We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room and friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Childers Gateway Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Childers
Certificate of Excellence
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean room and friendly people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We called in as a last mintue thought, never stayed in Childers before but we were looked after, breakfast was great value and we would stay again, not the Hilton but clean and we still had money in our pockets when we left.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    37
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
20
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stopped overnight after perusing several motels in Childers,after a long day driving,but found the room very noisy from the highway traffic,and I think we ended up in a disabled /senior's room(maybe it was my grey hair!) It was a mish mash of colours and grab bars in situ shower and toilet! In it's favour,it did have a toaster and microwave,which we made good use of.Overall found it "just somewhere to lay our heads" The whole place needs a full revamp.Also the price of wifi over the top .....$6 daily.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We spent a night at the Childers Gateway Motor Inn on the way from Mackay to the Sunshine Coast. We booked online without any problems. The check in person was friendly and helpful. Parking right outside our room was handy. Room was very clean with plenty of room for a family of 4. TV in main room is mounted too far back on top of a cupboard, so it can be difficult to see whole screen(minor problem) The location is on the southern end of town, and we would have rathered a place in town so its closer to walk.(that is the only reason we rated location as average.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicknSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Good accommodation. Was able to cater for a large family (2 adults + 3 kids). Neat and clean rooms. Friendly service. Price was good considering it was also Easter holidays. Only negative was the price of wifi for internet - $6 daily, whereas we received free wifi for a week with a hotel we stayed with in Cairns. Would stay there again - recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Staying for 1 night. Room was clean, but had an odour that reminded me of a fumigation smell.
Aircon worked, curtain shut out the light.
Hard to say much about such a basic place.
Their $6 charge for 24 hour 100 meg wifi internet seemed steep, especially considering their rate of $100 which didn't include breakfast.
Bearable if you're passing through or HAVE to stay in Childers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calumc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I originally booked us in another motel in Childers. After my husband viewed this motel on line he insisted that i change the booking. Glad i did. Staff friendly and very helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom a fair size.
WE are going to be heading up north again at christmas for another family holiday. Will rebook a room here. Would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Ended up here after a nightmare with staff at the Palace Motel. Staff at the Gateway were very welcoming and friendly. Rooms were large and clean and the pool was a bonus. Excellent breakfast the next morning. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Childers hotels
0.8 mi away
Childers Oasis Motel
Childers Oasis Motel
#1 of 4 in Childers
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Avocado Motor Inn
Avocado Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Childers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.4 mi away
Childers Eco-lodge
Childers Eco-lodge
#1 of 6 in Childers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Childers Gateway Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Childers Gateway Motor Inn

Property: Childers Gateway Motor Inn
Address: 2 Butchers Rd, Childers, Queensland 4660, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Childers
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Childers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Childers Gateway Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Motor Inn is a 3.5 star motel situated in the beautiful National Trust Town of Childers, Queensland. Our rooms are modern and spacious and feature reverse cycle air conditioners and wide screen digital TV's with 8 Foxtel channels for your enjoyment. Additionally, all our rooms have a microwave, toaster, fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. One of our best features are our two bedroom units which are designed for families, or groups travelling together. We also have a "Disabled Friendly" room, giving easier access and larger bathroom facilities. Free Wifi is provided throughout the motel. For your entertainment sit and relax in our beautiful landscaped garden or take a swim in our salt water inground pool. We also have a basketball hoop if you would prefer something more active! The Gateway offers home cooked meals, delivered to your door to enjoy in the comfort of your room. Choose from a selection of main & light meals. For our young guests we have a kids menu served with a bowl of icecream. We provide a hot breakfast 7 days a week or we can deliver a continental breakfast the night before for the early leavers. There is also a variety of non alcoholic and alcoholic beverages including soft drinks, wine, beer and premixed drinks. Be sure to check our specials board for our F&B offers. (Please note that the kitchen is closed for dinner on Sunday) All our rooms are on the ground floor with parking outside your room. There is also parking available on our grounds for trailers, small trucks and boats. We welcome the corporate traveller or contract worker and can provide a packed lunch on request. We'll go out of our way to ensure that your needs are accomodated. Childers is the perfect place to stop when you are travelling. It is half way between Brisbane and Rockhampton and 7 hours from Mackay. Childers also offers a diverse range of tourist activities and a beautiful landscape. Late or early check-ins can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Childers Gateway Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Childers Gateway Motor Inn Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing