We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Childers Gateway Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Childers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Great place to stay when travelling the Bruce Highway. Rooms were reasonably priced very clean and comfortable and well appointed. Meals to room are good value and you can buy a reasonably priced bottle of wine or a beer from reception. The collection of scale model classic Aussie cars in the reception area was fantastic. Only complaint was when theoccupants of the room next door had a shower the noise of the water through the pipes was quite loud and we were unlucky enough to have a neigbour who had a shower at 5am. Apart from that it was all good.

Room Tip: Phone ahead and make a booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights for a work trip and at first was hesitant when I booked due to the low cost for a room. I was thoroughly surprised at how wonderful the place is. The staff were warm, friendly and very approachable, the meals prepared and served to my room were delicious and filling. The rooms were neat and clean with plenty of space. The motel also offers cheap wireless Internet service which was a plus.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissajkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

I have jsut been in Childers for work and stayed at the Childers Gateway Motor Inn, I would recommend it to anyone. The rooms are warm and inviting, very comfortable with good pressure int he showers! The rooms are cleaned daily and are well maintained and clean. There is dinner and breakfast delivered to your room - great meals, good country sized portions and very tasty! Your hosts are warma nd friendly without being over the top.
It is close to the town centre and easy access to wineries and tourist attractions.
Eventhough it is on teh Bruce Highway, you can't tell, very quiet.

I would recommend this motel to anyone travelling through the area, weather for a night or extended stay.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jengirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

A friendly family operated place to stay.
We spent the night in a two bedroom unit. The Motor Inn is conveniently located on the Bruce Highway just outside of Childers.
All family members are involved in running the place which makes you really feel as if you were staying at some-ones private place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZ-john2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Stayed at the Gateway Motel on our way north. Didn't book, just strolled in. Staff were friendly without being intrusive and assisted by supplying extra pillows. Nice spacious room with the kids in their own room that had its own TV. Cleanliness of the room was very good with the only thing I noticed were the dead bugs in the light fittings but that was the only flaw in the whole room. A bonus for us was the abundance of power points which come in handy for all of those battery chargers for kids games, cameras and laptops.
You can stay here with confidence.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyadventurers65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Childers hotels
0.8 mi away
Childers Oasis Motel
Childers Oasis Motel
#1 of 4 in Childers
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avocado Motor Inn
Avocado Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Childers
29 reviews
5.4 mi away
Childers Eco-lodge
Childers Eco-lodge
#3 of 6 in Childers
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Childers Gateway Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Childers Gateway Motor Inn

Address: 2 Butchers Rd, Childers, Queensland 4660, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Childers
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Childers
Price Range: £60 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Childers Gateway Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Motor Inn is a 3.5 star motel situated in the beautiful National Trust Town of Childers, Queensland. Our rooms are modern and spacious and feature reverse cycle air conditioners and wide screen digital TV's with 8 Foxtel channels for your enjoyment. Additionally, all our rooms have a microwave, toaster, fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. One of our best features are our two bedroom units which are designed for families, or groups travelling together. We also have a "Disabled Friendly" room, giving easier access and larger bathroom facilities. Free Wifi is provided throughout the motel. For your entertainment sit and relax in our beautiful landscaped garden or take a swim in our salt water inground pool. We also have a basketball hoop if you would prefer something more active! The Gateway offers home cooked meals, delivered to your door to enjoy in the comfort of your room. Choose from a selection of main & light meals. For our young guests we have a kids menu served with a bowl of icecream. We provide a hot breakfast 7 days a week or we can deliver a continental breakfast the night before for the early leavers. There is also a variety of non alcoholic and alcoholic beverages including soft drinks, wine, beer and premixed drinks. Be sure to check our specials board for our F&B offers. (Please note that the kitchen is closed for dinner on Sunday) All our rooms are on the ground floor with parking outside your room. There is also parking available on our grounds for trailers, small trucks and boats. We welcome the corporate traveller or contract worker and can provide a packed lunch on request. We'll go out of our way to ensure that your needs are accomodated. Childers is the perfect place to stop when you are travelling. It is half way between Brisbane and Rockhampton and 7 hours from Mackay. Childers also offers a diverse range of tourist activities and a beautiful landscape. Late or early check-ins can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Childers Gateway Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Childers Gateway Motor Inn Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing