We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday appartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Modern, roomy, and overall comfortable and clean. Managers were friendly and very helpful.
Free wifi! Location was a few blocks away from the centre but a pleasant short walk along the coastal path.
Fully equipped with all necessary appliances and devices - washing, drying, ironing, dishwasher etc... Free secure parking below and a lift as well.

Only 1 minor issue - a few mould spots on the grout in the shower recess - easily fixed with a little bleach occasionally.

We would be happy to stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2011

Thanks for your positive comments Tassiegolly. A 4 star rating from such a seasoned traveller/reviewer is appreciated and rewards our efforts to provide comfortable, well equipped and clean accommodation at a price that everyone can afford. Apologies for the problem with the shower. Our Cleaner is first class and the showers are given a bleach clean each and every change of guest - not sure how this one slipped through our post-clean quality control inspection process, but we will obviously be more observant as a result of your comment.
We hope to see you back this way at some future time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

I spent 3 nights in these wonderful apartments. They were very clean, conveniently located to the shoppoing centre at Bargara and close to the Surf Club. Excellent ocean views and quiet. No traffic.

Room Tip: The higher the level the better the ocean view on the Eastern side of the building
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhilK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review PhikK049. Other travellers benefit from having an honest opinion from an independent source - too often, what you see on the internet is not what you find when you get there!!! Whenever we travel ourselves, we always read the TripAdvisor reviews before we book accommodation or restaurants. Glad you enjoyed your short stay in Bargara and we are delighted that our apartments lived up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Last minute decision by Guru to head to Bundy for a World Champs as a spectator, intially alone, so I frantically scrabbled around looking for suitable accom and stumbled across Koola Beach via wotif. Reviews on TA looked good so rang to check they could match the rate. I ended up joining him for the weekend only.

Room: Apartment actually. 2 bedrooms but one closed off ( we only paid for 1) nicely decorated, great kitchen well fitted out with lots of utensils and more than enough crockery and cutlery (my pet hate is an apartment that only has enough for 1 per person per meal as this equals washing up all the time). Dishwasher, glass cooktop, full sized fridge and view over the park area. Comfy lounge, big TV. Bathroom/Laundry combined (no bath but no issue for us, might be if you had little kids, but the laundry sink would bath a child up to about 12 months if necessary). Had we travelled with our kids one bathroom would most likely have been an issue ( 4 sharing when you have a teenage female is always challenging)

Location: dead quiet surounds, no nearby restaurants but we only took just on 15 minutes to drive to Spinnakers in Bundy for an excellent meal (as good as cafe Sydney, maybe even better). Beach (no waves but swimmable) is a few minutes walk. Parking easy as. Woolworths a short drive. Seafood (Grunskes?) market in Bunday has excellent fresh seafood at good prices (best mud carb I've had in a while)

Other facilities..Pool and BBQ area: tick, just a tad too cold ATM to use. WiFi, free...

Noise: well yes we could hear the people upstairs but i can't remember anytime I've stayed in an apartment with tiles that you didn't and it really wasn't an issue. If I was thinking that way I would have booked top floor.

Stay again: yep, sure. But I need to find a reason to visit the region. Lady Elliot might beckon

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GurusW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Thank you for your comprehensive review "Guruswife" - we are delighted that you found our complex and the local area to your liking. We know that the noise from the apartment above can sometimes be an annoyance, as our manager's apartment is on the groung floor. As you say, it is an endemic problem with hirise concrete constructions, even when there is carpet on the living area floor. Not so much a problem after bedtime though. We hope you can find an opportunity to return with a bit more time to visit Lady Elliott Island or Lady Musgrave Island. This lower end of the reef is spectacularly beautiful......some people say it is even more enjoyable than the tropical northern reef, as it is less congested, less "touristey" and stinger free. In summer the nearby beach is fantastic.......and does have waves most of the time.......the boardies are out there most mornings and late afternoons. November to March is a good time to visit.......warmer weather and also the Mon Repos Turtle season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I stayed with koola beach apartments for a few months while in town working for a local company on a large scale complex project. The location is generally very quiet, with a short stroll to the beach, the atmosphere is secure, friendly and calming and the free wifi makes working a breeze. The rooms are fresh and kept clean and while I didn't have the ocean view style apartment the aspect over the park and surronds was very beautiful as well. The only negative is at busy times such as school holidays, noise does travel significantly in the area and is very noticable, so holiday makers can disrupt your sleep, however this is easily dealt with, in a neighbourly fashion of a polite conversation. I would recommend this for any business traveller who needs peace and quiet to reflect on the day just gone to plan for the day ahead.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

We aprreciate your review EJP2011 . As you say, this is usually an extremely quiet complex - we have a "no party" policy and do everything we can to preserve the peace and quiet. However, at peak times the sheer number of holiday makers under one roof, including a lot of children, all enjoying themselves, can mean more noise than usual. With only 19 apartments in the complex, this is less of a problem for us than in larger holiday complexes. Any noise is more noticeable in Bargara because it is otherwise such a quiet and peaceful area with lots of open space. We are glad you found the accommodation and service to your liking and thank you for your recommendation for other business travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed here in a Two bedroom Ocean View room. This place is a 10 minute walk to the beach and shops. These appartments are surrounded by residential buildings and is very quiet. Koola has free WiFi, pretty quick too. For people that want appartment accommodation that's really quiet, this place is for you.

Room Tip: Ocean View Top Floor for views
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Thanks CharlieS for your positive review.....and the comprehensive photos.....great job!!!
You hit the nail on the head - this complex is probably the quietest holiday accommodation in Bargara. We're not on the busy oceanfront esplanade, yet as you say only a 10 minute walk to the village centre and just 3 minutes to the patrolled surf beach at Nielson Park. Bargara is a relatively small seaside village.....walking and taking in the fresh sea air is a favourite pastime for visitors and locals alike. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

These are great apartments, large, well equiped and clean. Five minutes from the beach five mins to shops and restaurants. If in doubt about where to go just ask, Allan or Chris will help in anyway possible.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timfinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2011

Thanks timfinay for the positive review - we are delighted that you found everything to your satisfaction. Maintaining a 4 1/2 star AAA rating is not easy, but it is worth the effort when guests show their appreciation. This complex only opened for business in June 2008 and was purpose built for holiday accommodation. We already have a loyal band of repeat guests who have found the tariffs to be very affordable, without sacrificing quality. And Bargara has such a delightfully soothing ambience - just the place to de-stress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We travelled up from Brisbane with another family and stayed for two nights at Koola Beach Apartments. We had originally booked for January but it coincided with the floods and we couldn't get through due to road closures. The on-site managers, Allen and Chris, were very understanding of our dilemma and thankfully transferred our booking without charging us a cancellation fee. We were all really impressed by this gesture and it set the tone for the duration of our stay.

My kids absolutely loved Koola Beach Apartments, especially the pool with its jets. The kids said they were very impressed that the manager came out and opened up all the umbrellas for us. I think it's this personal attention that really makes you feel welcome. While we were staying there my 8 year old son commented that if he could live at Koola Beach Apartments he'd wake up happy every day!

The apartments themselves were lovely and quite well appointed. I don't think I've ever stayed in accommodation quite so clean - every surface was spotless! When we met up with the other family in the morning we all commented on how comfy the mattresses were.

If I had to find fault, it would be that there weren't any fly screens on the windows or doors so at night we had to close up and run the air con so that any flying insects or creepy crawlies didn't get inside while we slept - not that i ever saw a creepy crawly - it was merely the thought of it! Also the 2nd bedroom was designed in such a way that it didn't have any windows which seemed very odd to me but fortunately my kids didn't seem to mind at all - at least it had a ceiling fan and ducted air con and you could open the room right up to the rest of the open plan apartment by folding up the plantation shutter door or opt instead to leave it closed and open the louvres. This was a novelty for my kids.

We were in two apartments on the top floor which had a pleasant outlook over a grassy paddock and if you looked to the left you had ocean views. It might not be the same view you'd have if you stayed right on the esplanade in Bargara but I think the reasonable price, peace and quiet and the fact that we weren't overlooked made up for this.

In the cool of the evening we all enjoyed a very leisurely 10 to 15 min stroll along the esplanade to a restaurant. It's probably quicker if you take the back streets but we preferred the ambience of the scenic route. It was lovely to see all the families out on the esplanade enjoying the relaxed lifestyle and having BBQs and playing in the park.

Whilst the apartment block is not situated with all the others right on the esplanade in the village centre, it is actually the closest to a beautiful patrolled beach at "Nielson Park" not more than 400m away. We were all quite surprised how pretty it was there and I actually think it was the pick of the beaches.

Bargara has a lovely safe and relaxed vibe to it and is the kind of place that you'd like to raise your kids. It is surrounded by cane fields and the flat landscape makes it perfect for bike riding or exploring on foot. The village centre itself is pretty and laid back and has been beautified and streetscaped - even the laundromat is cute!! In fact we were so impressed with Bargara that now we all want to live there. Until that pipe dream comes true though we'll have to make do with frequent return visits to Koola Beach Apartments - wait 'til I tell the kids!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retro-girl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

We appreciate your comprehensive comments Retro-girl73. Sorry about the flyscreens - the building is only 3 years old and the developer didn't fit any - now a big job to get up 5 floors!!!, but hopefully the individual owners will opt to do this some time soon. Maybe we should give you a job as our marketing manager (when you move here to Bargara!!) as you have summed up Koola Beach precisely......great value for money, peaceful and quite and a place where families can enjoy each others company in the beautiful beachside village atmosphere of Bargara. We love Bargara - so glad that you did too. Look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.6 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
0.6 mi away
Bargara Gardens Motel & Holiday Villas
0.8 mi away
The Point Resort
The Point Resort
#6 of 13 in Bargara
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koola Beach Apartments Bargara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koola Beach Apartments Bargara

Address: 52 Johnson St, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bargara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bargara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
Price Range: £75 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koola Beach Apartments Bargara 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury at beautiful Bargara Beach. 19 Modern artistically decorated 4 Star fully self-contained Apartments offering 1 or 2 bedroom accommodation, featuring ducted air-conditioning, gourmet kitchen, 40" Flat Screen TV with Foxtel and DVD/CD, own laundry, FREE in-room wi-fi internet access,secure basement carpark and resident managers to attend to your every need. Pool, spa and BBQ area for guest's use. Also 2 x 3bedroom/2bathroom two-level modern Townhouses in the adjoining "Bargara Dream" complex, which accommodate up to 6 persons, with living area downstairs and bedrooms/bathrooms upstairs. Surrounded by tranquil parklands and just a 400m stroll to the Nielson Park patrolled surf beach and oceanfront walkway. 700M to village shops/cafes/restaurants etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koola Beach Apartments Bargara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing