We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for work”
Review of C Bargara Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
C Bargara Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Working at Bundaberg Hospital for 3 or 4 days and wanted to be out of town (as most hotels in Bundy seem to be on main hwy). I like peace and quiet and as a compromise happy to drive the 15mins or so Bargara,

Very impressed with Bargara, resort and facilities in this seaside town. Woolworths close by so able to get supplies -

Few eateries around - tried the Thai - ok but not sensational (i am a tough critic with thai) -

In summary - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBargara, Manager at C Bargara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Chris, thank you for your positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us. You are correct in that it is not far to travel to Bundaberg. We have a lot of business people stay with us and they also seem to prefer the beach location rather than Bundaberg city. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Amazing location right on the beach. Unfortunately the apartments leave a bit to be desired. Serious ant problems in the rooms, in particular bedrooms make for an uncomfortable stay
Service is the bare minimum on check in.

But the location almost makes up for everything else!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBargara, Manager at C Bargara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hello Justin, we are not aware of any recent issue as you did not mention it to us. In January we did have some ants in an apartment at the north end of the complex. This was of course treated by a professional pest control company. Two months has passed and we have not seen a recurrence of this issue. In future do not hesitate to report such incidents to reception so it can be addressed. Reviews are anonomous so we don't know which apartment or when you stayed...if you read this please give us a call so we can further investigate.
Thank you
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The apartment was everything we wanted and more. We could step straight into the pool from our deck. everything was clean and spotless and the ocean view was spectacular. If we needed any help on places to visit or eat the manager was there to help. We were very impressed that when we forgot some gear in our apartment the manager phoned us and had it already posted back to our home. We had a great break with no hassles (thanks for that C Bargara)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBargara, Manager at C Bargara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi Andrew,

We are pleased you had such a wonderful stay at C Bargara. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent 5 wonderful nights at C Bagara Resort. The manager was very nice and friendly. We had booked 5 nights in a ocean front room but when we booked in the manager upgraded us to the Penthouse. It was absolutely wonderful. Amazing views, everything clean and new and all very comfortable. It was a wonderful break and would certainly stay at C Bagara Resort again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lealarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBargara, Manager at C Bargara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We are pleased you enjoyed the Penthouse! The oceanviews are spectacular from the rooftop and sunrise and sunset should not be missed. We look forward to seeing you back at C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Husband & I arrived at about 5 on valentines for a short weekend away, we were checked in with no fuss and with super friendly service despite me being a tad all over the place, it being a busy period & the management probably looking forward to getting on with their own plans.
We booked a one bedroom and were placed in a two which was large to the extent we closed off the study and could still swing around a herd of cats. The apartment was well appointed and although I didn't go around with a magnifying glass it seemed clean to me.
The spa bath & ensuite were beautiful, so if you have a problem with watching the moon rise over the ocean, in a bubble bath whilst drinking champagne, this isn't the place for you. I will concede the drain did smell a bit, but I guess that just means I'm not sharing a bath with too many other butts.
The apartments were beautiful in a lovely location right on the front, close to the shops and amenities and with secure, undercover parking. I didn't have any issue with the check out conditions - the bin is right next to your car, which I presume you'll need to leave.
I guess the thing to remember is that this is apartments, if you need a concierge and someone to clean up your mess - look for a hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBargara, Manager at C Bargara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hello Mrs C,

It sounds like you had a wonderful Valentine's Day at C Bargara. As you mentioned, self-contained apartments are different to a Hotel. Apartments offer loads more space, separate rooms, laundry, full kitchen and a balcony to enjoy the oceanviews.

We look forward to welcoming you back to C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the C Bargara for two nights whilst taking a road trip all around Queensland.

When we walked in we were amazed, the apartment is beautiful. Very modern and we were lucky to have an apartment that led directly out onto the pool, which is also really nice! It's really well equipped and you have everything you need to cook at home etc.

Just one tip for anyone staying there... Park your car in the correct space for your room. We made the genuine mistake of parking in just any old space (the complex wasn't full at all) and got a really threatening/abusive crazy note left on our windscreen from a resident and a phonecall from the manager. It kind of made us feel bad because we didn't mean to be inconsiderate and it was completely over the top. A lot of the people who live here are older/retired so I wouldn't say it was a place to go if you are a big family and want to entertain- they seem to be quite uptight about these kind of things. Which I guess is understandable if they live there. The manager mentioned people have had fights before over parking space- so watch out where you park! :)

All in all, great for couples and people wanting to relax in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. We had such a nice time!

Room Tip: Poolside apartments on the ground floor- beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBargara, Manager at C Bargara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hello Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry another guest (not a resident) wrote such an inappropriate note regarding the carpark. We too were shocked by the note. Mistakes happen and usually people are understanding.

All visitors are welcome at C - including family groups, couples, corporate clients and international travellers like yourself. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope if you ever come to Queensland again, you will stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Read the other reviews- very common factor. The manager is a huge problem. Every encounter with him was painful. We had hired 3 penthouses and a 3 bedroom. Not one person who stayed was happy with the service. We were referred to as pigs ( as I read another guest was in another review aswell ) and this was definatley not the case. There was a leaking aircon which was a major slip hazard which was not fixed- no apologises made. We were accused of having a party- we Had some people over for breakfast.
The manager is absolutely not management material nor should be working with people in the hospitality industry. I have never met a more rude and unprofessional hotel manager.
If you are looking at staying at bargara do not stay here. Stay at the mantra. I'm very surprised a company as big as grand mecure would hire someone such as this.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hannahcm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bargara hotels
0.4 mi away
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
1.4 mi away
Kellys Beach Resort
Kellys Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in Bargara
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manta Bargara Resort
Manta Bargara Resort
#2 of 5 in Bargara
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
0.4 mi away
The Point Resort
The Point Resort
#6 of 13 in Bargara
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
ZEN Beach Retreat
ZEN Beach Retreat
#3 of 13 in Bargara
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C Bargara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C Bargara Resort

Address: 83-87 Esplanade | Enter off See Street, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Apartments Bargara Bundaberg)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bargara
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bargara
#3 Family Hotel in Bargara
Price Range: £118 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — C Bargara Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All apartments enjoy spectacular ocean views - even the ground floor. Check out the lovely raised decks on the ground floor or the huge balconies on the higher floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your C Bargara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
C Bargara Resort Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing