We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring the car.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Brisbane
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bring the car.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed two nights in the hotel here and it was fine. The room had a sea view and the room itself was satisfactory, very clean and tidy. When we arrived the restaurant was fully booked so we had to eat elsewhere but the pub next door was great. We ate breakfast in the place and it was good, pretty much on par and on price with everything else around about. The pool was lovely and wasn't well used, the place was quiet over night
All good, nothing special but no complaints. Somewhere between average and very good.
Bargara is a small place and the restaurants are fully booked and full quickly. There isn't much there though and you need transport

Room Tip: Sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swishytail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    87
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
38
94
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

As others have commented, this is a good location and we found our 3rd floor room adequate but basic. However, our main issue is with the general customer service, or lack of!

We stayed at the motel on a Sunday evening, in order to facilitate an evening at the Mon Repos Turtle Rookery. On checking in we were told that the restaurant opened at 5pm, so we would be able to enjoy an early dinner.

We duly arrived at 5 and ordered drinks only to discover that the kitchen was not due to open until 5:30. We explained our timings and were assured that, as long as we did not order 'slow cooked' items, we could be served by 6pm. We duly ordered a pasta and fish and chips, plus a charcuterie starter to nibble while we waited.

At 6:15 we were informed that there was 'a problem'; the meals were about to be served but the seafood pasta had been prepared with a garlic and cream sauce instead of the ordered provencale. We were offered the option of accepting the meal or waiting for it to be re cooked (not sure what was planned for the fish and chips meanwhile!). We did not have sufficient time for the latter so said we would share the fish and chips. This was duly delivered five minutes later, on one plate!

By this time we were very keen to leave as quickly as possible to ensure the remainder of the evening was more successful. So we ate quickly, checked that the pasta was not included on the chit and signed for the meal.

On checking out we advised the receptionist that we had an issue with the restaurant. She declined any detail, gave us a business card and advised that we email so that the matter could be passed directly to the restaurant manager. We have emailed twice over the past two weeks but have not even received an acknowledgement!

It seems the lack of customer service and attention to detail is well ingrained at this hostelry!

Room Tip: Third floor has good views of the sea but, as there is no lift, only suitable for fitter visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avrilandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kacys, Public Relations Manager at Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Carltons_Swindon
Sorry for my late response, due to me being on holidays. I would like to apologize once more for our Chefs cooking the wrong pasta dish. The waiter realized at the point of delivering the meals. Unfortunately we only had the option of re-cooking the pasta or refunding the meal. Our staff sincerely apologized numerous times on the night we then took the meal off your bill, what more could we have done in regards to this matter.
Dinner service starts at 5.30pm during the turtle season otherwise from 6pm after the season finishes in March. On a Sunday the restaurant is open ALL day for drinks, coffee, home baked cake and little nibbles like oysters, cheese and fruit platters or a variety of breads and dips outside of the kitchen cooking times.
Due to current work place regulations persons cannot work longer than 4 hours without a break this poses a problem for all restaurateurs when writing rosters that give staff a full time job over a five day week with require breaks. It would be quite interesting cooking from at 5pm remembering prep times and set up for service this would stop the kitchen at 8pm our busiest time, this also applies to wait staff.
I hope this clarifies you disappointment at our kitchens cooking times.
Regards
Annabell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in the five story building next to the main building in a three room apartment. The parking is underground and secure with a lift to the apartments. Our apartment was clean, airy, filled with natural light and well equipped with a full laundry and kitchen. The ‘fridge was huge.

Check in and out was very friendly and super efficient.

The lounge-dining room was very big with a dining table, lounges and TV with a DVD player. All of the rooms were air-conditioned. The beds were very comfortable. I would have liked a reading light next to the bed.

There was a large en-suite bathroom with a spar bath off the main bedroom. The other room had two single beds and the third a double bed with a second bathroom in the hallway.

The veranda was large with a modern glass outdoor dining table that seated six. The view was of the beach and park. The swimming pool was smallish but very welcome on a hot day.

We ate in the Kasy’s restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Although pricy, the food was tasty with good sized servings. However, when I ordered a small pasta marinara; at $30 I expected more than ½ a bug, 1 prawn, 1 mussel and a small piece of calamari. The pasta and the tomato based sauce was very nice. The dessert list was extensive with lots of yummy cakes. The breakfast was very good.

We will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while going to see Mon Repos turtle hatching. The hotel room was clean, simple decor and had the most comfortable beds.The view from the balcony was good as we could see across to the beach. Could not ask for a better location in Bargara. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially in the restaurant. Decent price for the area and at peak turtle watching season. The one comment is that Bargara needs to do more to provide nightly entertainment for it's visitors.

Room Tip: East side rooms have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deen12Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We felt like we were on holiday the moment we drove up. The beautiful palm trees outside the reception area was a nice touch.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful with information.

The room was cleaned to a high standard, it was nice and quiet and the bed was comfortable. We were very appreciative of the aircon as it was so hot outside.

The balcony was a little weird in that it was fairly enclosed but still pleasant to sit out there and see the sea while sipping our wine. We looked at the in-house restaurant menu but decided it looked too expensive for what we were after.

The parking was right outside and I guess the only downside was the fact we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs - didn't worry us but I'm sure older or less fit people would have issues with that.

All in all a great little place and we recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night to see the turtles. The lady at check in was very nice.
We were in the Coral Sands building which is separate, next door.
Our room was 304B which is really strange, you open a door to a little foyer that then has two rooms off it. The other people in 304A though we were unlocking their door.
You can hear absolutely everything through the door as well, very loud and echo-y.
The room at first glance was disappointing for the $135 we had paid. It looked out at the tiny pool and car park. The room did look clean however and the bed was comfortable. Shower was nice.
In the middle of the night my husband was awoken by a cockroach in the bed. The next morning there were 2 more cockroaches in the bathroom. Absolutely disgusting. He didn't get much sleep after that.
There is also a stove top but a note saying nothing is provided to cook on it which is weird. Why bother having a stove top?
My rule is if they don't ask how your stay was then I don't bring it up. They didn't ask so they can read about it on here.
Restaurant for breakfast was good. All in all, I definitely would not stay here again. Room is worth about $99 for the location only if you need to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Maybe the Kacy's building is better than the coral sands building?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvwblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasstree Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stopped in Bargara on the way home north and stayed at Kacys Motel, the guy at the reception was friendly and informative, regarding places to eat as he restaurant was closed for maintenance, and all were within easy walking distance. The room was better than the photos indicated on the web site. It was clean and quite a good size room, with a great view of the beach.
Would I stay there again? Yes
Was it value for money? Yes
Close to all amenities? Yes
Great quiet spot.
If you are gluten intolerant there is a great cafe across the road (caters for GF) "Rocklation Cafe"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMGALEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.2 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
0.2 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bargara Gardens Motel & Holiday Villas
0.3 mi away
The Point Resort
The Point Resort
#6 of 14 in Bargara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex

Property: Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
Address: Cnr Bauer St & Esplanade, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kacys Bargara Beach Hotel
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing