We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth The Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights with my pensioner dad. We had a top floor end apartment. 2 bedrooms, huge bathroom, well appointed kitchen (every utensil was supplied), dishwasher, microwave, full size fridge and oven, all stainless. Also a glass cooktop. 42" tv with DVD player. Good size lounge, nice and airy. Undercover secure parking, pool and spa. This place is spotless, quite, and has great hosts.

Thanks
Gary & Dennis

Room Tip: High floor, end rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Gary & Dennis, we are flattered that such a seasoned traveller/reviewer has rated our complex so highly.......thank you, we really appreciate the feedback, and hopefully other intending travellers will also find your comments reassuring. With only 21 apartments to manage we are able to use just 1 cleaner, which helps with maintaining a consistent standard.....and she is absolutely wonderful. Also, Chris & I are able to personally interact with our guests on a daily basis, which we enjoy and hopefully they find helpful. Being "small" we think translates to being "personal" and "responsive" .
We hope you may return to Bargara on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    33
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
54
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast Hinterland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

As seniors of reasonably advanced age and with the girth that often comes with that condition, we found the apartment to be very small. The bedroom wife and I occupied, was so small that the bed (2 singles joined) was almost wall to wall only allowing for one night table on one side. Nowhere to place clothes after undressing for bed....not even a peg or two on the door or walls! Had to resort to using the floor!

Our friend's room had a 4 section concertina Louvre screen, which we all thought was a bit odd for a bedroom adjoining the lounge area! A little bit larger than ours but not by much.

The sitting area was strangely set up and we were moved to bring in two balcony chairs so that all four could view the TV in comfort.

The kitchen was well set up and although we had taken the usual supplies of tea coffee etc, there was enough to start off with. The frig was a good size and actually had ice already in the freezer!!

The bathroom was enormous in size as it also contained the laundry facilities. If some of that space as well as the huge entry lobby space had been apportioned to the bedrooms then we could have been less picky on size! One flaw in the bathroom was the floor in the shower cubicle. The same tiles as the apartment floors had been used and as we all know.....high gloss tiles become VERY slippy when wet and soapy. The lack of grab handles made showering an exercise in dexterity which is something that seniors are not particularly good at. I do hope that insurance coverage is adequate to cover the possible legal challenges that could result from a fall.

Cleanliness was 100%.....no fault there.....although I did notice a bit of a smell from the shower drain on one occasion. Even our own showers at home can need a good dose of deodorant from time to time!

Quiet?.....oh yes. The position set back a bit from the sea-front is a real advantage for those who like a quiet night's sleep. It is only a short walk across some lovely parkland to reach the beach. Driving further along the Esplanade we thought that the "front" area was well designed and attractive. Nice area to walk or sit and survey the scene.

Our hosts at Koola Beach Apartments were most attentive. We had a problem with the DVD player which was replaced in short order. Advice as to local restaurants was freely given.
Apart from those couple of minor annoyances, we enjoyed a 3 night stay with perfect weather and good company.

Room Tip: Rooms with a corner balcony have good balcony space. The higher floors will give sea "glimpses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aqueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you "aqueenslander" for your comprehensive comments. The aspect of size of the apartments is an interesting point - the larger the apartments the higher the construction cost, and therfore the higher the eventual rental cost. This complex was purpose built as a holiday resort, with a view to keeping tariffs within reach of most people and providing the essentials for a comfortable stay (comfortable bed,good bathroom,well equipped kitchen, aircon, laundry). Both bedrooms have a large built-in wardrobe with hanging space and shelving, so we have not seen a need to have ugly hooks or suchlike on the walls or door to hang clothing
We are pleased to see that notwithstanding the observations you have made , you had an enjoyable visit to our beautiful and peaceful village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at Koola Beach Apartments recently and had a very nice time. The apartment was very nicely appointed with big TV and comfy lounge setting. The bedrooms were stylish and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with everything, including a slow cooker. It was a pleasure to use. While we were there the weather was terribly wet, but the wonderful shower and dryer were welcome treats. Bargara Beach is a beautiful spot and well worth spending time at. Shops are within walking distance and supermarket 5 minutes away. The unit itself is set back from the beach but not too far away if you like a short walk. I would like to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you DebbieF for your comments. It is unfortunate that you did not experience Bargara at it's sunny sparkling best - the last month or so has been unseasonally wet, but this area not as bad as some of the southern coastal areas. We are pleased that you found the apartment was comfortable, well equipped and met all your needs. Although we are 400m back from the beachfront, we are in fact the closest Resort to the patrolled surf beach at Nielson Park - the Esplanade is on the oceanfront, but there is no swimming there as the foreshore is covered by volcanic rock. We hope you will visit again to see the real Bargara!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed a Koola Beach Apartments over the May long weekend. Allan and Chris were extremely welcoming and even though I had arrived well ahead of schedule, my room was ready to go. I had a two bedroom apartment that was absolutely spotless. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom immaculate and the view pretty good too! Although I wasn't staying there for the beach access, it was only a short walk away.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justcallmecupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you "justcallmecupcake" for taking the time to let us, and other intending guests, know what you thought of our complex. Naturally, we are delighted that you found everything lived up to the high standard we strive to achieve. The "spotless" comment crops up in many of our guest reviews, which gives us and our only cleaner a great deal of satisfaction. We always pass these comments on to her - she is such an asset to us as Managers. Guests are entitled to expect spotless accomodation whenever they travel - there is no excuse for anything less!!
We hope you might stay with us agin on another visit to Bargara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had a very warm welcome on arrival and throughout our stay the managers made us feel at home. The apartment was spacious, very comfortable and very well-equipped. Koola Beach is in a quiet and peaceful part of Bargara and only a 5 minute stroll away from the sandy beach. Grocery shopping is easy - Bargara Central is a couple of minutes in the car and there are a number of good places to eat out. All the ingredients for a very relaxing holiday. Mon Repos Turtle Rookery is nearby (booking arranged for us by the hotel) - a magical experience, seeing hatchlings scurrying down the beach into the sea and a sky filled with stars. Unforgettable. Well worth the 10,000 miles of travel to get there :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryR18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We appreciate your feedback "MaryR18" - it was a pleasure having you stay with us and are pleased that Bargara was able to add the Mon Repos turtle experience to your Australian visit. Thanks for your favourable comments about the quality of the accommodation.......as you say,our location, tucked-away just behind the beachside parkland, is only minutes away from everything but is such a quiet little pocket of Bargara. It is a comment that crops up time and time again. We love living here and enjoy the fact that our guests also find it relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We visited the Koola Beach Apartments twice this season to see the Loggerhead Turtles lay their eggs, and watch the hatchlings. We were fortunate enough to stay at Koola Beach, a very nice place with superb rooms, good facilities and friendly and helpful managers.
The apartments are spacious, very well equiped, with good beds en all comforts you need. They're very close to the beach and to Mon Repos, where you can see the turtles. If you're going to see the turtles in Bargara, or are just visiting for a relaxing holiday, Koola Beach is a great place to stay! We are definitely coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you "Bas V" for your "perfect" rating - naturally, we are delighted with your favourable comments about the apartments. This holiday complex is "our home", and we enjoy seeing our guests appreciate the delights of this wonderfully peaceful seaside village. This year the Mon Repos Turtle Rookery achieved a record number of visitors for the laying and hatching season - and as you no doubt found, it's an amazing environmental experience for both young and old at just $24.30 for a family. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you visit Bargara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here to visit Mon Repos, which is about 10 minutes away. The managers are lovely, and happy to share local knowledge. The apartments look brand new and are well equipped (even a coffee plunger). We stayed in park view, which overlooks a large field. The air conditioner was very effective, however quite noisy though. There's a flat screen TV and complimentary wi-fi. The apartments are just around the corner from Bargara Esplanade where there are a number of restaurants to choose from. However after a late finish at Mon Repos the night before, followed by an early start for a day trip to Lady Elliot Island, we chose to instead purchase groceries from the nearby Woolworths and eat in our apartment. This is a great base for travel to Mon Repos and not too far away from Bundaberg either.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you MissMoet for taking the time to share your experience. We are of course delighted with the rating you have given us. The apartments are in fact almost 4 years old, so your comment that they "look brand new" is a tremendous compliment to our hard working and fastidious cleaner - having someone who cares is an absolute bonus for us as Managers. The "large field" that you mention is actually a Council parkland - unfortunately the Council has not done much yet to develop it - there are "plans", so we live in hope!! The benefit though of the parkland is that the outlook from the apartments and balconies is tranquil - no building next door peering-in........very private.....and extremely quiet at night. We remember that you said your day trip to Lady Elliott Island was "brilliant".......it is one of the great things to do if visiting Bundaberg.....we've never had anyone come back from the Island disappointed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.6 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
0.8 mi away
The Point Resort
The Point Resort
#7 of 13 in Bargara
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bargara Blue Resort
Bargara Blue Resort
#5 of 13 in Bargara
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koola Beach Apartments Bargara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koola Beach Apartments Bargara

Property: Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
Address: 52 Johnson St, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bargara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bargara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Koola Beach Apartments Bargara 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury at beautiful Bargara Beach. 19 Modern artistically decorated 4 Star fully self-contained Apartments offering 1 or 2 bedroom accommodation, featuring ducted air-conditioning, gourmet kitchen, 40" Flat Screen TV with Foxtel and DVD/CD, own laundry, FREE in-room wi-fi internet access,secure basement carpark and resident managers to attend to your every need. Pool, spa and BBQ area for guest's use. Also 2 x 3bedroom/2bathroom two-level modern Townhouses in the adjoining "Bargara Dream" complex, which accommodate up to 6 persons, with living area downstairs and bedrooms/bathrooms upstairs. Surrounded by tranquil parklands and just a 400m stroll to the Nielson Park patrolled surf beach and oceanfront walkway. 700M to village shops/cafes/restaurants etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koola Beach Apartments Bargara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing