We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely clean and quiet apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here on Saturday 17th Nov as we were going to the Kasey Chambers concert in Bunderburg ( Not relevant but i thought i would add it anyway !! ... she was ace as usual !! ) We found the apartments straight away as the directions given were spot on. The apartment was spotless and finished to a high standard. Its very quiet there and thats meant in a good way ! Allen and his wife are the perfect hosts. Very friendly and helpfull. On our many visits to Australia we stay in all sorts of accomodation and we would say that these apartments stand out .... for all the right reasons. I doubt that we shall be in that area for a long time but if we are we would not hesitate to stay there again. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nudepostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

We appreciate your positive comments "nudepostie" and are glad that the concert was worth the trip to Bundaberg (by the way, I am also a Casey Chambers fan and have seen her in Concert in Brisbane previously.....such a unique voice and a lovely natural Aussie). Obviously we are delighted that you have rated our complex so highly, especially from such a seasoned traveller.
The quietness of our location is a very common comment from guests......the surrounding beachside parklands provide a pleasant outlook from the apartment balconies as well as a tranquil and private setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

stayed here this week for one night, stark white, clean & refreshing apartments, very impressed. we had a 2 room apartment with sea glimpses, everything was catered for.
The only down side was it was a little out of the way, you couldn't really walk out for dinner & there was ( i think) someone had their A/C on all night & it was very noisy & kept us awake, so the walls are quite thin.
The staff are very friendly & helpful. despite the little negatives, i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balitraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thanks Balitraveller27 for your review. We are pleased to hear that you were impressed with the apartment. The location of the complex just behind the Nielson Park beachside parklands is an advantage in that we are the closest resort to the patrolled surf beach and the location is quiet and peaceful. However, it is a little further from the restaurant precinct than some others, but is just 700m and a 10-15 minute walk. Sorry about your disrupted sleep - the aircon noise on the top floor of the building, where you were located, has been mentioned to us on a few occasions in the past (only a few, in 4 years). It is not due to thin walls between apartments, but we think as a result of the original developer of the complex deciding to locate the air-conditioning motors on the roof of the complex and in the basement car park, rather than having them use up space and be an annoyance on the apartment balconies. There are 8 motors on the roof - the ceiling is insulated and the motors are rubber mounted, but because we are in such a quiet surrounding area apparently the "humming" noise can be heard in the apartments on odd occasions. I guess it depends on how many are running at the same time? We are very glad that you would still choose to stay with us again......next time you book mention to us that you would prefer to be lower than the top floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Travel often for work, and am not easily impressed. But the friendly service and great apartment I received did just that! Keep up the good work, guys! Very comfortable stay. Rooms are immaculate, with a very modern kitchen, and tasteful furniture. Only downside was no bath in my apartment :(

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you BC89 for your glowing comments - we really appreciate these reviews from our paying guests, and especially from a regular traveller able to make comparison with others.
In these tough economic times "value" is a key requirement for accommodation seekers, so we are delighted that you have given our complex "the tick of approval" in that regard.
Sorry about the bath - out of our control unfortunately, as the developer of the complex didn't foresee the need. Not even one in our own apartment!! Hope the other plusses outweighed this and that you will book with us again next time you visit this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights with my pensioner dad. We had a top floor end apartment. 2 bedrooms, huge bathroom, well appointed kitchen (every utensil was supplied), dishwasher, microwave, full size fridge and oven, all stainless. Also a glass cooktop. 42" tv with DVD player. Good size lounge, nice and airy. Undercover secure parking, pool and spa. This place is spotless, quite, and has great hosts.

Thanks
Gary & Dennis

Room Tip: High floor, end rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gar57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Gary & Dennis, we are flattered that such a seasoned traveller/reviewer has rated our complex so highly.......thank you, we really appreciate the feedback, and hopefully other intending travellers will also find your comments reassuring. With only 21 apartments to manage we are able to use just 1 cleaner, which helps with maintaining a consistent standard.....and she is absolutely wonderful. Also, Chris & I are able to personally interact with our guests on a daily basis, which we enjoy and hopefully they find helpful. Being "small" we think translates to being "personal" and "responsive" .
We hope you may return to Bargara on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

As seniors of reasonably advanced age and with the girth that often comes with that condition, we found the apartment to be very small. The bedroom wife and I occupied, was so small that the bed (2 singles joined) was almost wall to wall only allowing for one night table on one side. Nowhere to place clothes after undressing for bed....not even a peg or two on the door or walls! Had to resort to using the floor!

Our friend's room had a 4 section concertina Louvre screen, which we all thought was a bit odd for a bedroom adjoining the lounge area! A little bit larger than ours but not by much.

The sitting area was strangely set up and we were moved to bring in two balcony chairs so that all four could view the TV in comfort.

The kitchen was well set up and although we had taken the usual supplies of tea coffee etc, there was enough to start off with. The frig was a good size and actually had ice already in the freezer!!

The bathroom was enormous in size as it also contained the laundry facilities. If some of that space as well as the huge entry lobby space had been apportioned to the bedrooms then we could have been less picky on size! One flaw in the bathroom was the floor in the shower cubicle. The same tiles as the apartment floors had been used and as we all know.....high gloss tiles become VERY slippy when wet and soapy. The lack of grab handles made showering an exercise in dexterity which is something that seniors are not particularly good at. I do hope that insurance coverage is adequate to cover the possible legal challenges that could result from a fall.

Cleanliness was 100%.....no fault there.....although I did notice a bit of a smell from the shower drain on one occasion. Even our own showers at home can need a good dose of deodorant from time to time!

Quiet?.....oh yes. The position set back a bit from the sea-front is a real advantage for those who like a quiet night's sleep. It is only a short walk across some lovely parkland to reach the beach. Driving further along the Esplanade we thought that the "front" area was well designed and attractive. Nice area to walk or sit and survey the scene.

Our hosts at Koola Beach Apartments were most attentive. We had a problem with the DVD player which was replaced in short order. Advice as to local restaurants was freely given.
Apart from those couple of minor annoyances, we enjoyed a 3 night stay with perfect weather and good company.

Room Tip: Rooms with a corner balcony have good balcony space. The higher floors will give sea "glimpses...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aqueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Thank you "aqueenslander" for your comprehensive comments. The aspect of size of the apartments is an interesting point - the larger the apartments the higher the construction cost, and therfore the higher the eventual rental cost. This complex was purpose built as a holiday resort, with a view to keeping tariffs within reach of most people and providing the essentials for a comfortable stay (comfortable bed,good bathroom,well equipped kitchen, aircon, laundry). Both bedrooms have a large built-in wardrobe with hanging space and shelving, so we have not seen a need to have ugly hooks or suchlike on the walls or door to hang clothing
We are pleased to see that notwithstanding the observations you have made , you had an enjoyable visit to our beautiful and peaceful village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at Koola Beach Apartments recently and had a very nice time. The apartment was very nicely appointed with big TV and comfy lounge setting. The bedrooms were stylish and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with everything, including a slow cooker. It was a pleasure to use. While we were there the weather was terribly wet, but the wonderful shower and dryer were welcome treats. Bargara Beach is a beautiful spot and well worth spending time at. Shops are within walking distance and supermarket 5 minutes away. The unit itself is set back from the beach but not too far away if you like a short walk. I would like to go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you DebbieF for your comments. It is unfortunate that you did not experience Bargara at it's sunny sparkling best - the last month or so has been unseasonally wet, but this area not as bad as some of the southern coastal areas. We are pleased that you found the apartment was comfortable, well equipped and met all your needs. Although we are 400m back from the beachfront, we are in fact the closest Resort to the patrolled surf beach at Nielson Park - the Esplanade is on the oceanfront, but there is no swimming there as the foreshore is covered by volcanic rock. We hope you will visit again to see the real Bargara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed a Koola Beach Apartments over the May long weekend. Allan and Chris were extremely welcoming and even though I had arrived well ahead of schedule, my room was ready to go. I had a two bedroom apartment that was absolutely spotless. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom immaculate and the view pretty good too! Although I wasn't staying there for the beach access, it was only a short walk away.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justcallmecupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you "justcallmecupcake" for taking the time to let us, and other intending guests, know what you thought of our complex. Naturally, we are delighted that you found everything lived up to the high standard we strive to achieve. The "spotless" comment crops up in many of our guest reviews, which gives us and our only cleaner a great deal of satisfaction. We always pass these comments on to her - she is such an asset to us as Managers. Guests are entitled to expect spotless accomodation whenever they travel - there is no excuse for anything less!!
We hope you might stay with us agin on another visit to Bargara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.6 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
0.6 mi away
Bargara Gardens Motel & Holiday Villas
0.8 mi away
The Point Resort
The Point Resort
#6 of 13 in Bargara
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koola Beach Apartments Bargara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koola Beach Apartments Bargara

Address: 52 Johnson St, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bargara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bargara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
Price Range: £73 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Koola Beach Apartments Bargara 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury at beautiful Bargara Beach. 19 Modern artistically decorated 4 Star fully self-contained Apartments offering 1 or 2 bedroom accommodation, featuring ducted air-conditioning, gourmet kitchen, 40" Flat Screen TV with Foxtel and DVD/CD, own laundry, FREE in-room wi-fi internet access,secure basement carpark and resident managers to attend to your every need. Pool, spa and BBQ area for guest's use. Also 2 x 3bedroom/2bathroom two-level modern Townhouses in the adjoining "Bargara Dream" complex, which accommodate up to 6 persons, with living area downstairs and bedrooms/bathrooms upstairs. Surrounded by tranquil parklands and just a 400m stroll to the Nielson Park patrolled surf beach and oceanfront walkway. 700M to village shops/cafes/restaurants etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koola Beach Apartments Bargara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing