We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely country getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Hidden Vale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spicers Hidden Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely country getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Spicers is just lovely for a romantic weekend getaway. The rooms are just lovely, set in little cottages away from each other. I believe that each room has its own fireplaces and balcony with beautiful views of the countryside.

The food was great, with a few service hic-ups along the way. They have a lot of activities as well, so you will not be bored!

I do feel that it is a little expensive for what you get, but if it's a once a year romantic getaway you're after, then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellerUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear FrequentTravellerUAE,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am so pleased that overall you found your stay and experience with us to be just the ticket for your Romantic getaway.

You are right in saying that most of the en-suite cottages do have their own fireplace, which certainly adds to the romantic nature of our guests stay with us, and are nice a warming in the cooler months. Each cottage its own private verandah.

We do have a range of new packages available, ranging from Spa weekends to gourmet dining packages, something to suit everyone.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    122
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
167
367
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The opportunity to get away from it all and celebrate our wedding anniversary resulted in us choosing to stay at Spicers Hidden Vale, Grandchester. What an excellent choice we made! We choose a Getaway Package which included accommodation, a 3 course a la carte dinner and breakfast . Our Heritage Cottage was very spacious and came complete with a comfy King Size Bed, Spa Bath, Log fire and the most beautiful furnishings. The view from our back deck focussed on the heated pool area with the mountains and beautiful countryside completeing the background picture. A beautiful spot to enjoy our crackers, dip and wine! The staff are extremely friendly and you get the impression that they can't do enough for you! We found Greg to be most helpful upon our arrival and he provided all of the information we needed to know. Next time we'll bring our girls because there's lots of free activities to enjoy and we'll stay a little longer too!

Room Tip: For a trip down memory lane choose the Heritage Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roast_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Roast_lover

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us at Spicers Hidden Vale.

I am delighted that you found the Retreat to exceed your expectations. The views from the cottages are certainly stunning and its great to hear that you found it the perfect spot for relaxation!

I see that you were on the Getaway package. We do now offer a range of packages and for the ultimate in relaxation you might find that the Spa and Relaxation package is a good future choice!

It would be lovely to welcome you back to the Retreat in the near future with your family and thank you too for the lovely feedback about the Team and Greg in-particular. I will be sure to pass it on.

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was our third stay at this Spicers property as we really love being able to get away from the city and enjoy a little slice of country life.
We stayed again in a Luxury cottage, and again it was great. Beautiful log fire, beautiful views from the cottage. We love the games room and ping pong table and tv with foxtel channels. Again we wish the foxtel was available in the rooms.
This time we enjoyed the laser shooting with Hayden, who was fabulous, it was a great laugh. We also took some mountain bikes out which was okay - we felt the track wasn't that clearly marked and a little dangerous for someone as inexperienced as me. I'd not do that again!! There is a straight track you could just ride out and back on if you wanted to take a picnic.
I wasn't overly impressed with our check in - the girl was less than polite. When I came back to reception to say there were no slippers in our room, again, less than helpful. The second day there was a really lovely polite girl with glasses and brown hair that was so polite, professional and helpful. She was fantastic. She also served us breakfast and was just the right amount of talkative.
The reason for losing a star this time around is the food at this property. There is only really one option for dinner/lunch/breakfast, Cottons restaurant. Breakfast was served with a platter of fruit, pastries and a cooked breakfast from a menu. It was good. We didn't have lunch at the property, but we had dinner twice. The first night we ate at the restaurant, the second they bought our dinner to our room as we were the only people staying that night. The food is great - but it is really expensive - who can afford to eat like this if you are staying more than a night or two?? I would love to bring my family, especially my mum here, but we just couldn't afford to eat here, and there is nothing else nearby. I just wish they had kept the menu that had lighter options on it, like pastas, burgers etc.
I wonder if they have thought of introducing some other food options onsite? They could have BBQs and BBQ packs that you could cook yourselves. Or something like woodfired pizzas to take back to your room. There has to be something they can do. I don't know how a family would afford to eat here.
Anyway, apart from that, we love Spicers Hidden Vale, and we will be back,soon I hope!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antsuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent a wonderful 2 nights recharging and relaxing at the Spicers Hidden Vale retreat.

On arrival we were shown our cottage which was beautifully decorated and very clean. It was good to see that the management had kept their promise about heating rooms prior to arrival (following feedback from a previous review) as our cottage was really toasty and warm.

Our kids (aged 10 and 7) enjoyed the animal feeding and also the free bicycles and helmets that were available. The trails/walks on the property are very well signposted and we went on a family bike ride and saw lots of kangaroo's, wallaby's and even some camels!!

The kids absolutely loved the laser clay shooting and archery which were both run really well by Hayden. The kids movie night was a great idea as it meant my husband and I could enjoy a meal together.

The food was delicious and all the staff that we encountered were professional, friendly and knowledgeable.

Would definitely return again and would recommend to anyone but especially those familes who enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalE175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed for three nights, the service was fantastic and staff were incredibly friendly and obliging. The Lodge is in a stunning location with fabulous views. Recommend the sunset four wheel try tour and Hayden was excellent. The food and service was great. Only an hour from Brisbane and loads to do. Great place to chill out. recommend the spa massage. Very relaxing. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAFYDDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

A group of six couples stayed over the weekend for a long overdue reunion, birthday celebrations & some outdoor activities.
The six bedroom cottage was immaculate, beautifully but simply decorated and impeccably clean.
We all participated in a brief archery lesson, which was instructed by a fantastic staff member, although we all agreed that $20 each (more than a dollar an arrow) was an extraordinary ripoff.
The pool was quite cool, but refreshing after a long mountain bike ride on badly marked tracks. The spa was lovely with spectacular views.
The meals at Cottons were outstanding, one of our waitress' was brilliant & obviously trained in hospitality, but unfortunately the other was rough, rude and opened two expensive bottles of wine for the table without confirming our choice first.
Breakfast was of high standard, although the failure to include espresso was notable, and of poor quality when ordered for an additional $4.50!
On our departure we were overcharged nearly $200 & after nearly an hour and swimming through 20+ different pieces of paper the staff concluded that they had made a mistake. Very disappointing considering the usual standard Spicers prides itself on, and charges for.
We probably won't return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goabroadnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane qld australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband surprized me with a night away and booked a heritage cottage overnight. He booked a couple of days before we went and also booked their restaurant – COTTONS. When we arrived to check in at around 5 the reception area was warm and cosy. We were sent over to the cottage and it was bitterly bitterly cold. To the point that we were shivering and reaching for their dressing gowns to put over our warm clothes. We had trouble working out the air-conditioning, and there were no matches for us to light the fireplace. I rang reception to get some pointers as to set the warming in the air-conditioning but after 30 minutes it was still freezing - I also had to ask for matches to be sent over to the cottage so my husband could set the fire. It was so cold that we left as soon as we could to go and sit in the bar. (I'd say it would have taken an hour to warm up the room). It is an expensive stay so I think it is a shame that they didn’t set the air-conditioning so that the room temperature was bearable when we arrived (especially since they knew in advance when we were arriving). The coldness of the room was far from welcoming.
The restaurant was great although the prices were really steep especially the wine which at $100 for a bottle of $25 shiraz was fairly outrageous. The food was fantastic (as it should be for the price).
The coffee and hot chocolate was expensive and weak. (Not a good combination) $4.50 for an espresso coffee is higher than we’ve ever paid.
Although the buffet had held great promise, the cooked breakfast was disappointing,!
We had a great time regardless of the above but to top it all off we were overcharged at check out and had to spend some time convincing the less-than-charming receptionist that the rate was incorrect. Finally she tracked down the member of staff who had quoted us the room rate but there was no apology or comment regarding the mix up.
Although the facilities and dining are magnificent, overall it was disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north of the property get the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Macri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Chris_Macri
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was very disappointed to learn that we fell below our usual high standards and I sincerely apologise to you.

In light of your feedback we have changed our arrival procedure to ensure that our rooms are preheated to our guests’ requirements.

I was delighted to learn you enjoyed the menu in our Restaurant. Your feedback about your selected bottle of wine certainly was of concern to me and upon further investigation, realise that there are two wines by the same producer but at different levels of quality available on our wine list and apologize for any confusion caused there.

We are currently retraining our staff to ensure that the coffee and hot chocolate making is all up to standard and I do apologise that yours was not. We have also recently introduced a new breakfast menu and our new Head Chef is training all our Breakfast Chefs to ensure that our usual consistent quality is delivered.

I have also spoken to our Front Office Manager regarding your checkout. Please accept our sincere apologies that our usual friendly professional customer service was not conveyed to you during your checkout.

Thank you again for your honest review Chris_Macri. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the Dining and the facilities here during your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Spicers Hidden Vale in the near future and if you would like to speak to me further regarding your last visit, I would welcome you contacting me directly.

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandchester
19.0 mi away
Quest Ipswich Serviced Apartments
19.2 mi away
Oaks Aspire Apartments
Oaks Aspire Apartments
#5 of 7 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
19.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Ipswich International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Bunyip Scenic Rim Resort
11.1 mi away
Hatton Vale Motel
Hatton Vale Motel
#1 of 1 in Laidley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
18.3 mi away
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Hidden Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Hidden Vale

Property: Spicers Hidden Vale
Address: 617 Grandchester Mt Mort Rd, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Ipswich > Grandchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Grandchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Hidden Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Brisbane set on a stunning 12,000 acre property, Spicers Hidden Vale is a true hidden gem. The retreat is centered around a stunning historic homestead with wide verandas providing views over the little Liverpool Ranges and infinity rock pool. Hatted restaurant Homage is housed inside the homestead where a dedicated team of chefs create masterpieces based entirely on local produce. The original barn is still standing and has been restored, now a place to lounge and relax by the fire, or have beverage or two looking out over the 89 bed market garden. You can set your own pace - for those wanting to relax, there are picnic points, Spa Anise Day Spa, and two beautiful pools with mountain views to relax in. For those wanting a faster pace, there are mountain bike and bush walking trails, 4WD property tours, laser clay and archery. Being a nature refuge, the land is abundant with native wildlife including hundreds of Kangaroos and Wallabies and regular koala sightings. Spicers Hidden Vale has 31 rooms. Choose from Valley View Rooms which overlook the mountains, each with their own private veranda, Heritage suites which stand alone and have their own spa, a cottage for 4, 8 or even 12 guests or for the ultimate experience, Luxury suites which are stand alone, with spacious lounge, spa and private veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Spicers Hidden Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Hidden Vale Hotel Grandchester
Peppers Hidden Vale Grandchester
Spicers Hidden Vale Grandchester, Australia - Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing