We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, but better off staying on The Esplanade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice resort, but better off staying on The Esplanade”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter and overall had a really nice weekend, although we didn't spend a lot of time in the apartment. We were travelling with our one year old so the one bedroom apartment we stayed in was probably a bit too tight for what we needed. The bedroom door was only a sliding shutter-style door, and with only one TV in the apartment it didn't really leave us with too many options as to where to put the portacot up. Overall, the layout of the room didn't give us the privacy and ability to relax that we were hoping for. Not a problem if you're travelling as a couple, but something definitely worth considering if you're travelling with little ones!

The room was fairly plain but at least was well-equipped and clean... except for the rusty shower stall.

Our balcony was quite small but private. The biggest downer for us was that our views included a cow-filled paddock, a vacant block and a glimpse of the water in the distance. If you do decide to book here, definitely go for the ocean view over the park view if water views are what you want (an oversight on our part).

Not sure how it manages to rank #1 of 5 hotels in Bargara on tripadvisor, but I would definitely recommend checking out the resorts/hotels along The Esplanade first... at least you'll get beautiful, uninterrupted ocean-front views and you'll be walking distance to the shops, pub, etc.

Room Tip: Make sure you go for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuskyPup84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback "HuskyPup84" and apologise for our oversight in not having responded to your comments earlier. All the Apartments in our complex are two bedroom, however we offer a lower tariff for guests who only require one bedroom, by closing off the second bedroom. Perhaps in your case the two bedroom option, at an extra $35 per night, would have better suited your needs with the baby.
In relation to your comments about the "cow-filled paddock", across the road from the building, this area is actually the south-east corner of the 300 hectare Barolin Nature Reserve.....the Reserve has pockets of rainforest, an abundance of bird life and a fascinating history. It is managed by the Bundaberg Regional Council for environmental purposes and has a long history of cattle grazing which is slowly being reduced to encourage the high conservation value of its plant communities. It was formerly known as the Pasturage Reserve and was renamed by Council in July 2013. Council has provided over 4km of paths for walking and bike riding, helping visitors to discover the beauty of the bush. Council is also committed to developing extra facilities such as footbridges, seats and car parking areas as visitor numbers increase. A fascinating history and other very interesting details of the Reserve can be found at the web address:
http://bundaberg.qld.gov.au/environment/natural-resources/natural-areas/pasturage
Finally, we comment that although the Esplanade has the advantage of superb views, it is also "busy", with traffic and activity in the beachfront picnic/bbq areas......there are a few upmarket holiday resorts along the Esplanade, but most of the unit buildings are permanent residential buildings. Many of our past guest reviews have mentioned the peace and tranquility that our location just off the Esplanade provides!.....it is really a matter of location verses cost/value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    33
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
54
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for a week, with the Australia Day weekend in the middle. Let's start by giving the resident managers Mark and Caroline a big high 5. They are friendly, helpful and go out of their way to ensure you have a great time staying at Bargara. When we arrived Mark helped us pack up our stuff onto a trolley and take it up in the lift to our room, #504, then showed us around and gave us the run down on aircon, fans and TV systems. On departure Caroline gave us some great tips that saved us considerable driving time going further north. Whenever we met them around the property they were always cheery and chatty.

The room we had was wonderful and clean, modern and well equipped, with views south east towards Bargara and the ocean. It is a short walk to a patrolled beach and not much more to Bargara township itself. As were were there for a family wedding we didn't eat out at all, just cooked in the great kitchen if we weren't visiting family. There is now a Woolies, IGA and liquor store in Bargara and the fish and chippy near them is very good too.

The location is great and we thoroughly enjoyed our week there, and would stay again without hesitation. To those who complain it "isn't right on the beach" take a look at the prices, compared with beach front ones, especially in high season when we were there. Koola Beach is great value and well worth staying at.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from the balcony in Room 504.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Wabster, thanks for a great review. 504 is one of our ocean view apartments so we are pleased you took the time to enjoy the outlook. All of our apartments have great views either ocean or parkland. The Australia Day weekend was busy, but at Bargara you can always find a quiet spot to relax. Look forward to seeing you again, your hosts Mark and Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in koola 4 nights. The location is quiet and it is just a 10 min walk to the ocean. You can spot from the balcony kangaroos and parrots. The staff was very helpful and we were treated very well. The apartment was spacious and modern with fully equipped kitchen.
But we had the feeling that the apartment was not cleaned before we came. The night table near the bed was sticky and the furniture was dusty. The cutlery was also dirty, so we had to wash it up.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nazar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you Nazar for taking time to complete a review, we are glad you had a relaxing stay. We are disappointed however that the high standards of presentation we set ourselves were not achieved on this visit. We will be discussing this with our team and trust that next time you visit we will exceed your expectations. Thanks again your hosts Mark and Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

stayed in koola based on trip advisor reviews. Overall was good. Not much to Bargara itself except turtle watching.Slightly strange having a large block of apartments so far away from the beach (some people may prefer a sea view accommodation if going to Bargara) Staff helpful in giving info on places to eat and parking stress free. Pool could be bigger but kids loved novelty of swim jets! Price of 185 slightly high in my opinion but was school holiday season when most places hike prices and turtle season isn't around all year!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andygog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi, turtles and rum what a combination . We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took the time to post a review. It was great to hear that the young ones had fun with the swim jets in the pool. Next time you visit we will give you a few more ideas on things to do, including "bush to beach walks", bare foot bowls and historical tours. Thanks Again, your hosts Mark and Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Joanna and Edward, Surfers Paradise
From the moment we arrived we were treated extremely well. Special mention to the amazing service that Caroline and Mark Perks new managers gave us. They were very friendly and made sure that our trip to Bargara was a special one. We stayed for nine nights in the apartment on 4th floor. The apartment was spotless, spacious and modern with fully equipped kitchen and extremely quiet as no traffic going past. We enjoyed free wifi. The hotel's location was fantastic, just a quick stroll through a park to the beautiful beaches and close to restaurants or shops. We would definitely stay at Koola Beach Apartments in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
What a contrast Surfers Paradise to Bargara....Thank you for your kind review, it was great to see you take advantage of all of the attractions in this area. Some days we would wonder where you had been all day. It was a pleasure to have you stay, and we look forward to seeing you again, your hosts Mark and Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I recently stayed two nights in one of the apartments on the 5th floor.

We were checked in by friendly staff who were more than happy to fill us in on the local area and restaurants.

The apartment was clean and modern. We also enjoyed the choice of ceiling fans or airconditioning. The kitchen was fully equipped so you could enjoy meals in the apartment though we did enjoy the local restaurants that were within a 10-15min walk. The tv had a good range of Foxtel channels. Free wifi was very convenient. We only used the pool once but was enjoyable with a spa and swim jets.

The near by beach was very clean and lovely blue water. You can access the beach through a park which would be a very easy 5-10 min walk away. We also spotted a few kangaroos on the grass during our stay.

We loved our stay and have already recommended these apartments to our family. They will be seeing us again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KinkyPinkyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. The best praise we can receive is your recommendation to friends and family and we look forward to seeing them soon. As you found conditions are now perfect pool weather and our swimming jets can certainly give you a workout.
Thanks again, your hosts Mark and Caroline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gympie
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a wonderful weekend away at Koola.
Working for ourselves we rarely get time to have some "us" time and totally relax and this weekend was one of them.
The unit was spotless, comfortable and quiet having no traffic going past due to it's location.
Just a short stroll through a park to the beach and plenty of sealed walking tracks.
The area has all the facilities handy and within walking distance and plenty to explore if you so wish in the vehicle.

Thank you to the wonderful staff for a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: Our room faced SW looking over paddocks and the hills in the background. Quiet and serene
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LurleenGympie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllanKoola, Manager at Koola Beach Apartments Bargara, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thanks for your review. "A Rest at The Best" what a great comment. It was a pleasure to give you some "us time" in the hectic world we live in. As you saw, Koola is surrounded by some lovely parklands and at the end of a cul-de-sac has little passing traffic. We look forward to seeing you again. Your hosts Mark and Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bargara hotels
1.6 mi away
Kelly's Beach Resort
Kelly's Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
C Bargara Resort
C Bargara Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#1 of 5 in Bargara
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
0.8 mi away
The Point Resort
The Point Resort
#6 of 13 in Bargara
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bargara Gardens Motel & Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koola Beach Apartments Bargara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koola Beach Apartments Bargara

Property: Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
Address: 52 Johnson St, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bargara
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bargara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Koola Beach Apartments Bargara 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury at beautiful Bargara Beach. 19 Modern artistically decorated 4 Star fully self-contained Apartments offering 1 or 2 bedroom accommodation, featuring ducted air-conditioning, gourmet kitchen, 40" Flat Screen TV with Foxtel and DVD/CD, own laundry, FREE in-room wi-fi internet access,secure basement carpark and resident managers to attend to your every need. Pool, spa and BBQ area for guest's use. Also 2 x 3bedroom/2bathroom two-level modern Townhouses in the adjoining "Bargara Dream" complex, which accommodate up to 6 persons, with living area downstairs and bedrooms/bathrooms upstairs. Surrounded by tranquil parklands and just a 400m stroll to the Nielson Park patrolled surf beach and oceanfront walkway. 700M to village shops/cafes/restaurants etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koola Beach Apartments Bargara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing