We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“KACY'S MOTEL” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
YEPPOON QUEENSLAND
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“KACY'S MOTEL”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

W have stayed at Kacy's motel MANY times over the past 7 or so years, and have mixed experiences. Our most recent stay was getting towards the worst experience ever. The arrogance of the owners/management is creeping way up again. Unbelieveable, but true, KACY'S does not have access to WIN TV - the largest broadcaster in regional Australia. When I asked reception why, they said that the premises could not access WIN via digital TV. What a load of nonsense. Perhaps they should spend some of their profits and get someone to fix this problem. We had to go to the pub right next door to watch the State of Origin. We previously stayed there about 6 months ago and they had access to digital WIN then - so who knows what's happened since then. During that stay, we dined in the restaurant and ordered the pate platter (which included fruit & cheese). (We order that every time we dine there.) Guess what - no cheese. We queried the waitress who brought us some cheese and said that the chef "forgot" to put the cheese on. Many years ago, we wanted to take clients there and book a table for 14 - they told us that we would have to split into 2 tables because they couldn't serve 14 at a time - unbelievable for a restaurant of that class. Big improvements since then, but I think they are slipping into their bad habits again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMP_Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellysOwner, Owner at Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thanks for the review.
Glad you think we are a classy restaurant, as for TV, motels have systems that send signals to all the rooms via pay TV it’s free, they own it we pay them. Win is a local channel it’s not suitable to just please one person in one room for one channel. You say you have mixed experiences, how many do you think we have everyone is an expert and want everything done their way, we cater for the majority not a minority and it’s all about price, the main driving force behind any business is profit, you pay more you get more, and the budget is set by “you” not us, and it is after all Bargara in the middle of nowhere, put together by us with our hard won money, we don’t see anyone stepping up to the plate to build another Kacys other than hamburger joints.
You call us arrogant, you have no knowledge of Pan Cooking for 14 people all at once, we do things our way, not yours, everyone’s an expert, it’s less stressful to staff and we know what our kitchen and staff are capable of, Kacys has limitations that’s why we book people into time slots, all meals are pan cooked or oven baked, your just one of our many different food critics and experts that have never done the job and want to keep raising the bar higher with more demands. For a price we can do anything, pay more complain less.
And as for our bad habits are back which ones are they, do you mean dodging those that want our attention when we’re too busy to listen to petty complaints, we’re not arrogant, just busy.
And as for profits, by reading this you have never run a restaurant with all the penalty rates and costs associated with employing people, Bargara is very lucky to have a Kacys.
When we first built Kacys the vacant land was full of chickens old shabby houses and ferals, we gave Bargara a world class restaurant, that was about ten years ago, we gave locals jobs and trained staff did not exist, think back Bargara had a lot of talented people in small restaurants over the years, look around and how many do you see today, none, driven out, small town are famous for loosing talent they could ill afford to lose, how many have changed hands, and how many have gone broke and how many got sick of the complaining locals, if you think someone is going to come along and build another Kacys it will never ever happen to many problems, it does not stack up as a business in cost to profit ratio, and the competition is poker machines.
The Bundaberg area isn't exactly a hot bed of talent so we had to get staff from outside and house them at our expense and the result was to your benefit and a loss to us, and you want to talk about profits, at first we owned the hotel and turned that around from a place where fights were a regular occurrence and the food was bad into a pumping massive food outlet, highly successful, people were highly delighted, and we achieved all this with no monetary help from the expert food and hotel critics, they still complain about price but that’s Ok we understand they don’t understand.
But you know people they always want more and more for less and complain more about petty little things, demands from the small town whiners became too much, we got sick from the stress and sold we gave you first class, and you complained your way into what you have now so we retreated to Kacys and here we go again.
We took it from a back water to a popular holiday destination and giving a classy alternative from Bundaberg, they have very few restaurants due to the fact that no one wants to do the thankless job, it’s all too hard and far too expensive to set up, and with penalty pay rates uneconomical, Bundaberg Bargara now has mostly Pub and Club places with food subsidized by poker machine revenue, so please don’t talk about value and profits, and this poker machine money we have to compete with, funny how $100 dollars is no problem to put in a machine, yet all the work that goes into restaurant food is too expensive, and no complaining to a machine, strange values, consequently very few restaurants all the owner go broke or get out, and replaced by hamburger joints and coffee shops.

The chef forgot the bit of cheese on the pate’, Sorry about the bit of cheese but we do employ the Y and Me generation now, we will give them a written word of warning under the industrial relations and union’s laws, a warning letter saying you forgot the cheese, can't yell at them, might get sued.
Obviously the other meals were spot on and up to our usual magnificent best because no complaints there, I can see that if one little thing was wrong you would have mentioned it, pity something as trivial and petty as a TV and a bit of cheese upset you so much, are you kidding all this does is take away the desire for staff to perform at their best, too much stress and fear of picky little complaints.
We work under the famous suppressive Australian work place relations act, and the value experts never take into account the penalty pay rates, double and treble time, holiday loading, and of course the superannuation payments along with sick leave, holidays loadings, all costs that we the employers have to pay, and that all comes out of cooking meals, a mighty effort on our part don’t you think, plus other costs on top of that, and you tells us about value and profit and the long thankless hours we work, does it ever dawn on people that’s why there aren't enough staff in restaurants, AND WHY VERY FEW RESTAURANTS, and why bookings are knocked back when we do have lots of seats and why we don’t cook 14 meals at one time, so what profits were you talking about, the reality is we do it without poker machines to subsidize food like clubs and pubs, to make a profit the price needs to be doubled, and Kacys is sooo cheap.

Restaurants are famous for going broke, we have built a lot of highly successful food places they all went from nothing to heavy duty pumping, highly successful and from our knowledge not yours, but you want your say, there is always one problem the more you give the public the more they want, they learn a bit from us and now experts, remember you only ate hamburgers before we came, so we sold and moved on, look next door to Kacys we had that pumping and we left, we gave the local community something that never existed before, except for one tiny little restaurant run by a very dedicated woman who was destroyed by the local gossips and complainers club, sadly she took her own life because it all became too much, the stress from petty complaints in small towns are too hard to handle, and we are now in that same boat stressed out, she was a highly talented and hard worker a credit to this town now missed by us all, and like us a dedicated food person.
Sadly the public take everything for granted, they think they know but do not, and do not ever understand the amount of hard work, costs, or logistics involved, never done the job or paid a wage out of their own pocket but some think they are expert food and motel critics, this can grind you down because most haven't a clue as to what they are talking about, and most complaints are like this one, petty, thanks to the people that do appreciate what we do and all of our efforts, it’s not about money, no one pays enough and penalty rates and taxes suck the rest, profits you don’t pay anywhere enough to compensate for the quality of the food or the investment, and to live in hope for some competition coming along is never going to happen, no one will put up the money to have another full blown high quality restaurant built with all of the associated costs and low profit, it has to come from the heart not the head, might be a good idea to put up some money to build your own, open your eyes we spent millions to cater for complainers spending pennies, a bistro is about the mark for Bargara where you line up to order a meal, or another hamburger shop.
You say we're arrogant, really, maybe we have been worn down and can't be bothered listening to the really petty complaints like the waitress didn't smile and the pea was in the wrong place and should have been cooked this way or that way, maybe she had to listen to a petty complaint and didn't feel like smiling or maybe she had an order in her head and was too busy to give her time, no thought as to any reason why no smiles, staff leave and new ones have to be trained, and we're told we're arrogant, we're worn down not arrogant. Thank for the chance to answer the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    83
    41
    12
    10
See reviews for
35
89
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have stayed at Kacy's (Pacific Reef) a number of times now for a family holiday. I cannot speak highly enough about the whole experience - which is why we keep going back. The units are spotlessly clean (and I am fussy!) with beautiful interior. I could quite happily live there! The ocean view is just magnificent and I love the atmosphere of Bargara. The children love the ice-cream shop and I love the coffee shops - all easy walking distance from our unit. The unit is easily large enough for us all to relax and enjoy our time there (we are a family of 4). Great cooking and washing facilities if you don't feel like going out. The Kacy's restaurant is one of my favourites and we always make sure we visit at least a couple of times during each stay. The food is first class. Love early morning walks along the beach and the children spend hours in the pool! A+++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellysOwner, Manager at Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Hi Thanks for review.

We appreciate it when we get good reviews, you have either run a business or have a good understanding of costs and values, and appreciate the work that goes into what we do and the quality of the units, and thanks for the positive review.
Grant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

My Wife and myself with 2 kids aged 9 and 10 had a fantastic stay at Kacy's Bargara Beach. We enjoyed a fantastic meal Lamb Shanks to die for and my wife had Garlic Prawns which she raved about. The kids had steak and chips and all meals were sensational and delivered by friendly staff who could not do enough for us on this special night.

Room Tip: Ask for Coral Sands Unit 503.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellysOwner, Owner at Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thanks very much for your kind refreshing review.

Staff and owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
427 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

When you arrive you actually go to reception in the other Kacy's hotel next door. The door to the reception is at the back of the hotel but you enter the driveway from the Esplanade. The hotel is located right across the road from the beach. I paid $110 per night mid week off season and did not have views of the water. The room was quite small but was neat and clean. The room had a small kitchenette but there was no table, desk or chair to eat your meal at or do work on your laptop, so you just have to sit in bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvettesaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellysOwner, Manager at Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Hi.

Thanks for review.
We have many types of rooms most face the ocean and usually available, if you book ahead you should be able to get one of those next time, being beach front and in the centre of Bargara, appartments are very popular, same goes for Kacys restaurant.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Small, rather detail-less hotel but good value, friendly, nice location in Bargara. Right on the beach and near (the few) restaurants and shops. Recommended! We arrived on the wrong day and they were really friendly with changing things.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

A friend and I stayed at Coral Sands, which is part of the Kacy's complex. It was modern and spotlessly clean. The location is ideal too - just a hop, skip and a jump from the cluster of shops in Bargara, and the beach. The balcony, the rooms, the views, the adjoining restaurant - all great. A couple of oddities - we hadn't realised that a door coming off our little entranceway actually led to another unit. Also, it was a beautifully spacious unit, but with just one toilet contained within the one bathroom. One toilet would have been OK, but as a separate room, perhaps. Having said that, we really enjoyed our stay and would happily stay there again. Recommended.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marion16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellysOwner, Manager at Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Hi Thanks for review, these are three bed units, to present a better priced unit we had them made into a duel key, one is a two bed unit and one is a one bed unit, if you want two toilets you could have rented the whole unit but costs a little bit more, as you know price governs and dictates everyones thinking today.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddina, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We found this to be to our liking, no problems at all. Room old but good and it was all that we needed. Pool and pool area good, location very good. Had two meals in the Restaurant and we found it to be very good, mistake was made with my meal but they were very apologetic and said they would bring me the correct meal but it was so good I said not to bother. It was a little expensive but no more than you would pay at any nice Restaurant. Staff were very attentive and we had no complaints at all. We also had a breakfast and it was great. The older part to this Motel is old but very clean. We will be going back.

Only had one problem that I would like to share. I booked through Hotels.com online as they advertised a special for the period that we wanted. I thought the price was reasonable but when I went to pay my account I found out that Hotels.com charged us $149 commission. It will be the last time that I book through them and advise that before booking anything with them that you check what commission they charge

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loretta b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.2 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
0.2 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#4 of 5 in Bargara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Point Resort
The Point Resort
#6 of 13 in Bargara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bargara Gardens Motel & Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex

Property: Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
Address: Cnr Bauer St & Esplanade, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kacys Bargara Beach Hotel
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing