We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best accommodation in Childers”
Review of Childers Eco-lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Childers Eco-lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best accommodation in Childers”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

As I'm sure you will see from all other reviews, this place is an absolute gem. The lodge is on the outskirts of Childers. It is owned by a couple who have a lot of experience with backpacking and it shows. They are incredibly helpful and always happy to go the extra mile to ensure the guests are looked after. The place is clean and totally environmentally friendly. It's like being at a farm stay; there are chickens, pigs, peacocks and a dog which is obsessed with playing fetch. If you are looking for a place to chill or need a couple of days break in an otherwise hectic travel schedule, you can't go past this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    4
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This brand new hostel is a great spot if you want to experience the Australian countryside or find a farm job.
The rooms are nice, the toilets and showers are clean and the kitchen is just amazing! There is a great common room and hammocks to chill out. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
The owners Vanessa and Rhys are very lovely and helpful.

Apart from the bushwalks you can do there, the bird sanctuary and the reptile park are great spots to visit.
I personally extended my stay from one to three nights because if that lovely hostel. :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolin_Ringwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This a new hostel and is run by Reece and Vanessa who are enthusiastic about the Eco preservation. They are building a unique experience and are helping backpackers and local employers join a work experience . It is worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobwilliams55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Childer's Eco-Lodge for two nights on our trip down the coast and loved every minute. It was really easy to get to from the Greyhound with a stop at Apple Tree Creek and pick-up to and from the stop. The facilities are clean and new, the beds are comfortable and the setting is truly Australian. The turtle trip they offer is definitely worth it as well. Owners Vanessa and Rhys are great hosts who couldn't be more helpful. We highly recommend making a stop to Childer's Eco-Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I wanted a weekend away to relax and thanks to the owners, this is exactly what we got. Vanessa and Rhys are very friendly and helpful, they give great advise for things to do, places to eat etc around the region. We found this hostel extremely nice and clean, the rooms are some of the cleanest hostel rooms I have seen in a long time. The place has a great kitchen, sufficient toilets and a super friendly dog named 'Digger' and its great to stay at a place with so much space where you can get away from everything.
The most impressive part was that it was very refreshing to stay in a hostel that is run by people who actually have backpacking/traveling experience, something that is seriously lacking around this region.
Thanks guys, will gladly come again when we get another free weekend. Manuela and Craig

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Childers Eco-lodge is one of the most beautiful hostels I have ever seen. It's almost in the middle of nowhere, but you're gonna love this place.
The owners Vanessa, Rhys and their cute little daughter really care about you and help you whenever you need something.
Would stay there for a long time, but I had to leave looking for a job.
Kitchen facilities are awesome! Best hostel kitchen in Australia ;)

Wish you the best with your little hostel!!
Cheers, Jonas

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Brand new hostel runed by a lovely couple and their little daughter.
It's not realy crowded by now but it is a perfect place to stay if you want to relax, volunteer or looking for harvest work.

Facilities are great and there is nothing I could be worried about.

To put it in one sentence:

You won't find a better hostel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Childers hotels
4.6 mi away
Childers Oasis Motel
Childers Oasis Motel
#1 of 4 in Childers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.4 mi away
Childers Gateway Motor Inn
4.0 mi away
Avocado Motor Inn
Avocado Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Childers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Childers Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Childers Eco-lodge

Property: Childers Eco-lodge
Address: 237 Stocks Rd, Childers, Queensland 4660, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Childers
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Childers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Childers Eco-lodge is unique accommodation in a country setting. Relax and enjoy the birdlife, farm animals, bushwalks, and native wildlife just off the Bruce Highway. A great base for day trips to: Southern Great Barrier Reef; Fraser Island; Mt Walsh National Park; Woodgate Beach; Bundaberg, or explore the local Childers wineries and wildlife parks. Accommodation includes double furnished eco-tents with private facilities, and quad rooms with share facilities. Free unlimited wifi in all areas. Amenities include fully equipped kitchen, tv and games room, hammocks,campfire under the stars - do as much or as little as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Childers Eco-lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Childers Eco-Lodge Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing