We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Campervan stay - hot!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bargara Beach Caravan Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bargara Beach Caravan Park
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Campervan stay - hot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

No qualms with the service at all, it was very hot when I was there and they let me shift sites to a more shadier powered site... I could choose which was awesome - and also it meant I could use the more modern toilet/shower block. Basic park, but loads to choose from. The slab sites in the middle though were very sunny, and if you dont want to "bake" in a campervan, then dont choose these ones!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    52
    40
    13
    17
See reviews for
77
64
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived just after turttle season ended which was disappointing. Kitchen is inappropriatly equipped with one working bad condition stove top, a fridge that was disconnect for the night and day afyer cleaning, only 2 bbqs for this enormous park. I think owners rely on the great location just across a small road form the beach, with beautiful parks and picnic areas, to supplement for their lacking services. There are alternative camp sites around - dont come here if you need the kitchen or like to take a shower after 7pm as we had no hot water twice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Sarit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bargara hotels

Buderim, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Loved every minute, staff were so friendly and accommodating. Great location and beautiful spot. Camping grounds and amenities where well kept and clean. Highly recommended for family holiday spot with beach, park and town close by, will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisarobbieWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from a 9 night stay at Bargara Caravan Park. Lovely spot, nice and shady areas, we were unpowered and had plenty of choice. Great location right across from the beach. The amenities were dated but we found them to be clean and plenty of showers and toilets, the code is a great idea - stops the general public from using them. The convenience store at reception was great for bread, milk and slushies. Such a shame about the staff and their willingness to assist us. We had an incident with a family member being king hit at a local establishment and he was hospitalized and transferred to Brisbane which meant his car was still on location. We requested if his vehicle could remain on site until further arrangements were made... We were told under no circumstances can they allow a vehicle to remain on site, even though we weren't taking up our 8m x 8m area, no compassion or even asking how our family member was, their priority was the vehicle to be moved off site. There was plenty of unused areas during our stay but apparently they were full to the brim... Used the laundry facilities which we had to wait 45 minutes before we even got to a machine and at $4 a pop, that's a bit steep especially because one machine was out of order.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Micky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woombye, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Having stayed at this park numerous times during the 80's and 90's, I looked forward to a week during the Xmas season with my wife and 5 year old daughter. The c/park hasn't changed much in 30 years with the amenities still the same, the beach and parkland the same and more trees than I remember.

What has changed is attitude and why wouldn't we be surprised when we learn that the park is owned by the local Council who like most councils, revel in ripping people off. It would seem that the leasee/management can match the council in this regard as well.

In an age where value seems hard to come by, Bargara Beach Caravan Park is right up there for greed. $5 for a bag of ice. (poor ice at that) $2.50 pint/500ml of milk $7.30 for 2 ice creams etc etc Lucky there's a shopping center close by. I wonder what do you charge for a bag of ice during off peak?

We understand that business operates on profits, but knocking everyone off with exorbitant camping fees during the festive season and double dipping us with ridiculously high charges at the shop/kiosk adds insult to injury. Be ashamed. Your thieves.

They open the non powered sites to hordes of people. Pay at the office and off you go. Here's a map. Find somewhere to park your van or pitch your tent....if you can! It was ridiculous. Ropes and tent pegs intertwining everywhere, dangerous trip hazards and tree roots abound. Try and sleep when those around you are 5 and 10 feet away snoring? OHS safety is non existent and perhaps the council might undertake a safety audit before they end up with a law suit. Perhaps management also might like to consider their clients before their profits, because the people I spoke to at the park were less than impressed with your overcharging and lack of concern. In fact, staff attitude was pretty ordinary throughout, which I can understand considering the amount of people they had to cater for during Xmas.

How about you don't overbook the place hey? You know families bring kids and kids have new bikes for Xmas. Someone's child will get killed there one Xmas and you will be sued for negligence if you continue packing us in like sardines in pursuit of the almighty dollar. I cannot tell you how many kids I saw have a bingle avoiding cars during the week I stayed.

Oh!.... as in a previous post. It would make sense to clean the amenities blocks outside peak hour 7am-8am and 6pm to 7pm. You know, kinda like when roadwork signs appear on major roads between 6 and 8am weekdays. It really pisses people off, literally.

We'll visit Coral Coast again for sure, but it wont be at this caravan park. Very, very ordinary management. I wished I'd have come at a different time of year. It would be quite lovely.

Room Tip: Don't bother buying anything from the camp kiosk unless you have money to throw away. Make the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Summo4559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

A brilliant camping spot with great access to the beach. The facilities were well maintained and always clean although shutting the amenities block from 730am till 830am is inconvenient at best. The on site store is handy and offers all you need in case of an emergency (milk, bread, gas etc). For all of the positives at the park it's just a shame the staff leave such a bad taste in your mouth. Unfriendly, uncompromising and exceedingly rude. If it was just myself who had issues with the staff I would write it off as a bad experience but time and time again we talked to campers who had run-ins with staff. Other than a staff that needs to look up the word hospitality Bargara beach caravan park is a nice little spot.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bertuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Great location, easy drive to Bundy, short walk to Main Street & cafés, easy beach access.......BUT amenities need to be bulldozed, filthy (even just after being cleaned), there was a horrid sewerage smell constantly and limited trees for shade (making our stay a HOT & smelly one.....) there was no escape from the heat, only the beach (good thing we enjoy the beach), the park has basic amenities and features but as I said great location.......we won't go back, there's got to be better around.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank FeeU68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bargara
1.8 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
0.5 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#4 of 5 in Bargara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
BIG4 Cane Village Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bargara Beach Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bargara Beach Caravan Park

Property: Bargara Beach Caravan Park
Address: 25 Fred Courtice Avenue | Nielson Park, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bargara Beach Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Bargara Beach along the Coral Coast this tropical holiday park is the perfect place offering everything you need and every accommodation option, for the perfect getaway. Bargara Beach Caravan Park has the best affordable beachside accommodation on offer in South East Queensland at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef. With cool ocean breezes and stunning views this is the ideal destination to relax and unwind. You can choose from 1 or 2 bedroom cabins or a number of powered and unpowered sites which offer shade or sun, grassed or concrete slabs and are suitable for all sized caravans, RV's and tents. Located only minutes from bustling cafes and restaurants, golf courses, fishing and surfing spots this holiday destination caters for every type of tourist. A few minutes drive is the world famous Mon Repos, the largest Loggerhead Turtle nesting site on Australia's east coast. The coastal fringe offers fantastic dive sites and access to Lady Elliot and Lady Musgrave islands where you can explore some of the world heritage listed Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bargara Beach Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bargara Beach Caravan Park Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing