benefit is that we got a great deal that we are sure will increase over time. We hope they keep it affordable and open, we liked the lack of air con, fans are fine, at least in the dry. Beautiful remote resort, excellent place to get off the mobile and email treadmill, hope they never put a t.v in there. Restaurant limited but was fine, loved our weekend, will highly recommend to family and friends. Ignore the old reviews, very out of date, Adrienne and Richard

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriennejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    5
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

I think this reviewer went overboard. Clearly a disgruntled tourist. Check out our review in the other page. Yes, it is expensive. It may well be worth it depending upon your expectations. The food is great. The location is great. The guides are......as we explained....a weak link in the chain. But the management was pretty responsive to our needs. I'm not sure what FFCT's problem is but the place is pretty special but also pretty pricey. I recommend you look at the other page for Seven Spirit Bay in order to come to a better assessment of this property.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IDOUCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2008

Horrible! Worst place for the money I've ever stayed. We stayed 3 days in June; 2 units. Despite promises to the contrary, there was only one complimentary excursion the entire 3 days, and it was merely a walk on the beach with a "guide" who said nothing. We were only able to book one paid activity because the hotel was so short on guides, which is typical according to the staff. For $600 for a half-day excursion, we expected a lot more. The lodging consists of run-down cabins with bathroom units not attached. The food is good, but the kitchen is incredibly slow and inefficient (2 hours for breakfast, and 3 for dinner!). The staff is nice, but very young and seems to be inexperienced. Management is totally non-responsive. There is very little to do here with out guides, which are almost non-existent; 2 self-guided walks and the pool. The ocean is dangerous and not swimmable (crocs and sharks year round). One guide sums up the attitute of the hotel: he told me "people come here to just sit around the pool and relax, not to go on wildlife excursions." Most of the guests were equally upset at the inability to book fishing excursions, wildlife excursions, etc. The hotel also canceled previously bookd excursions. It costs at least $1,000 just for airfare from Darwin to the peninsula, so I doubt that most people come here to just sit by the pool (which is cold because it's covered by trees).
AVOID this place. This is my first time writing a review because I don't want others to be duped. We don't mind splurging for gorgeous, unique places and lodgings, but this is a complete waste of time and money.

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — Horribly overpriced, with almost no activities, and almost no guides; in mediocre accommodations, with poor service.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ffct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7sb, Owner at Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, 24 October 2010
Please note this posting was done in 2008 and those staff and manager involved are no longer at the resort, many changes have taken place from new aircon in the rooms to more things to do, Prices have been reduced and service improved. Peppers Hotel management group has been removed, so one can expect a better experience , like the other guests posts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
0.1 mi away
Darwin Central Hotel
Darwin Central Hotel
#1 of 37 in Darwin
1,871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argus Hotel Darwin
Argus Hotel Darwin
#12 of 37 in Darwin
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palms City Resort
Palms City Resort
#2 of 37 in Darwin
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Pandanas
Mantra Pandanas
#3 of 37 in Darwin
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on the Esplanade
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Darwin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge

Property: Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge
Address: | Gurig National Park, Garig Gunak Barlu National Park, Northern Territory 0822, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Garig Gunak Barlu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Spirit Bay Wilderness Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Spirit Bay is an iconic Northern Territory wilderness lodge and one of the very first luxury lodges in the outback. Built in 1990, the lodge is located on the western side of Port Essington in the Garig Gunak Barlu National Park on the Cobourg Peninsula. It is only accessible by boat from Black Point, or by air via the lodge's private airstrip at Vashon Head. Acquired by Outback Spirit in 2015, Seven Spirit Bay has received a new lease of life thanks to a $3.5 million redevelopment completed in April 2016. The original guest accommodation, known as 'habitats', have been completely transformed into ultra-luxurious rooms featuring architecturally designed ensuite bathrooms, beautiful furniture and a front balcony. Other improvements at the lodge include a new waste water treatment plant, new power generation system and a fully refurbished main lodge building. In addition to the lodge redevelopment, Seven Spirit Bay now features a fleet of expedition boats to explore the pristine waters of Port Essington and the Garig Gunak Barlu National Park. At a glance • Iconic NT lodge acquired by Outback Spirit in 2015. • $3.5 million redevelopment completed in April 2016 • Superb main lodge building with ocean views and palm fringed swimming pool • 12 Luxurious 'Habitats' featuring ensuite bathrooms • Exclusive to Outback Spirit guests • State-of-the-art fleet expedition boats • Commercial kitchen with in-house chef ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing