We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hostel!”
Review of Childers Eco-lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Childers Eco-lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great new hostel!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

One monthe a go I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and it was awesome. The owners are so friendly, you feel part of a family. They organised a bbq the first night and that was realy nice! It is a good place for volunteer work or just to feel how the real australian people live. It is quite and everything is so clean and it looks realy good! I will recommend this place to everyone!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fiona220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    4
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jaipur
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed there for a night and regretted not staying longer - the owners are very nice and we felt part of their big family. They had a bonfire in the evening and the facilities are brand new. It would also be a nice place to volunteer. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olgawasinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolle, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I spent three really amazing weeks in the Childers Ecolodge, Rhy and Vanessa are two friendly and helpful hosts. The place is quite beautiful, very quiet and relaxing. The facilities are brand new and clean.
The volunteering work at Snakes downunder reptile park is also a great experience handling kangaroo, koalas, pythons and crocodiles !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2013

As I'm sure you will see from all other reviews, this place is an absolute gem. The lodge is on the outskirts of Childers. It is owned by a couple who have a lot of experience with backpacking and it shows. They are incredibly helpful and always happy to go the extra mile to ensure the guests are looked after. The place is clean and totally environmentally friendly. It's like being at a farm stay; there are chickens, pigs, peacocks and a dog which is obsessed with playing fetch. If you are looking for a place to chill or need a couple of days break in an otherwise hectic travel schedule, you can't go past this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Will T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This brand new hostel is a great spot if you want to experience the Australian countryside or find a farm job.
The rooms are nice, the toilets and showers are clean and the kitchen is just amazing! There is a great common room and hammocks to chill out. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
The owners Vanessa and Rhys are very lovely and helpful.

Apart from the bushwalks you can do there, the bird sanctuary and the reptile park are great spots to visit.
I personally extended my stay from one to three nights because if that lovely hostel. :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolin_Ringwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This a new hostel and is run by Reece and Vanessa who are enthusiastic about the Eco preservation. They are building a unique experience and are helping backpackers and local employers join a work experience . It is worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobwilliams55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Childer's Eco-Lodge for two nights on our trip down the coast and loved every minute. It was really easy to get to from the Greyhound with a stop at Apple Tree Creek and pick-up to and from the stop. The facilities are clean and new, the beds are comfortable and the setting is truly Australian. The turtle trip they offer is definitely worth it as well. Owners Vanessa and Rhys are great hosts who couldn't be more helpful. We highly recommend making a stop to Childer's Eco-Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Childers
4.6 mi away
Childers Oasis Motel
Childers Oasis Motel
#1 of 4 in Childers
116 reviews
5.4 mi away
Childers Gateway Motor Inn
24.2 mi away
Woodgate Beach Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Avocado Motor Inn
Avocado Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Childers
28 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Childers Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Childers Eco-lodge

Property: Childers Eco-lodge
Address: 237 Stocks Rd, Childers, Queensland 4660, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Childers
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Childers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Childers Eco-lodge is unique accommodation in a country setting. Relax and enjoy the birdlife, farm animals, bushwalks, and native wildlife just off the Bruce Highway. A great base for day trips to: Southern Great Barrier Reef; Fraser Island; Mt Walsh National Park; Woodgate Beach; Bundaberg, or explore the local Childers wineries and wildlife parks. Accommodation includes double furnished eco-tents with private facilities, and quad rooms with share facilities. Free unlimited wifi in all areas. Amenities include fully equipped kitchen, tv and games room, hammocks,campfire under the stars - do as much or as little as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Childers Eco-lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Childers Eco-Lodge Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing